2000 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 4 of 20

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8L Don't Know
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance260000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Above average, near luxury

Faults:

I recently purchased my grandparents's 2000 Buick LeSabre Custom. 46K miles. The car is in tip top condition.

Within days of title transfer, the power windows of the front driver and front passenger failed. My grandparents always used air conditioning, so they were unaware of any issue.

I took it to the local dealership and they diagnosed as a faulty regulator, but were unable to replace just the regulator, and would need to replace the entire motor. They went with a NAPA brand rather than the manufacturer's product because of the price difference. The cost was about $400 per window (parts and labor). After reading the other reviews, this does seem to be a manufacturer's defect (a common problem).

I called the Buick customer service line and officially logged my complaint. I would suggest everyone do the same as a responsible consumer: (for Buick owners)

1-800-521-7300 Monday-Saturday - 8 a.m. - 9 p.m. (EST) Sunday - Closed.

General Comments:

Great car other than the power window failure issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th March, 2009

26th Mar 2009, 13:58

The Buick LeSabre is basically a good car. It should have had a V8, though.

27th Mar 2009, 00:36

Why would you take a car that is a decade old to a dealer? They overcharge, and you could have gotten the repair done cheaper at a local mechanic or franchise auto repair organization.

I don’t think Buick cares if they get calls regarding a car make that they no longer make, and least of all one that is a decade old.

27th Mar 2009, 18:22

Why would you need a V8 in a LeSabre? I drive a Park Avenue and get plenty of power from the regularly aspirated 3.8 V6. Front wheel drive cars that are that light (about 3600-3700 pounds) were not meant to have V8s. I wouldn't even want one in my Park Avenue, try getting 30+ mpg with a V8 on the freeway.

27th Mar 2009, 18:25

I get surprised with how many people get fuming mad over power windows that failed in a 10 year old car. Be grateful it wasn't the transmission or something major. Do people honestly think cars never break?

2000 Buick LeSabre Limited Edition V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8900 miles
Most recent distance9300 miles
Previous carNissan Nissan

Summary:

Good car, just too many expensive problems

Faults:

I bought my Buick LeSabre about 10 months ago, and I am just now having problems with the sensors on the car. They are causing the car to shut off and the check engine light stays on. The car has 93 thousand miles on it.

I also experienced problems with the power windows.

Other than the sensors messing up, I had no major problems.

I really like the car because it has a lot of room and it runs smooth, but I don't think I would buy another one because of all the problems that I have researched about the cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2009

2000 Buick LeSabre Limited Edition from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Trouble waiting to happen

Faults:

Level sensor for hydraulic shocks went bad at 28145 miles.

Both driver and passenger heated seats went out at 30,734 and 32,899 miles.

Ignition module went out at 66,742 mile.

Intake manifold gasket had to be replaced at 80,174 miles.

All four window motors went bad before 100,000 miles. We replaced the two front motors for around $400 each.

Now our son is driving the car and it is stalling intermittently. He has had the crank shaft sensor and the fuel filter replaced. No fault shows up on the diagnostic, so it's guess work and expenses in trying to fix the problem.

After having so much trouble with this car my husband and I decided to try a foreign car. We bought a 2004 Lexus and have not had one thing go wrong with it. It has 75,000 miles on it, and other than normal maintenance, it has not had to be in the shop for anything.

My son is now shopping for a foreign car. We might have great automobile workers in the US, but the parts they put on the cars are not worth the trouble they cause.

General Comments:

Never buy a used Buick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st February, 2009

2nd Feb 2009, 11:07

Why not buy used Buicks? 2 of my 3 cars have been used Buicks and I have not had nearly the amount of trouble you experienced with your LeSabre. My current Buick even came with an extended warranty which is good for 2 more years and I only paid $35 to transfer it to my name. Another great reason to buy used Buicks, or any other Domestic brand is the steep depreciation. My 2005 Buick with 16,700 miles cost about the same as a Toyota Camry from the same year with more miles. My next car will definitely be a used Buick.

28th Feb 2010, 16:15

Hi. If you still have the car, try changing the mass air flow sensor or a map sensor. That will take care of your stalling problems. Good luck.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 78 reviews