2000 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 5 of 20

2000 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 gas from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8 gas Automatic
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Great car with a superb ride

Faults:

This car has been a great car with the exception of the 2 window regulators on the passenger side.

The front passenger regulator broke at about 45,000 miles.

The passenger side rear regulator broke at 67000 miles.

As each failure was preceded by freezing weather, it appeared that someone tried to open a window when it was frozen shut, and did not stop when they saw that the window was not lowering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2009

2000 Buick LeSabre Deluxe 3.6L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.6L Semi-Automatic
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Good in most aspects, some problems

Faults:

Window regulators go bad.

Water leaking into right rear taillights.

Light switch would stick open.

General Comments:

Comfortable ride.

Good gas mileage - 24 all around and up to 31 on a trip.

Attractive and room for 5.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th December, 2008

2000 Buick LeSabre 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

It's a lemon!

Faults:

I bought the car the end of July.

Two weeks later the front passengers window cable broke.

1 week later the back passengers window cable broke.

Approx 1 1/2 weeks later the back driver cable broke, and just the other day 12-6-08 the drivers window cable broke.

I know there has been no recall on this, but I can't understand why!!

Also my headlight go out when I put on my brights.

My check engine light also goes on once in a while and goes off again.

I have owned many Buicks in my life time and have never had such problems. Buick needs to address this issue immediately. I think it's time Buick took responsibility for these problems. What do we do and where to we go?

General Comments:

Buick needs to replace all window cables/regulators immediately.

Buick needs to fix the switch on the bright lights or something.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th December, 2008

11th Dec 2008, 16:23

GM is on the brink of filing for bankruptcy. If you think they are going to recall this, you are dreaming. Your car is close to 10 years old and this is not a safety issue. I agree the power window issue is unfortunate for Buick, as well as other GM brands but why should GM worry about satisfying customers like you who don't plan to purchase another car from them in the first place. I suppose though that is one of the main reasons they are in the mess they are in. But this would be too little too late.

2000 Buick LeSabre 6 cylinger from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 6 cylinger Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12725 miles
Most recent distance34500 miles

Summary:

Comfortable ride, but not reliable mechanically

Faults:

At 13,000 miles, the car could not be driven above 60mph due to shuddering.

15,000 miles, stalling when in idle.

At 34,500 miles, the back rear window came down (almost $675 to repair)!!!

Readings constantly misread, for example:

Tires need inflating. "No they don't"

Add oil. "Did that last week!"

Engine needs servicing. "No it doesn't!"

No matter where or how I drive my Buick, it states: Gas consumption 19mpg.

General Comments:

Car is a roomy, comfortable car.

Whenever I drive it, I am waiting for something mechanically to go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th September, 2008

2000 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

My dream car!

Faults:

Transmission/motor mount 70,000 miles. I was lucky, I thought the transmission was going out.

Manifold gaskets replaced for $800. I think this dealership is rather expensive.

Mass Airflow Sensor at 115,000 miles. The car would not stay running. It had to be towed. It was about $900. Also the overly expensive dealership service department.

Leveling Sensor went bad in the dead of winter. The air shocks were continuously trying to add more air and the back of my car looked pretty odd. Took it to a different dealership and spent $700.

Drivers side heated seat doesn't work. I don't have the money to fix that. I'll just have to let the car warm-up on cold mornings.

Gas gage never worked. I just set the trip odometer and never drive past 320 miles. I've never run out of gas since I've owned it.

General Comments:

I bought this car because it is beautiful. It is green with the aluminum wheels. It looks good no matter where its parked. The inside has tan leather seats, air outlet for the rear passengers, heated seats, automatic climate control - I love it, and the driver information center. The automatic leveling system created a nice smooth ride.

I have never replaced the brakes and I've driven it 57,000 miles. I always ask for them to be checked when I get an oil change.

The paint looks amazing for an 8 year old car. The interior is holding up amazingly well. It still looks the same it did the day I got it. Nothing is falling apart like other cars I've owned.

It's too bad Buick no longer makes the LeSabre. What a wonderful car. I plan to drive this at least to 200,000 miles. With regular oil changes and repairing anything need to keep it running I think it will make it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2008

17th Aug 2008, 19:18

If you have the Driver Information Center, why don't you just check the miles to empty? It is pretty accurate and easier than always re-setting the odometer.

1st Sep 2008, 23:01

200,000 miles should be a breeze. Our LeSabre has 277,000+.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 78 reviews