1993 Cadillac Deville 4.9 V8 from North America

Summary:

All in all this is a kick a$$ car!!!

Faults:

My power steering pump just began to leak.

ABS Light never shuts off.

General Comments:

I just bought a 1993 Cadillac Sedan De Ville. It's white with blue leather interior. I'm 16 and this is my first car. I have always dreamed of driving a caddy. They have and awesome ride, great power, and great reliability. There are two minor problems that really bother me. One is this dang ABS light. I had a brake shop look it over and do a diagnostics test on it and they said my breaks were new and they couldn't find a problem. The second one is the wind noise you get in the driver and passenger side doors up front. When I hit interstate speed of 65-70 miles per hour It's pretty loud. Can any one help me with these problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2006

18th Jan 2006, 21:36

Try the weather stripping around the doors.

20th Jan 2006, 16:01

The place that I bought it from just re-did the weather stripping, but I heard that the door shade things you can put on the edge of the windows might help.

15th Feb 2006, 21:23

Hi I am also 16 and my ABS light won't go off either. The Cadillac dealership told me to buy a new master head cylinder and switch.

1993 Cadillac Deville sedan deville from North America

Summary:

The best man-made object ever

Faults:

Nothing has went wrong with my car it's a very reliable car and I love it.

General Comments:

This car is a cruiser and it get wonderful gas mileage and it's a beast on the interstate. The interior will put you to sleep cause it's so comfortable. Just gotta love cadillac's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2005

21st Dec 2005, 20:14

The 4.9 is a wonderful motor, just make sure you flush the coolant yearly and put in the GM coolant supplement pellets. If you don't do this, the car will leak coolant through the block! My '92 Sedan deVille has this problem because the previous owners neglected it.

www.Cadillacforums.com is a great Cadillac Owners site!

21st Dec 2005, 20:20

Well, the review is devoid of anything resembling useful information, but the title? It boggles (yes, boggles) the mind to think that the pinnacle of man's achievements in the field of manmade objects including all works of art, all buildings and all vehicles including spacecraft... is a run of the mill GM sedan that is no longer even being made.

31st Mar 2006, 19:49

I don't agree with this heinous comment: the 1993 Cadillac Sedan Deville is the best man-made object ever. I wish they would still make Cadillacs the same way as a 1993--long tail lights and a luxurious beast. Unfortunately they are making them smaller and the trademark tail lights are now like any other cars, but they are still Cadillacs and Cadillacs will live on they ain't no stoppin' them.

10th Jun 2006, 03:23

The caddies are nice, but the best man-made (automotive) object ever is a 1984 Olds 98 Regency Brougham with the 1983's bumper assembly.

10th Sep 2006, 23:49

I think the best man-made (automotive) object ever is probably more like a Bentley Continental or a Maserati Quattroporte... But the Cadillac in question is surely one of the best _American-made mass-market_ cars ever (along with its Roadmaster and Caprice cousins).

1993 Cadillac Deville Sedan 4.9L from North America

Summary:

A comfortable smooth ride with performance

Faults:

Nothing yet. But Does feel a little rough when braking.

General Comments:

Great Power, this car will get up and move.

Seats are extremely comfortable and soft the leather is supurb.

Love the ride of this car;quiet, smooth feels like you are floating.

Just bought this car use mid-grade gas and runs great no knock. Will add another review later to comment on reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2005

1993 Cadillac Deville 4.9 from North America

Summary:

Amazing comfortable performance

Faults:

It needed a new EGR valve at 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is unbelievably fast. aside from the performance the best thing about the car is how smooth the ride is. you don't feel the slightest bump while driving.

There are only two downsides to this car. first of all it needs at least mid grade gas. secondly parts can be expensive, but it is reliable so this isn't that much of a factor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2005

2nd Jul 2005, 19:05

Well actually the 4.9 engine makes 275bhp and the north star makes 295, so really those engines are fairly close when it comes to power. They also share the same engine block. So the writer can't be too far off.

26th Jul 2005, 21:58

I own the 1993 De Ville, and find it to be a powerful performer. Bear in mind that this isn't a sports car, but for swift take-offs, passing, and making haste on steep grades, the powerful 4.9 can't be beat. I've really enjoyed this car, and at 172,000 miles, have made no major repairs. I find it to be very reliable, extremely comfortable, and good looking. Gas mileage does leave a little to be desired, but hey, it is a Cadillac!

1st Aug 2005, 16:24

The 4.9L makes 200hp and 275 lb-ft of torque. the 4.6L makes 275hp-320hp depending on year, and 295lb-ft - 315lb-ft depending on year. The 4.9L is not a Northstar motor as it is a pushrod motor not an overhead cam motor like all Northstar engines. Hope this clears things up.

21st Jan 2007, 17:50

I wish they still built the 4.9. It is a larger motor than the Northstar and there is no comparison in the amount of off-idle torque available from this 2 valve motor. This was evidenced one evening when I stomped the gas pedal to blast through a hole in traffic. Copious... No make that straight to ridiculous amounts of tire smoke were created as the mighty Cadillac broiled through L1, L2 and Drive. My wife didn't speak to me all night. Now when she rides with me she prefers to curl up in a fetal position in the floorboard.

6th May 2007, 07:15

Not only that, but the 4.9 was far more reliable and durable than the 'Northstar'. Pushrod motors are invariably better than those with overhead cams and other excessively complex 'innovation'.