2002 BMW Mini Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2002 BMW Mini one 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14 kilometres
Most recent distance4050 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

A good looking little car, but not without its (many) faults!

Faults:

The driver's window pops out of the seal intermittently.

The driver's door lock also jams intermittently and although the passenger door is open, I am locked out of driver's side! Three out of the seven times I have gone back to the dealer, my door sensor has been changed.

Initially the dashboard squeaked, but has now been fixed.

Also have a squeaky driver's seat.

General Comments:

I adore my little mini and love the way it looks and drives.

I must admit however, that I am getting seriously fed up returning to the dealership once a month with different faults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2003

2002 BMW Mini Cooper 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance1600 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Design Classic With rattles

Faults:

Fuel consumption appalling even when driving in a restrained fashion on long journeys. The most I have had out of the car is 32mpg with an average of 29.

Rattle and creak in dash.

Tailgate loose causing rattle.

Window wiper make banging noise and don't cover all of the screen.

Collection of rattles and bangs may test your sanity. Not what I expected from BMW, especially given the solid feel of the car.

General Comments:

In terms of looks it's a design classic. Incomparably smarter than other retro reworkings such as the Beetle or MG.

A solid firm ride, but don't get sports suspension plus unless you like aching bones and hanging on to the steering wheel.

The chili pack is clever marketing on BMW's part, but is a must have set of optional extras which also gives you discounts on other extras such as full leather upgrade.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th January, 2003

2002 BMW Mini Cooper S 1.6 6 Speed Manual from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 6 Speed Manual Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance3546 miles
Previous carBMW Z3 Roadster

Summary:

Simply one of the best cars in the world, ever!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The Mini Cooper S, along with the Mini Cooper and the Mini One, is a fantastic car to drive, be seen in and just simply to own.

It is very nippy, small enough for city driving and a master of the motorways.

The exterior is a masterpiece of modern styling, (with many resemblances to the old Mini,) and the interior is very retro in styling and v.comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2003

9th Jan 2004, 06:05

Is it my imagination, or does this entry appear suspiciously like something Mini's marketing dept. might come up with? The Mini is getting a hammering by many reviewers, so I think its likely that the boys at BMW may have to make a few entries of their own. Like who has driven all 3 Mini models? Or am I just paranoid?

29th Dec 2004, 12:06

My "53" Cooper S has just had it's first service, 16 Months after purchase. Although I'm not a heavy road user I thought I'd add my "Twopence worth".

I've had a good year's motoring, hassle free with no problems. If there is a fault with the "S" it would have to be it's thirstiness. But, if I only wanted fuel economy, I would have bought a diesel!

When I collected the car, post service, I was told there is a loose wiper linkage. This was shown as a rattle at the front offside, under the dash board. Until it was pointed out I hadn't noticed it. Maybe it's a known problem? Either that, or the mechanics are really thorough!

Because of this, it's a two day stay in the garage. Poor thing!!

2002 BMW Mini Cooper S 1.6 Supercharged from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Supercharged Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A bargain at Twice the price... Buy one NOW

Faults:

There was a squeaky pulley on the engine at delivery, Instant rectification by the dealer and so-far absolutely NO problems whatsoever.

General Comments:

Torque and performance are in another league to the cooper. the supercharger makes a wonderful noise and the whole package pulls like a train. On track it embarrasses much faster cars through the twistier sections and given a wet road really dances rings round some serious high performance vehicles.

Fit and finish are great and build quality up there with all BMW cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2003

8th Jan 2003, 07:39

Until the MINI comes down in price and the waiting list shortens, many people will refuse to pay over the odds for such a small vehicle.

Having said that, there are many stories in the motoring press about MINI owners making their money back on these cars after a year of driving. Well done BMW on your marketing ploy, it seems to be working, stifle supply and demand will be higher than ever. You've just got to have faith in the product in the first place, and follow it up with clever finance, servicing packages and easy finance.

24th Aug 2003, 10:22

The most basic Cooper S is what, fifteen grand? Add in air-conditioning or climate control -- neither of which are standard fit, shame on BMW -- and you're staring at sixteen grand bill for a car that's no more than three paces long.

Don't get many lbs to the pound any more, do you...

And if you look at all the miserable faces and build quality issues from the myriad reviews on this site, the MINI cannot be worth even half its cost.

Worth it at "twice the price"? You gotta be double joking!

31st Oct 2004, 11:39

On track yes quick. Most big roads my £12000 fabia vrs will leave you in my soot! Chipped you wouldn't be close enough behind to even choke. Bargain at twice price your having a laugh! £13000 max!

31st May 2007, 00:51

Yes, but when will you get it that people who buy a Mini would not buy a diesel Fabia VRS or not. Driving pleasure is not just about pulling away from people on the straights! If you came to a twisty section and stayed at the same pace, the VRS would end up in a hedge and the Mini would sail through. Chalk and cheese, chalk and cheese.

1st Jun 2007, 11:27

True, but add a Jabba rear ARB, Eibach springs & dampers, then the VRS would beat the Mini on any roads. And yes, it would still be cheaper than the BMW... sorry I mean Mini.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 27 reviews