1988 Cadillac Deville 4.5 Liter from North America

Summary:

A great example of American engineering

Faults:

Catalytic converter went out around 215,000 miles.

Front rotors have been replaced shortly after converter.

Previous owner replaced the water pump.

Also goes through a little bit more power steering fluid than normal.

Front end is a damaged from an accident.

General Comments:

This is my first car.

I love this car more than I love my mom.

Even though it's not the prettiest car on the road it's still a great running car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th August, 2004

1988 Cadillac Deville sedan 4.5 from North America

Summary:

A very good find for a 22yr old man

Faults:

Car is in almost perfect condition.

Driver side door panel inside vinyl is

Cracking due to sun wear.

General Comments:

I am in love with this car considering.

I bought it for $500. And it is in very good condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2004

1988 Cadillac Deville Sedan 4.5L from North America

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Had Problem with the idle speed control. After I bought the car. It was making the engine rev a little high. Bought a new one. $45. Fuel Pump went out at about 125000 miles $200 to repair. Front Seats are worn and cracked. Back seat still look brand new. Just replaced all shocks at 130000 miles. It ride like a brand new car. Head liner is sagging like all GM cars. 130000 miles the air compressor for the rear leveling system blew up.

General Comments:

I love this car. It rides like a champ. Sucks a lot of gas. Maybe 13 or 14 mpg in the city. Wish Cadillac put sunroofs on all there cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2003

16th Jan 2006, 12:46

When you replaced the throttle did it fix the problem.

1988 Cadillac Deville sedan deville V8 from North America

Summary:

A good GM car

Faults:

The car is really nice, it was bought new by my father the month that he died. My mother kept it, which is why it only has 46,000 miles.

It has had some air conditioning problems, headliner drop problems, and electic window problems as outlined by others. On the whole, it has been a good car and relatively low maintenance. The styling was good, and the radio is excellent. The leather interior is still really nice after 15 years, although the car has been garaged.

I would recommend this kind of car to collectors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2003

12th Dec 2006, 11:39

I have a 1988 sedan deville which I bought new in 88. To this day, this car looks show room condition with no rust at all and the interior is mint, as a matter of fact, it still has the original muffler system along with the catalytic converter. If I was to be a bit critical about the car I would say that small things seem to have let go through the years, not too significant, things like driver's power window, power antenna, power trunk (which does not stop it from closing manually) and a few small other unimportant things. The transmission, engine, shocks, and everything else makes it the best car I have ever owned, still drives like a Cadillac.

1988 Cadillac Deville Sedan 4.5 V8 from North America

Summary:

A used Cadillac can offer a lot of car for a little money... they depreciate quickly

Faults:

Head liner has fallen in... it happens to all GM cars at some point.

Electric windows are sluggish.

Original premium sound Stereo sounds great, but the on/off button works 30% of the time... and the cassette eject button is about to fail.

Paint chipping from plastic parts of bumper.

Rear window (rubber seal/gasket) has cracked, deteriorated, and is falling in.

The a/c worked great until 124000 miles. I've had a new condensor, and compressor put in and it is just not the same anymore.

Front engine gasket, and oil pan gasket leak oil +-1 qt per 3000 miles.

Front and rear main seals on the transmission have been replaced.

Premium spoked wheel covers have a reflective cadillac emblem in the center... over time these get loose... it took me months before I realized what was making that rattling noise coming from the wheels.

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable car.

The 4.5 litre V8 was the first decent engine Cadillac had made since the 70's. It was the precursor to the Northstar engine... which is even better. Even with 125000 miles it still has a lot of power.

Although it is not the epitome of Cadillac style... The body shape of this car marks the beginning of the end of all the junk they made during the 80's.

The leather seats have held up remarkably well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th December, 2002

12th Mar 2003, 13:57

I have a 1994 Cadillac Eldorado with the Northstar engine. I bought it used and it now registers 117 thousand miles. I have developed an oil leak. The dealer told me it was a rear seal and quoted a price which was very high. As the vehicle was out of warranty, I had an auto service center, run by a friend, attempt to do the work. It required that the transmission and engine be pulled. As it turns out, it was the oil pan leaking and, a new gasket was installed, the proper torque was put on the bolts, and there was no stripping of threads. However, after reinstalling the pan with new gaskets (he also put in a rear seal anyway), it still leaked. The dealer says Cadillac had an oil pan leak problem with these engines.

15th Jul 2008, 13:33

1994 Cadillac Eldorado - Oil Pan Leak.

I purchased this car with 107,000 miles. The rear seal had leaked, but had been repaired. Now the oil pan leaks. It would require pulling engine / tranny to fix for 1/4 the cost I paid for the car!

Nice car, but, from what I can tell, this wasn't a very good job of engineering.