2003 Buick Rendezvous CX 3.4 from North America


Don't touch it unless you're an auto-mechanic


Fuel pump went at 68,000km in less than 2 years, but 8,000 over warranty. GM didn't want to cover it. Cost C$1000 to repair.

Now, at a bit over 100,000, the transmission has gone. This time will cost C$3500 to put a rebuild inside. Two major repairs in less than 3 years (3 years at June 2006) of use from new, very disappointing.

General Comments:

The comfort of the car is the trade.

Noise level and power are okay.

The 5 seater is roomy for a family of 4, with lots of cargo capacity.

Outrageous repair cost and major repairs in the rather short lifespan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th April, 2006

2003 Buick Rendezvous cxl 6 cylinder from North America


Not as happy as I would like to be


The drivers door will not seat properly creating road noise and drafts. The window will not seat and makes "banging" noises when raise or lowered.

General Comments:

Gas mileage is good for an SUV. Handles pretty good with that needed highway pickup speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2006

2003 Buick Rendezvous CX 3.4L V6 OHV 12V FI from North America




Replaced starter at 50,000 miles.

Interior plastic molding had snapped at the attachment points on the rear inside portion of the hatch.

General Comments:

This car was used by my elderly parents and it allowed them easy access in and out of the car.

My father had a prosthetic leg and was able to easily maneuver in and out of the vehicle.

The raised seating gives the passengers a feeling of security.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2005

2003 Buick Rendezvous from North America


Will never buy another Buick


ABS brakes went out at 45,000.

At 60,000 the wiring harness was full of water, rusted all my wiring.

Mass air flow sensor went out, each costing $400

66,000 brakes, rotors, $396.

Tie rods & wheel bearings, $996.00.

The air conditioner in the back comes out between the seats and that's it. Hard to cool the rear passengers.

The front window has blind spots.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2005

2nd Mar 2005, 18:27

Sound like another GM product not performing. Go to a used Lexus and forget it.

25th Jun 2007, 10:28

Since owning my 2003 CX on 4-06 - it has needed new brakes, new front wheel bearing, new air compressor. When I bought it- it was suppose to be GMC warranted used vehicle - it came with 4 miss-matched tires and never went through their 100 point check. The problem is I love to drive it - I think it rides great. I just wish the dealer had done their job in the first place.

3rd Sep 2007, 18:08

66000 miles and new brakes. Well you know they are designed to wear out, they don't last foreover. the wheel bearing, on an AWD or 4x4 front wheel bearing are always an issue. As for going to a lexus, its just a glorified Toyota. And when I beaks they will charge you 3 times what GM will,and I know I am a mechanic.

2003 Buick Rendezvous CX 3.4 liter from North America


Not worth owning!


Chronic front end vibration, sloppy steering, rough ride and engine are all hallmarks of this vehicle.

The intake gasket had to be replaced in the engine shortly after is was out of warranty. I had to fight Buick to get them to pay for it. This seems to be a chronic and ongoing problem with GM's 3.1 and 3.4 liter engines.

General Comments:

Compared to the first model Rendezvous we purchased for my wife, the second one that I purchased for myself has been a complete and total disappointment.

My vehicle rides and operates completely different. What ever changes Buick made after the first model year were a big mistake. I will not be purchasing another Rendezvous any time soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2004

1st Nov 2006, 16:54

My intake gasket also leaked at 77,000 miles. Repair cost me $1,100. Transmission may have signs of a problem. Now that I hear that these are common with GM, I am finished with this vehicle. Time to trade, and look everywhere else, but GM.

2003 Buick Rendezvous CXL V6 3.4 from North America


The best vehicle I've owned


Nothing has gone wrong with this vehicle.

General Comments:

The Buick Rendezvous CXL has been an incredible vehicle. The ride is smooth, the handling is great, the design interior/exterior is superb, and the gas mileage is phenomenal. I cannot say enough about the benefits of this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2004

9th Sep 2004, 15:35

I have the 2004 Buick Rendezvous CX with AWD 4 wheel disc brakes. I traded in my Jeep Grand Cherokee on it. I have had the SUV since July. I love it. It rides so smooth and comfortable. It could use more power. Should have gotten the Ultra. The only complaint is the Firestone Affinity tires. They allow the car to lean on corners and I don't like the way they hold the road. The problem is finding a replacement tire that won't change the quiet ride. It looks like I will have to go to 17 or 18 inch wheels to get better tires. Anyone have any recommendations on tires?

2nd Jul 2006, 10:41

Why don't these overly positive "reports" about 2003 model mention mileage?

At about 25,000 miles many owners complain elsewhere that they had one or more of the following: Intake Manifold problems, Front Wheel Hub and\or bearing failures, electrical problems, a few mention odd water leaks that shorted out sensors and cost $1200 plus to fix, and other problems. At about 51,000 miles many owners complain of the above and failures that call for new tires and front wheel alignment, and other problems.

After 25,000 miles many owners who loved this CUV, hate it due to mechanical failures and high cost of keeping them on the road. AWD version owners all complain of high fuel consumption.

Some rating organizations rate this Buick a risky buy in a used vehicle. Keep it in mind they come with the post 1996 Series II 3400 3.4litre V6. The previous Serie I 3800 was a great engine, but the Series II has a intake manifold defect that can cause the manifold to melt and coolant to enter the engine, eventually seizing it and costing plenty to repair.

If you think coolant seems to be not leaking onto the ground, but disappearing, get it to a good mechanic fast to check the plastic manifold.

5th Feb 2008, 15:57

The first 2 comments must be buick employees..