1988 Cadillac DeVille Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1988 Cadillac DeVille Sedan 4.5 Liter from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.5 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance398902 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

A well built performance car that's reliable

Faults:

A new alternator in early 1998, a new starter in late 1998, a new radiator in 1999, and finally I blew the engine in 2005. Although I hated to do it, I had to say good bye!! to this car.

General Comments:

This car I absolutely fell in love with the moment I saw iton the showroom floor. I had to have it. So I traded in my 1984 Oldsmobile 98, for this beauty. Owing this 1988 Cadillac was like a dream that ended up in a sad nightmare. I can say the car almost gave me almost 400,000 miles of pure enjoyment and handled like a sports car. I still miss it, but hey, time marches on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2006

20th Jul 2006, 10:44

400000 miles? Hey you got your money's worth...I'd STILL drive a nice one of these over those newer Northstar nightmares... been there done that... NEVER AGAIN.

1988 Cadillac DeVille from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Excellent car providing great comfort

Faults:

A-C service light keeps coming on and no amount of servicing seems to correct the problem.

Front passenger seat is tilted uncomfortably far back and the manual doesn't specify how to correct the problem.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car with good mileage for a V-8.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2006

16th Mar 2006, 13:36

I own the same One I'm getting about 10mpg I think and The car still runs fine Its realy really bad Filling it up and using all that gas up.

17th Jul 2006, 15:19

My 1988 cadillac deville gets 22 mpg in city, and 29-32 highway. It said it on the digital reading, but I didn't think it was right, but I tested it and it was right.

1988 Cadillac DeVille 4.5 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Good reliable car

Faults:

Not much at all.

General Comments:

Good car. Motor went bad at 190,083. Still ran, but overheated and lost water and oil all of the sudden.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th January, 2006

1988 Cadillac DeVille 4.5 litre from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.5 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired270000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

It's got a great big back seat!

Faults:

PCV;

Wheel Alignment;

Vacuum (emergency brake system) ;

Power window;

Cracks in some of the interior;

Sagging head liner;

Failed Ontario's e-testing;

CV joints;

General Comments:

Otherwise, it's a fine car. It has a respectable amount of power.

Fuel consumption is decent on the highway, at 10 litres per 100 km. We, won't talk about city driving.

It's surprisingly nimble with a a terrific turning radius.

For it age, the problems are not out of the norm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th October, 2005

1988 Cadillac DeVille Sedan 4.5 Litre V8 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.5 Litre V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance252000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

A great car deserving more attention

Faults:

The only annoying problem the car ever developed was that the power switch for the radio broke making it impossible to turn the radio on. It cost over $400 to have this replaced since the entire radio would have to be removed from the car/dash so I decided against that.

The only other problem was the alternator belt broke at 250,000 miles, however that was my fault since I failed to check it properly in a timely manner.

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable car.

The seats are soft.

Easy to drive.

Easy to maintain.

Great fun in its own conservative way.

Handles better than you might think.

Not quick off the line, but very fast.

Solid, dependable, safe.

Hard to see out the small back window.

Not very fuel efficient (ave. 15 mpg) in combination driving, but good on the freeway (about 23 mpg).

Quiet riding.

Soft riding.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2005

10th Oct 2005, 23:40

Hey,

I live in GA and I own an 88 Sedan Deville Amoore' Edition and the leveling message is because it has air-ride suspension that's why it is so smooth on the road like new model trucks and SUV's. This is an awesome feature only offered by the Cadillac division of GM for cars.

18th Jan 2006, 04:23

Auto level is a type of suspension used on the back wheels of some of GM's higher-end cars (Buick Riviera, Cadillacs, etc). It rises by inflating or lowers by deflating to keep the car level with a heavy load in the trunk, etc.

You can tell your car has it by listening for the pump to kick in with the engine off and the key in the "ON" position.

Or simply go to the dealer and run the VIN by them. They'll be able to tell you that way.

Hope this helps you.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 25 reviews