2000 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 18 of 20

2000 Buick LeSabre 4.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance69000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

A great car!!

Faults:

I have not had any major problems with this Buick, with the possible exception of the brakes. At 34 000 km, brakes were replaced at a cost to me of $ 942.00. No warranty!!

Initially, I had slow leaks in two tires causing them to go nearly flat within 3 days. Replacement of the valve stem solved this.

The lumbar support lost compression and was replaced under warranty at approximately 10 000 km. However, it was never the same and is not nearly as comfortable, despite my protests to the dealer. Without this lumbar support, I find the leather buckets uncomfortable.

Minor rust on the edge of the hood and the driver's side front lower door panel was treated under warranty.

General Comments:

Generally, a great car and I would seriously consider purchasing another one, likely in the Spring of 2005.

It holds the highway well at all speeds and provides a sense of confidence in heavy rain or snow. This fact is particularly comforting considering that my wife does much of the driving.

Mileage is quite acceptable, both in-town and long-distance.

A minor irritant is its "lowness" to the ground. As I change my own oil, it is very difficult to drive this car onto a ramp, as the under-bumper cowling pushes the ramp.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2004

2000 Buick LeSabre ltd 6 cy from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cy Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz Mercedes-Benz 300D T

Summary:

A classy looking maintenance nightmare

Faults:

Intake manifold is made of phenolic resin - a very old plastic material. It warps leaking antifreeze into the cylinders - essentially bleeding superheated steam into the guts of the engine. Factory recall fix (put lock tight on three bolts) doesn't work. Intake manifolds had to be replaced at 35,000 miles. "Permanently lubricated" tie rods also had to be replaced at 35,000 miles. Both these problems are common, according to the dealer service supervisor. He relates that many engines have been replaced by the dealership because of the intake manifold problem, and that no design changes to remedy this problem have been made in the model years 2000-2004. Cheap plastic part in power window assembly breaks with slightest pressure. Replacing the entire assembly is costly (approximately $500 with labor.) Air conditioning ducts to back seat pull apart and cannot be kept connected.

General Comments:

Car compares favorably with most GM products.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th June, 2004

13th Aug 2004, 13:25

Review is on the money. I own a 2000 Buick Le Sabre. Power window regulators must be replaced as much as engine oil. Get ready to Replace brake pads every 15,000 miles as well. Replace a plastic intake manifold every 20,000 miles. I have replaced all 4 window regulators at the cost of $304.00 including tax for just the part. I perform the labor myself. My car has just over 20,000 miles on it. I have to dump approximately $2,000 a year into it just to keep it together. Also there is no revision to the replacement part to prevent this from happening again. This is GM's cash cow. Why should they make good for it? Never again will I buy from GM.

24th Aug 2004, 12:07

All complaints are right on the money. My 2000 lesabre had a oil pan gasket leak, and a window motor burned out, all in the first 2 months of ownership. Needless to say i traded it in for a corolla. No more buicks here.

2000 Buick LeSabre from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Fix those two problems and you have a great car!

Faults:

All windows have locked up and three of the four have had the motor replaced in it.

While driving the only default is the noise when the windows are cracked. Hurts your ears.

General Comments:

I agree with the other owners of the Buick LeSabre that Buick needs to realize this is a dealer defect and they need to reimburse the customers for replacing their faulty window motors.

I had to have 3 of the 4 windows replaced and now the third one is on the blink.

But on warm days when you want to open your window to get the hot air out and it is stuck it makes you mad!

Also I don't want to forget that with my warranty they did not want to replace the window motor unless they saw the window wasn't working, my windows would work on and off so when they would lock up I would have to run to the dealers to show them the window wasn't working.

I noticed the windows would lock up more in the heat than the cold, but once they lock up for good your stuck until you have them replaced.

Other than that the car has been great! It has great gas mileage and is a comfortable ride.

Fix those to downfalls and you have a Wonderful Reliable Car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th April, 2004

30th Aug 2004, 13:40

Buick LeSabre 2000; All 4 windows locked up, I was quoted $750.00 per window. I was out of warranty. Buick offered no help on the problem.

Jerry Kapus

7219 Waterman Court

Plainfield, Il 60544.

7th Sep 2006, 12:09

I love my Le Sabre, but I have had 3 out of the 4 window motors go, and now the fourth one, on the driver's side no less, is starting to go. I don't know how to take the door apart, let alone the motor, to try and do what the above person suggested, so it would cost me a fortune to have them all fixed. I also talked to a woman last weekend in the parking lot who had her back driver's side window taped up. She said this was her second window motor to go out. And although I love the car, it seems to me that Buick should have issued a recall and taken responsibility for this issue.

26th Jun 2008, 10:00

I just had the rear driver's side window go down and won't go up. I took the door apart and can't fix it. It appears the motor works, but the arm is stuck at the top. I can manually lift the window most of the way up.

25th Dec 2008, 11:40

I have had the same problem with the window regulators. First, the driver's side rear window went and it was almost never used. Then the driver's door and now the passenger rear window. What is it with these motors? Otherwise the car is fine.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 78 reviews