1998 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1998 Buick LeSabre custom 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Dissappointed

Faults:

The plastic intake manifold broke at 46,000 miles and at 101,000 miles. The 4 struts and rear springs had to be replaced at 48,000 miles because the car bounced so bad. The transmission developed a slip or shutter under any hard acceleration. Didn't fix it, I lived with it because it was too expensive to repair. The list goes on and on. I threw more money into the car than what I payed for it.

General Comments:

This car was babied and still looks brand new, but is ready for the junk yard because of GM's poor mechanical design.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th February, 2007

25th Mar 2010, 20:17

Intake manifold replaced on mine about the same mileage as yours. I think they have a problem with the crank sensors too; I'm replacing mine for the third time in about 60K miles.

1998 Buick LeSabre Limited 6 cylinder from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance84700 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Poor workmanship

Faults:

Plastic intake, Oil pan leak--$1100-June 2006.

New fuel sending unit, gas lines-$966-July-2006.

Dual zone heat repaired-$700-September 2003.

Vacuum door replaced-$400-February 2004.

Owned car for three years so far, Total cost-$3166.

General Comments:

Stay away from this money taker-Worst repair record of any car I've owned-Junk!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th July, 2006

1998 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 series 2 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 series 2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired134000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Like the car, not the manifold

Faults:

Engine manifold gasket developed a leak into the engine, and the engine seized due to the leak. This is a manufacturer defect due to installing a plastic manifold, causing it to melt and develop a leak, blowing my head gasket at 135000. In all, the only problem was the leak.

I'm now installing a 2000 Impala LS engine in it; it is cheaper than an actual repair.

General Comments:

I would try this solution to problems with the plastic intake manifold.

http://www.ken-co.com/manifold/default.htm

It appears they do not sell direct, but can direct you to a distributor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2005

26th Jul 2005, 18:16

You are right on! I purchased the upper plenum intake repair kit from Ken-co last week and completed the repair over the weekend. Everything is running smoothly again and I hope, will continue to run smooth. This repair, all in all cost me approximately $100 (including a new gasket) which is a lot better than the $800 quote that I shopped from local repair shops. Just thought I'd post an AMEN.

1998 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 kilometres
Most recent distance126000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Fairly solid performer

Faults:

Air Conditioner Compressor failed at 120,000 kilometers.

Driver side power window motor failed and had to be replaced at 110,000 kilometers.

When hot the car vibrates when accelerated if transmission is hot. Service Technicians have been unable to determine the problem.

Traction control kicks in rather early and is quite loud.

This is a great highway car and would buy another just for the ride.

Wind noise is rather high and if windows are opened at highway speed, don't fully seal when closed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th December, 2004

1998 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired68500 miles
Most recent distance91277 miles
Previous carToyota Cressida

Summary:

I like the car and, even more important, so does my wife

Faults:

The only problem I have had is in the automatic temperature control for the heat and air conditioning. It is slow to respond to temperature changes. However, this could have been caused when my son connected a CD changer to the radio.

General Comments:

With the Gran Touring Suspension, this is a great car for around town as well as on a trip. It is very comfortable, yet also responsive.

I filled the tank today and got 26+ miles per gallon, mostly local driving with not much use of the air conditioner required. Using the air conditioner more, it usually gets about 25 locally. (The better the brand of gasoline, the better the miles.) I have gotten as much as 36 on a trip and usually average about 31 doing around the speed limit and using the air conditioner. For a large, comfortable car, I am well pleased with the mileage.

An older mechanic friend told me I could expect this kind of mileage and that this is pretty much normal for this car.

I'm not enthused about the intake manifold being plastic. However, many cars are now using plastic intakes. Just keep an eye on the coolant, which one should do anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 23 reviews