2000 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 10 of 20

2000 Buick LeSabre custom from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Okay if you can tolerate strange quirks

Faults:

Passenger side window (rarely used) recently decided to stop working when it was used for a brief moment in below freezing temperatures. I was told it will cost about $500 to repair and I am very upset.

There is a loud noise - something wrong with a vacuum hose I am told.

Various lights on the dash do not work and will be expensive to repair.

Warning light constantly tells me the tire pressure is low (yes, I filled the tires).

Otherwise, a decent car and enjoyable to drive.

General Comments:

Besides everything that has gone wrong with it and the fact that I am 50 years to young to be seen in it, the car is very nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd February, 2007

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Faults:

I too have experienced window failure on 3 of 4 windows in my 2000 Buick Le Sabre. So far I have not repaired them considering price ($300-400 each) and the resale value of the car. Only my driver side window still works. We rarely used the rear windows and they went first. My windows now stay up with vice grips that I put in behind the door panels. Does anyone know of a home remedy to fix the windows... gorilla glue maybe???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th November, 2006

2000 Buick LeSabre from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Comfortable, safe, reliable economical car

Faults:

Hello everybody, I have just purchased a used Le Sabre. Beautiful car, I enjoy it greatly.

I have been reading about the window regulators failing. My question is, can someone post more info on who rebuilds these to be durable. I don't wish to reinstall the same prone to failure parts if my regulators break.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2006

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Would not buy another Buick since they would not acknowledge problems and resolve

Faults:

We purchased a 2000 Buick Le Sabre in August of 1999, and within 2 days, the front drivers window failed to operate; could not get the window up.

We took the vehicle back to the dealer and they readjusted the window track. Well a short time later the window failed again. This time they replaced the whole track.

A couple of months later the same window failed to operate properly; would not go all the way up.

This same window was repaired 5 times, all under warranty.

Since then, the other 3 windows have had the same problem. The window fails to go all the way up, binds on the weather stripping, and free falls down into the door. We had them all repaired at our expense. The first time I contacted Buick, they would not reimburse me and just blew it off. The second time I wrote to Buick; early 2006 they finally agreed to repair one window at their expense and reimburse me for the other window I recently had repaired.

Well guess what? Our front passenger window failed again just this week.

I will be contacting Buick again.

General Comments:

I have had other issues with the car that to me would be premature failures.

Tire wear at 45,000 miles.

Brakes repaired at about the same; 45,000 miles.

Spark plug wires replaced at 30,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th October, 2006

4th Oct 2006, 16:27

Tires & brakes needing replacement is not premature wear.

Actually it's above average.

17th Nov 2008, 16:37

Tire wear is not a problem with the car.

12th Dec 2008, 21:14

It sounds like a pretty easy maintenance free vehicle for the most part.

2000 Buick LeSabre limited 3.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

Cannot give thumbs up on future of gm cars.

Faults:

Intake manifold leaked cooling fluid into the combustion chamber causing a miss in the motor and hard to start.

Torque converter had to be replaced after one week.

Power windows, left rear cable pulled out of plastic.

Cooling liquid level indicator sensor had to be replaced, cooling level indicator light kept coming on.

Fuel pressure regulator " factory recall "

General Comments:

Both of us love the cars room and handling, traction in the snow and all round comfort of the ride.

However it is a financial burden, we cannot afford to keep this car roadworthy.

The 3.8 motor is a beast, and has plenty of power to keep those little imports from cutting you off to take the next exit, I love doing that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2006

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 78 reviews