2000 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 6 of 20

2000 Buick LeSabre limited 3.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

GM customer service needs improvement+

Faults:

Replaced head gaskets at 77000 miles.

Door ajar warning buzzed randomly for 9 months before GM found faulty ground.

Passenger window failed at 60,000.

Both rear window failed same day at 105,000. GM customer service said lack of use was cause..$850.00.

General Comments:

This is a very nice car, but GM has not stood up the reality of window and gasket issue. I have owned GM autos for 50 years... this may be my last GM product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th July, 2008

2000 Buick LeSabre custom 3.8L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Okay

Faults:

Left rear window made a noise when going down and now it is stuck down. The motor appears to be working, but the window will not go up.

The gas gage doesn't work.

The check engine light comes on and says, "Gas Cap Loose"

General Comments:

I like the ride, and gas mileage for a bigger car. GM should recall the car for the window problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th June, 2008

2000 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles

Summary:

Fair

Faults:

Window regulators.

Rack and pinion.

Ash tray not repairable (unsightly hanging from dash).

General Comments:

Can anyone top $624.39 to fix drivers window?

Afterwards, reading this site to find out that it is a serious manufacturer's problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2008

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 litre from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Keep a lot of nickels and dimes on hand

Faults:

There seems to be a lot of quirks with this car, such as when I purchased it, the fuel gauge didn't work right, so the dealer gave me a break on the price.

Next I went through a car wash and it seems to have a leak around the windshield.

The wiper motor went out at about 115000 miles. As soon as I got that fixed, the driver's side rear window regulator went out at 116000 miles. Found out the assembly with motor costs about $250.00. I just forked over $267.00 for the wiper motor including labor.

Is this thing engineered for maximum profits instead of reliability?

General Comments:

Has a very good motor, and the body style is nice. Smooth riding and comfortable. Economy about 24-28 MPG overall.

Handles nice. Just those quirks that are annoying. It's nickel and diming me!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd June, 2008

2000 Buick LeSabre LE 3.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Fix the windows. Honda would at any mileage under these conditions

Faults:

Rear window regulator, passenger side broke first time I used it. Buick wants $400-$500+ to repair.

General Comments:

Great car, except the window problems that I have, and have read about..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2008

8th Dec 2009, 02:00

The window regulators for this car are getting cheaper. All it takes is an hour of your time and some pretty basic tools, and you can have your window regulator repaired. It cost me $67CAD apiece for the two that I have had to replace. One took 45 minutes, and the other took about 30 minutes.

8th Dec 2009, 15:07

Excellent point. People who pay outrageous prices for repairs could buy an entire CAR for what they could save by doing a few repairs themselves. I recently replaced a door handle on a friend's car. The dealer wanted $589 to do the job. The part cost $39 and it took me less than 30 minutes to install.

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 kilometres
Most recent distance124000 kilometres

Faults:

Replacement of brake rotors, all calipers, pads.

Malfunctioning of brake sensors. Replacement of front brake sensors, hubs and bearings.

Power windows fell down, and will no longer function.

Air conditioning has not worker for past two years due to leaking compressor.

General Comments:

This automobile is junk. Purely lacking in quality.

This GM product makes "made in China" imported items look good. It is time GMC wake up and smell the sake.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th March, 2008

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

Overall very good, but bad on brakes and window regulators

Faults:

We've replaced the brakes all the way around several times and the rotors at least twice. Now I'm about to replace the left front window regulator. I replaced the right front regulator 6 months ago and was shocked at the cheap junk used by Buick. The dealer wanted something like $180 for the new part + $350 to install it. I bought a new regulator with motor at an after market dealer for $45 and installed it myself in a couple hours. Yes, it was made in China, but had no plastic parts whatsoever. It looks, feels and works much better than the original equipment. Whoever Buick bought these from should refund their entire contract and Buick should be fixing all of these for no charge. Buick knew these were a problem in 2000 yet continued to use the same cheap crap for at least 4 more years and maybe even beyond the 2005 model. We have 6 Buick LeSabres in our immediate family and none of us will buy a Buick again.

General Comments:

It's a shame Buick decided to use cheap parts in their cars, but it's even worse that they don't take responsibility and replace all these window regulators for us loyal customers. And they wonder why their sales continue to drop? It's inevitable when they won't stand behind their product. I have two Buick LeSabres, a 2000 and a 2005, both bought new. There are 4 additional Buick LeSabres in my immediate family and none of us will buy another Buick because of the cheap window regulators. Just our family might not impact GM or Buick, but all the others I tell will not buy from them either. I had a recurring $39.99 brake problem with a 1965 Chrysler and after I had 12,000 miles on it Chrysler would not stand behind it and continue to fix it or fix it right. I had Midas fix it for $39.99 + tax and never had another problem, but I have never even considered buying another Chrysler product since then = 43 years and about 19 new cars and trucks in that time. I won't even look at a used Chrysler product either. Now I guess I have to boycott Buick too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th February, 2008

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 78 reviews