2000 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 16 of 20

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60500 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

This is so bad, I will never own another GM product

Faults:

In 60,000 miles, it has gone through three rear main seals, two automatic window motors, two break jobs, two oil pan gaskets, valve cover gasket, intake ignition module, motor mount, and plug wires.

General Comments:

The salesman told me "no maintenance for 100,000 miles". Boy was he wrong. GM and Buick have been no help and the party line is "anything mechanical can break at any time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th December, 2005

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carBuick Malibu

Faults:

I'm smelling a gas when my heater runs for the first 30mins or so. I had a shop look under the car from front to back and they were not able to find a gas leak. Has anyone experienced this?

General Comments:

We bought the car used, I've had to put new brakes and rotors on the car. Which I figure would be an expense we would need to cover as the car has 89K.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th December, 2005

2000 Buick LeSabre 3.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

I had a Buick Regal before, I do not know if I buy another because of the customer service

Faults:

We have had to replace 3 of the 4 window regulator at this time. The cost for this is $350 per window. The motor is fine, but the plastic on the window regulators cracks and fails then the cable goes off the track and brakes. We called customer service number to let them know about our problem. We believe it is faulty design for this problem. They would not help us with the problem.

General Comments:

The brakes on this car continue to squeak even though we changed the brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd November, 2005

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

It was as good as any other car

Faults:

First the steering tilt wouldn’t work.

Then the battery went dead, this battery is mounted under the back seat and is very expensive.

Then the left rear window regulator went out. I found this when I pick up my Buick after having the battery replaced.

Then the cruise control wouldn’t engage had to keep on pushing the on off switch.

General Comments:

Then I decided to trade it in for a new 2005 LeSabre. L love the way that it handles and the smooth ride that I get on long trips.

I have owned four Buick's and have loved each one of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

25th Aug 2005, 01:11

I was searching for a reasonably priced battery when I came upon this review. Funny thing, my left rear window regulator also went out. I have owned car 5 years and generally have been very happy with it, never had a battery last 5 years.

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carChrysler LHS

Summary:

Potentially fabulous car

Faults:

All four window motors died when the car was relatively new and the motors relatively unused. Two of them had to be replaced a second time.

Water damage inside car - unknown origin after multiple visits to dealer. End result required the vehicle's carpet be completely replaced.

Now AC drain is clogged and carpet is again being soaked under dash on passenger side.

General Comments:

Love the car regarding body and engine. Problems with window motors and water leaks put a bad taste in my mouth though unfortunately.

I'm considering foreign purchase next time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2005

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.9 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.9 Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles

Summary:

Good car except for window problems

Faults:

Since I've owned the car I have replaced three coil packs.

I have replaced both of the front window regulators. The manufacturing defect is a small plastic piece on the cable. It breaks, moves down the cable binds in a pulley, then breaks the cable. The regulator assembly cost $265. You can get a re-manufactured one off of ebay for about $150.

The automatic trunk release quit working. The problem was the release mechanism in the trunk.

There have also been a couple of recalls on this vehicle.

General Comments:

The handling and ride of this vehicle are very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th May, 2005

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Looks great, but the paint job didn't last.

Faults:

I have replaced two window motors, one in the back and the front passenger side. The drivers side one will need it soon too.

Replaced the fuel regulator per the recall. The car started having problems starting.

Paint started to bubble on the hood two years ago.

General Comments:

I love the comfort of the car. We take long trips and it has been so comfortable for us. It is hard to see backing up out the rear window.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2005

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 78 reviews