2000 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 8 of 20

2000 Buick LeSabre from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Other than the window problems, I love it

Faults:

Two window regulators failed within a three week period.

Gas gauge is not working properly when the fuel level becomes low.

General Comments:

Good performance.

Good fuel economy.

Nice ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2007

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Good car, bad window mechanism

Faults:

I have a 2000 Buick LeSabre, and the problem with this car has been defective electric windows.

General Comments:

I have already replaced three out of the four windows costing about $400 per window. Currently both back windows continue to fall. I do not feel that I should have to pay to continue to replace the windows, when GM knows there is a manufacturing defect in the operating mechanism.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th August, 2007

2000 Buick LeSabre 3.8 gas from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Generally good, but a few quirks

Faults:

Power steering is grinding and about to go out. Back window regulator is out. Very annoying. Gas mileage is not what I expected. Highway is 24 to 25. Previously owned an older Buick Park Ave. that got 28 to 30 mpg.

Seats are hard and uncomfortable.

General Comments:

Am not looking forward to replacing all the regulators as its just a matter of time before they all go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2007

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Dependable, safe, smooth ride, with reasonable mileage for the size.

Faults:

All window motors have been replaced.

There have been normal maintenance issues, but minor for 135000 miles.

Dashboard is coming apart and up at the seam. I feel the Florida sun is to blame though.

When the check engine light comes on get to a repair shop ASAP.

General Comments:

All window motors have been replaced, but my husband found a place on-line who sells them and takes old ones for rebuild/cash back. There are higher quality ones available according to him. Our cost was about 100.00 each.

There have been maintenance issues, but minor for 135000 miles. Highway mileage is awesome for this large vehicle, but safety was my reason to select it. I have seen 2 other Le Sabres in very bad accidents and in one, the driver of the Le Sabre was the only one alive.

Even though a "Granny car", I would buy again. The only disturbing factor is the dash is coming apart and up at the seam. I feel the Florida sun is to blame though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2007

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carDodge Somerset

Summary:

No engine problems, but I feel cheated on the constant window regulator failures

Faults:

Rear window regulator and driver's window regulator.

$400 each installed.

General Comments:

I don't believe you have to buy the whole assembly on then window regulators for the 2000 LeSabre. At $400 installed each, I am up to $800 paid to correct a manufacturer's defect, for which Buick will not own up. I guess I should count my blessings, because according to the other posts on this site, the rest will most likely need replaced very soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th July, 2007

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

I love it!

Faults:

I have had to replace 2 windows, now the 3rd one is broken. The first 2 were under warranty. I just don't roll it down anymore, I can't afford to spend $500 to repair it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th July, 2007

2000 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance215543 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Reliability + Reliability = Buick Le Sabre

Faults:

My previous car before buying the 2000 Buick Le Sabre was a 1988 Ford Tempo. It needed replaced ASAP. I chose a 00' Le Sabre because of the major improvements over the previous model years.

I put a lot of mileage on my vehicles and they need to be very reliable. This 00' Le Sabre has been a very reliable car. I have only had three major problems with the LeSabre, and I will discuss those now.

The first problem occured at 45,345 miles. I was driving to upstate NY and it started raining and the driver's window would not roll up. Luckily, I was near a Buick garage when this happened. Had the car dropped off and got a rental. After a day in the shop, the culprit was a bad relay switch in the electric motor for the window. Of course, this was covered under warranty.

My second problem occurred at 99,897 miles. Came back from another business trip to Albany and noticed that red antifreeze was coming out from the undercarriage of the car. The Le Sabre was towed to the dealership. Diagnosis: radiator and water pump went out. This was not covered under warranty, but the dealer fixed it and charged no labor if I purchased the parts.

The last problem was an accident on behalf of my neighbor's son. He was playing baseball in the yard with some friends and the ball ended up going through the rear windshield. this was covered with the insurance company.

General Comments:

VERY RELIABLE!!! I have driven this well built machine and it has been very good to me. I kept up maintenance with this car and look how long it has lasted. I am not surprised that I have put so many miles on this car and it is still running. Buick makes cars that last in the long run, and I would definitely buy another one. I will continue to drive this car until it stops working all together.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2007

9th Aug 2010, 16:57

My girlfriend is driving my old 2000 LeSabre, and it has something 150-160k on it right now.

None of the windows work -- the window regulators in this car are garbage, and from never being washed, there's holes forming in the body, so it's at the end of its life, so we're not going to bother fixing them*, but the only things we've done to this car (besides replacing light figures due to other cars hitting it or people vandalizing it) was changing the oil every 3-10k (inconsistently) and replacing tires, brakes and rotors every 60k or so.

Definitely one of the most reliable cars I've ever seen.

* For anyone with window regulator problems, you can buy third party window regulators online for $40-50, which are both much cheaper and will outlast the original AC Delco units and install them yourself -- find instructions online.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 78 reviews