2000 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 19 of 20

2000 Buick LeSabre from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance56800 miles
Previous carCadillac Sedan DeVille

Faults:

The motors on the all the windows quit.

They were replaced one at a time and now I have had to replace the front ones again and one in the back went out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.7 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carmazda RX-7

Faults:

Rear window drivers side. Power window fell to bottom and doesn't work. Window was probably used 10 times 0r less.

General Comments:

Needed new front tires at 30,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th October, 2003

2000 Buick LeSabre V6 3.8 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 3.8 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance24223 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

Overall good performance, but starting to eat at the wallet at low mileage!

Faults:

I am experiencing the same problems as other owners.

First the left driver's side power window started to experience intermitting problems. Would not go up or down. Dealer would not fix because it wasn't happening when taken in for service. A year later with a little over 24K miles and three and half years old the window stops working. Repair cost approximately $380. No warranty now.

When the vehicle was in for an oil change and the window problem the dealer discovered a coolant leak and decided the upper intake manifold needed to be replaced. This cost over $400 and again, not under warranty.

I have read other owners have reported the same problems. How many others have these situations that are not being reported.

General Comments:

For a car with less than 25K miles and just over three years old, these types of problems should not be occurring.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th March, 2003

9th Jun 2003, 13:02

Re: Power window problems with the 2000 Buick LeSabre:

Have owned this car for 3 months now. Has 34000 miles on it.

Driver side window went first at 32000 miles. Now driver side rear window out at 34000. Do we see a pattern here??

Which one will be next and when?? Can only assume it will be soon!!

2000 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired75 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carToyota RAV4

Summary:

A cash cow for the service department

Faults:

This is going to be a long list, the original tires wore out at 30,000 miles.

Annoying dash and door squeaks.

Bilateral power window failures.

Power steering hose failure.

Check engine light malfunction.

Water leak.

Fuel pump failure, fuel ejection o-ring.

Failure, to replace rear light bulb requires the tail light assembly to be disassembled.

Heated seat module failure.

Catalytic converter failure.

General Comments:

I really wanted to like this car, but GM continues to treat me badly with some of the worst cars on the planet in terms of reliability and value. My $30,000 car had a resale value of $8,850! A nightmare, I was very disappointed!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th January, 2003

31st Dec 2003, 04:32

2000 Buick LeSabre Limited.

A wonderful car that shouldn't have as many problems it does. Love the ride, looks and interior, but have had it back to the dealer NUMEROUS times for: broken moon roof; nosiy dash and trim; nose in rear deck/trunk; and auto temp control won't hold A/C or heat a correct temp. Lucky for us we bought the 100K warranty program because with the current trade in value (only $10k) we have to keep it for another year before we can trade out. Although much better than the 97 OLDS LSS we had before, Buick should still be ashamed for poor quality off its assembly line!

24th May 2004, 14:57

I have owned three new Buick Le Saber Ltd. s ('92, '97. and currently a 2000. Although the gas mileage is rated @ 20+ mpg town and 30 highway, I have never gotten more than 20 mpg anytime. The dealer had no solution. The tires were replaced @ 25000 miles on two of them, front brake pads had to be replaced @ 25000. (2000) = When it rains the rear carpet gets soaked. The dash rattles. The driver's side mirror vibrates. The dealer said that they could not make the problems re occur or that this is normal for this car. Other than that it's a great car.

29th Dec 2010, 19:44

We bought a 2000 Buick. When we drove it off the lot, we had to replace the brakes, we replaced the mass air flow sensor, new power steering pump, sway arm replaced. The drivers window is broke, and won't roll up or down!! Cruise control doesn't work, rear defrost doesn't work, gas gauge doesn't work. It had a major gas leak, and now my trunk is broke so I can't shut it.

I bought this car because my mom has a 2001, and has only had problems with window. It drives good, but I will not ever buy another one!!

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 78 reviews