2000 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 17 of 20

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom V6 3.8L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 kilometres
Most recent distance92000 kilometres
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

After 5,000 km with all those problems doesn't give much hope for the future.

Faults:

Fuel hand indicator stopped functioning at 89,000 km.

Both fog lights stopped functioning at 90,000 km.

Speedometer hand stopped functioning at 91,000 km.

Alternator and battery gave up at 92,000 km.

General Comments:

The cars old design looked much better.

Too much plastic was used for this car.

Seats are low and very uncomfortable.

Handles bumps terribly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd December, 2004

17th Aug 2006, 08:00

This is the worst vehicle I have ever owned. Always thought I would like to have a Buick, but have changed my mind - it seems that not any of the repair shops can find the problems. It sounds like it is missing and sometimes stops after getting it started.

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom V6 3.8L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired46 miles
Most recent distance30258 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

I would buy an-other Buick LeSabre.

Faults:

Passenger door window regulator cable broke, Rear window regulator cable drivers side broke, Driver's door window motor quit, then driver's door window regulator cable broke, all with in 3 years 11 months from purchase date.

General Comments:

Ride is comfortable.

Gas mileage 24 suburban and 32 highway, love it.

Excellent car if window regulator problem would go away.

Window lift motors made in Mexico, manufacture there does not adjust armature of motor properly causing motors to burn up the brush's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2004

25th Feb 2005, 20:38

Own a 2000 Buick LeSabre and agree I am happy with this purchase. However, wanted to state that I've already replaced the passenger back window regulator, and yesterday, the driver's rear window regulator appears to have given out. I have little reason to open the back windows. Not sure if it is a coincidence, but when both failures occurred it has been extremely cold, teens, and inclement, snow, weather.

It is embarrassing, time consuming, and expensive to repair.

Nice car, I plan on keeping for at least four more years, but this window regulator problem is frustrating.

2000 Buick LeSabre from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired87000 kilometres
Most recent distance147000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

I'm disappointed that this problem should occur to both windows in a relatively new car

Faults:

Both rear electric windows have failed. I put them down for outside air and was not able to get them up again. When both windows went like this and based on the number of similar reports, I must conclude that this is a manufacturing problem. When I first bought the car, used at 2 years old, I loved it. I liked the ride. I liked the many features - it was loaded. I've made a complete turn around in my thought about this make and model. I dread to know what the future holds for the repairs required.

It looks like a luxury car and sells at a luxury price - now I'm worried about performance and durability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th September, 2004

16th Dec 2004, 09:07

I am searching online for a way to fix the same thing in my 2000 LeSabre! You are the third post I've found with the same problem I am having. Guess someone was having a bad day at work, when our cars came down the line?

20th Dec 2004, 11:50

The passenger-side rear window of my mom's 2000 LeSabre has the same problem. I took the door apart and it appears that the wire cable loop that drives the window up and down came off the worm gear on the drive motor.

To my way of thinking, doors should be able to withstand slamming and power windows should be able to withstand being opened and closed, so any claim by the dealership of customer abuse is nonsense. This seems like a design or manufacturing problem to me.

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom 231 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 231 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Ride and style best in any class

Faults:

Windows, starting with the drivers, r/f window then the left rear. around the 24,000 mile mark.

The Dash cover started shrinking pulling away from the forward section aft of the window screen. Has also started buckling in-front of the steering wheel.

Around the time of the recall for leaking intake manifold at the servo. Ingested anti-freeze, burned out the c-converter and muffler assembly the dealer did make all repairs, though. I did have to return the vehicle, after they had replaced the tail pipe assy, they had forgotten to do the recall so I returned for the repair.

Which they did, it still leaks when the temperature drops till the engine warms up.

Just replaced the brakes today. 56,000 almost missed it. the warning devices are too small, didn't hear them. found it on a tire rotation prior to a long trip.

It's been a very good running auto except for the two items windows and engine I still love the car. I don't like composite intakes they may be cost saving light weight etc. but they are junk and I told Buick so.

General Comments:

I will continue to buy LeSabres, My first car was a Buick and so will my last. considering the alterntives Buick is still the best buy for the money. I've have owned others, Buicks still rank above the others.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2004

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 78 reviews