2000 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 3 of 20

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance21985 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Good car except for the power windows

Faults:

Power windows, rear, and left front 2 times, at 18000, 19000, 2nd 21000 miles.

General Comments:

Purchased the car new, have a pickup and only have 21000 miles on it. I have spent almost $1000.00 in repairs to windows and 0 in all other problems.

Replaced left front wind regulator at 19000 miles for $467.00, at 21000 miles the same problem, had to replace left front regulator at a cost of $500.67. When I complained that I replaced the same part 2000 miles ago, the dealer gave me a 50% discount. This is in addition to a rear window repair at 387.00.

I felt the last repair should have been fixed at no cost, but the dealer claimed GM would not reimburse them.

Told the dealer I have dealt with them since 1967, but this would be my last GM car.

And that folks is coming from someone who always bought American cars (100% GM).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th August, 2009

21st Aug 2009, 16:58

Quite frankly sir, you should consider yourself lucky if you've only spent $1,000 on a nearly 10 year old car! Cars are machines and they aren't going to run flawlessly forever. Given your car has very low miles, but the parts are still getting quite old and just like people parts wear out as they get older.

23rd Aug 2009, 20:29

The gentleman who added the first comment must not have read the hundreds of comments about the window problems on Buicks.

Most of these people will not buy GM as they feel this was a design problem and GM refuses to stand behind this problem, many people have Japanese cars with over 200,000 mile on them with no window problems. It seems like these Buick owners are spending thousands of dollars on a bad design with no help from the dealers or GM.

No wonder people are not buying American.

24th Aug 2009, 14:47

The Buick window failures are a very common problem. I'm an import fan myself, however, Buick is rated fairly high in reliability. And when you take a good look at it, failing windows is not a real major problem unless the window died in the down position. I still wouldn't buy anything from GM though.

24th Aug 2009, 17:01

Yes, I am actually aware that this is a somewhat common problem with this model. I am just pointing out the fact that this is the only issue you have had. And $1,000 is a pretty trivial amount in repairs over 9 years (that's an average of just over $110 per year)! Most car buyers would be very pleased with that.

2000 Buick LeSabre from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

A good car with problems

Faults:

I have a 2000 Buick LeSabre with 84,000 miles on it. I have already have had one inoperative window worked on. Now I have another one, rear passenger side, that doesn't work. I can move the glass up and down with my hands. Can a handy guy fix this or is this definitely a repair shop job? Is General Motors (Buick) doing anything about this problem?

General Comments:

I have also had problems with the part that controls the amount of air that mixes with the gas to run the engine. It has been replaced two times.

There was also a water leak in the right front passenger door/ window which required five or six trips to the dealership before being corrected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th July, 2009

2000 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8L OHV V6 3.8 Series III from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8L OHV V6 3.8 Series III Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired275000 kilometres
Most recent distance282000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Big boat that cruises like a dream

Faults:

The out-of-province inspection was very expensive, and the parts were slightly hard to get.

The lights on the car burnt out all at once. It took a bit of effort to replace them, but they were easy to access.

The car had many highway kilometers, so I'm not too surprised by the lights that burnt out.

The tire pressure sensor is reading too low.

A spring broke up front.

General Comments:

This car rides like a bed, has plenty of luxury features.

The heated seats work well, as do the heated mirrors.

The electrochromatic mirrors are somewhat slow to respond.

The automatic temperature control works fairly well, but isn't better than the sliders on the Custom trim level.

The sound system works well, as does the compass.

The seats are comfortable, and adjust well, in a lot of directions.

The windows work well, unlike many of the other cars reviewed here.

The self-leveling rear air shocks are surprising at stops, because after a while they bump the car upwards at the rear.

The key fob is a bit touchy, but the trunk-release feature was handy.

The wheels are easy to clean.

The car gets okay mileage in town, 9-16 mpg (34-13L/100km) for such a big boat. But on the highway, the mileage is incredible: 28-36 mpg (12-5L/100km).

It's a great long-distance tourer or commuter, with plenty of trunk space and passenger room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th June, 2009

12th Jul 2009, 15:15

Just an update. 5000km later. No window problems. I like the cassette/CD/radio. It gets good reception. In-town fuel economy isn't much better than a larger car, like a Grand Marquis or a Caprice or even a truck (V6).

13th Jul 2009, 17:32

I think the key to keeping these windows working is to use them every once in a while. There are a lot of people who have stated that their window failed after being used only a handful of times, I think that is the problem. I hate to drive with my windows down and raely have passengers, however I still once in a while operate all of my power windows just to keep the motor working.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 78 reviews