2003 Buick Rendezvous Reviews - Page 3 of 6

2003 Buick Rendezvous CLX 3.4 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60200 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

After you iron-out the cars known faults, such as wheel hubs etc. you may have one of the best cars

Faults:

Sensors and bearings needed replacement (while under dealer warranty.). Sensors and hubs are located within wheel hubs, which also were replaced.

Electric heater for driver's seat needed to be repaired (while under dealer warranty).

Differential switch needed replacement (while under dealer warranty).

General Comments:

The Rendezvous is strong and rugged, yet smooth, spirited and elegant. The car defines the Buick tradition of safety and comfort. The heads-up display and backup warning sensors are features which add to my positive opinion of Buick technology and owning a Buick.

The paint color combinations are fantastic, and the quality of the paint finish is excellent. Even though this model is a 2003, it still maintains the same style, versatility of the newer models. My car could pass for a 2007 model with no problems. The Cappuccino paint color finish still gleams. My wife drives a 1999 Buick Century which can easily be mistaken for a 2005. Buick has a flair for building cars that will maintain their style and youthful appearance.

The 3.4 engine in these cars can go the distance and last up until 300,000 miles +. If you do a search for Rendezvous for sale on the web, the high mileage you see on these cars is proof that they can go the distance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2009

2003 Buick Rendezvous CXL from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carScion xB

Summary:

This is not a reliable car

Faults:

Transmission had to be rebuilt at 50000 miles, which cost $2800.

Air Conditioner has stopped cooling.

General Comments:

I loved this car when I first bought it, and I still like how comfortable it is. However, I have had major repair costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th April, 2009

2003 Buick Rendezvous CXL 3.4 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

It sucks!

Faults:

Well to say the least, this car sucks! I am lucky to have a husband who can fix anything on a car, but here is a list on my 2003 Buick Rendezvous CXL:

Rust on hood - fixed.

Eating antifreeze.

Handle on rear tailgate does not work.

Window clips had to be replaced in each side.

Thermostat.

Intake manifold gaskets.

Front ball joints need replaced.

And the latest and last straw is a bearing spun in the motor, and now I cannot drive it! My husband is fixing that, and then off to a foreign dealership we go!!!

I am not hard on my car; I drive to work and back, try to miss pot holes, and I keep my car washed and clean.

General Comments:

In the beginning I loved this car and was thinking of getting another...

Off to a foreign dealership we go when it is fixed! NOT OKAY USA!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th December, 2008

2003 Buick Rendezvous CX from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carPontiac Trans Sport

Summary:

I am very pleased with this reliable vehicle

Faults:

Lumbar adjusting knob broke.

General Comments:

Very reliable and no problems since purchase. Until now, I am having questionable transmission problems.

I have 124,000 miles and still have the original brakes on the rear. The transmission appeared tp slip in 4th gear one time but has since quit acting up. I plan to trade it in anyways due to age and mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2008

2003 Buick Rendezvous CXL from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

Just put all of your money back into it

Faults:

AWD disable and anti lock light comes on.

Right hub assembly had to be replaced.

Left hub assembly is now out and needs replaced.

Seat back adjuster came off.

Right mirror rotates and gets stuck, making a ticking noise with the car off.

Low tire pressure light comes on for no reason.

Temp gage rises when sitting in traffic, and is fine while driving.

I have to turn the air on to get the temp down.

Window clips on the inside of the window have broke on both the driver and passenger sides.

Sunroof cover for the inside is offtrack.

The back window leaks around the top of the hatch.

I use a credit card to open the DVD screen.

General Comments:

Very comfortable on road trips, and the kids love it.

Great sound system.

Plenty of cup holders.

Good amount of foot room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2008

12th Jul 2008, 09:45

Would like to know if the AWD Disable and ABS light issue is related to the hubs or was it just that the warning light came on for no reason. Thanks.

17th Mar 2009, 23:08

WARNING.. I didn't catch when this was written, but I myself had the issue of the temp gauge rising while sitting in traffic and being fine while driving, save yourself a ton of money and take it in to have the intake manifold gasket changed. I did not know this was a occurring problem because of the use of plastic intake manifolds; they leak very slowly, almost unnoticeable, and bam the car gets bad one day, and now I am 1800 dollars behind in a garage bill.

I unfortunately bought the car at 115000 miles, and it was beautiful, sounded and ran great, the interior was beautiful, thought I got a great deal. I should have bought a Ford, the investment would have been wise.

In the last year I have owned the car, it has set me back by about 4500 dollars in damage and repairs; pretty pathetic. And it had a majority of repairs done before I purchased the vehicle.

I intend on putting together some information on these cars, and showing that these problems occur way too common to be general wear and tear on a vehicle, so if you have any information you would like to share... please feel free to send an email...

Crystalstout@comcast.net maybe GM can't stay in business because they make garbage vehicles, no one wants to buy them.

27th Sep 2012, 00:06

Yes, I drove my mother's Buick Rendezvous 2003 with 30k on it to Florida from Philadelphia. The temperature gauge was running 3 quarters in traffic, and cooled down when highway driving. When in traffic, I tried the opposite you would think, and put on the air conditioner; it brought the temperature back to normal in traffic.

3 months later the coolant was low. Took it to a Buick dealer, and he said I need a head gasket, and it would cost 1200 dollars. I took it to a local mechanic, and he laughed and said it happens all the time to Rendezvous, and he showed me exactly where the leak was... the intake manifold. He said Buick made a bad gasket, and they should have done a recall for all owners.

50k later I went thru the next head gasket and destroyed the engine.

Also, I went thru 5 wheel bearings on the front right side.

Tire pressure indicator light comes on all the time, even when the tire is over inflated.

Very disappointed that an American car company dumped these problems on taxpaying, good American consumers.

Lee.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 23 reviews