15th Nov 2007, 00:04

OK...Now I really feel bad. I did research on the 2002 before I bought it brand new. I was really proud of myself even though my husband was not 100% for purchasing a new line SUV. At least I waited till after the huge valve problem they had with the first bunch.

I have had the brake problems, mysterious oil leak?, ac/condenser leak, and now the wild security system problem. I wish there was a way to disconnect this and get rid of it, but it is paid off and we have one more child to get through college.

I really loved this vehicle, but the love is turning to hate. I guess I will have to suck it up and replace this strange BCM part for the time being. What really worries me is all the other problems everyone is having after they pass that 60,000 mile mark and there is no warranty or help.

Another thing that no one has mentioned: I have OnStar, but alas it is an analog system that will be obsolete in January when it all goes digital and the 2002 cannot be upgraded... so I will not be able to use it if I break down.

I will file a formal complaint with all.

15th Nov 2007, 17:35

I am a single mother and bought a 2002 (thinking gm was a good product). My Dad would have been proud. But, this has been the biggest piece of junk. At this point, I have replaced intake manifold gasket twice, A/C condenser, thermostat, cooling fan relay, valve cover gasket, rack and pinion steering, tires and rear brakes. I still have problems with overheating, my ac does not work on high, passenger window motor is blown and the window falls into the door constantly, round knob on driver seat falls off, cover on interior hatch will not stay put and rattles, triangle on exterior rear door thing is gone, lug nut covers are missing, and to top it all off the traction control light is on continuously and grinding at low speed; when turning and stopping it feels like the car is not going to stop. Very scary when toting my children. I do not feel safe in this vehicle, no money or desire to fix. This is a lemon! Ready to join class action. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Very disappointed GM! julie_p_donnelly@yahoo.com.

17th Nov 2007, 07:20

I have a 2003 Buick rendezvous CX.

I bought it 3 weeks ago and noticed the (driver window) would slide down every time I brake. Every time I shut the door it would do the same thing. I have to pay to get the inside of my car cleaned because it have been raining all week. I wish I had never bought this car.

24th Nov 2007, 21:06

Own a 2002 Buick Rendezvous, too many problems to mention all. However, here are some, AC, AC condenser, wheel bearings, BCM module, rear lift gate, head gasket, intake manifold gasket, anti-lock brakes, All Wheel Drive, transmission, on and on. I agree with one of the previous writer, let’s all call customer service @ GM (BUICK) and remind them of this site. Aren't any lawyers out there willing to tackle this monster?

27th Nov 2007, 09:20

I submitted a Review and then found this comment thread. I too am a sucker... a 2002 RDVZ and to add to the list of repairs others have noted :

AC compressor, Brakes, Tires, Front Wheel Bearings, Head Gaskets, Intake Manifold Gasket, Rear Control Arm Bushings (Big$), Random Electrical Issues, Exterior Trim plate chrome peeling, Driver's Seat Lumbar Adj, Knob broken, Rear Coil Spring Failed... *Sigh* and GM doesn't give a hoot about marketing a lemon and will drive me away from ever spending money on their vehicles again. Too bad because my dealer has helped immensely. GM should be ashamed and held liable to boot!

30th Nov 2007, 18:12

My wife and I also bought the 2002 Rendezvous CXL in 2005 after her sister had bought one. It had 53,000 on it and was loaded with HUD, power sunroof, heated leather seats, and more. We have loved this vehicle since we bought it. Her other sister then bought one that had a trailer hitch on it. They drove it to Alaska and had transmission problems. Then they had trouble with the aluminum wheels that "had to be grinded". They traded it right after that stuff happened.

We are now starting to have problems like everyone else. The left front bearing did go out before 60,000 miles and I replaced it. Later that year, I saw that GM was paying for those bearings, provided they failed before 60,000 miles. I got reimbursed for the parts, not my labor, as I did the work myself (I billed them $90 labor). We also have a 'groaning' problem when steering hard either direction, mostly noticed when backing up. The wind blows throught the drivers door like it doesn't seal very well, like others have reported. Now today, I drive 5 miles and notice the heat is blowing cold air. So here I am, googling "Buick blows cold air" and find this site. Wish I had found it earlier.

I don't know how much, if any, trouble her sister Janet has had, but I will be inquiring now. This is a sad day. I hate to see all this bad publicity. We love the vehicle and had planned to take it (again) down to Florida this Feb. Now I am afraid to trust it on a long trip. We will likely be looking to trade this in very soon (before Feb...). My wife just called me from work and agreed, saying "well, we'll have to look at a Toyota". Coincidentally, that is the same thing others here are saying, and that is a sad fact for the American Big 3.


1st Dec 2007, 16:26

Don't say you HAVE to look at Toyota. The fact is you want to. Sadly Buick makes several cars that are a lot better buys than Toyota both used and new. My Buick has over 130,000 miles and is very reliable, albeit it is not a Rendezvous. I plan to trade this Spring and you can bet I will be buying another Buick, trading for a Toyota would never cross my mind. Our family owns three cars (Buick, Pontiac, and Toyota) and the Toyota is the one with the highest maintenance bills by far (well over $1,000 more than the Buick plus it has a higher mark-up when new.) Billions of dollars in marketing goes a long way in making people believe anything you want them to. Buick was just recently rated number 1 in long-term reliability by J.D. Power & Associates, if Toyota had achieved this you can bet you would see it on about every other commercial.

10th Dec 2007, 15:37

2003 - 57,000 miles. Same problems as everyone else. Today the car is in for the head gasket, started leaking antifreeze. Did the brake thing three months ago and the AWD last year. Like the rest, love the car, but not the problems. I will be filing a complaint with the nhtsa and I called GM to register the complaint. We all need to do this. Nothing will happen if the complaints don't come in and this website is not the place to do the complaining.