2000 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 14 of 20

2000 Buick LeSabre LS V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

New 2000 Buick LeSabre design, Lemon!

Faults:

Good car, but Bad Window Regulator design.

I have Replaced 1 under warranty and 2 I had to pay for $517.00.

2 just went out in the last Six Months Buick split the cost 50% with the last one.

Now I had the back fall while driving and its been two weeks since I have replaced the front. With Only 26000 miles on it you would think all I need to check would be the oil.

General Comments:

I would not buy a buick again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th April, 2006

30th May 2006, 08:56

Thank you for sharing this info. I was very upset when both of my rear ones failed. The individual parts should not be expensive, but the price of the complete regulator is almost a crime.

4th Jun 2006, 17:50

I have a 2000 Buick Le Sabre and I have had ALL of my window regulators break TWICE on each window.

I have written to GM in December of 2005 and NEVER received a reply.

The car's performance is great. But you can't rely on the windows working at all. Every time I have to put a window up or down I am concerned that it won't work or worst yet stay down and not go back up again.

We have always bought GM cars, but that will not be the case when we get our new car in a few months!

7th Jun 2006, 17:05

I too have a 2000 Buick Le sabre. I have experienced 3 window failures. The first one, the driver's window fell down and I purchased the regulator at a local dealer at a dealer cost of $220. I then took it to a local glass repair and had it installed for $50. Very expensive... and that's doing it as inexpensively as possible.

Within a month, the right rear window fell, and I wedged it back into place. Now the left rear window has fallen. I called the 800 customer assistance # and was assigned a case # and was told to take it to a dealership for a diagnosis. I took it to where the car was purchased, and received an estimate of $814.72 plus 9.25% tax to repair the two windows. (Dealer cost for the regulator is $319.86 each.)

I am now going to contact the customer service rep again to see if they will help with this repair. I don't have a lot of hope. I'll probably buy the part via the Internet and have them installed.

2000 Buick LeSabre from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Good car, but bad window regulator design

Faults:

Both back window regulators broke. Buick did a nice job in customer satisfaction by replacing them for me. That was in 2004. Now, (2006) the Front regulator has broken on the driver window. They have to know that they manufactured a defective part, (plastic cable guide at top of track for me) but still can't get anyone to admit there is an issue. At around $400 for a replacement part, 65$ "diagnostic" fee and whatever labor, it's a nice chunk of change for shop owners.

General Comments:

The car itself is a good car, but for the price you pay for one, it's sad that such a bad design went into the window.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th March, 2006

20th Apr 2006, 18:34

I just bought a 2000 LeSabre. within two months two of my window have the same problem with the tracking.

The motors still work, but the cables broke of from the track.

I looked at the maintenance records from the previous owner and they had bring the car to the shop to have both of the regulator replace for 2 different windows.

I think they really have the design problem with window mechanism.

26th Jul 2006, 13:33

I had to replace two of the regulators last year on my 2000 LeSabre, both of them on the driver's side. Now the passenger side window just went out!

A very poor design by Buick.

13th Aug 2006, 20:17

I just had my 5th window regulator go out on my 2000 LeSabre. This is a design problem and should be covered by GM! I found a guy in NY who rebuilds these regulators for 85.00. They are pretty easy to change.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 78 reviews