1993 Cadillac Deville 4.9 gas from North America

Summary:

Cost to much to repair. Water pump replacement cost $600

Faults:

Water pump at 102,000.

General Comments:

Great car, but expensive to repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2005

10th Apr 2008, 14:18

My 1993 sedan de ville is a gem. I bought it 7 years ago with 40,000 K onit. I now have 123,000 K on it and it cost me only for gas, oil, and a set of tires. The car is mint and I expect it to be around for many years yet. It goes like the wind and rides like silk.

12th Aug 2010, 00:53

The only comment I have is 600$ for a water pump? I had one replaced in mine and it cost me roughly 375$. They are a little pricey I will say though, many of the repairs I've noticed are running about 10-25% more than my previous non Cadillac cars, but said repairs are far less frequent, it actually works out to be cost beneficial in the end.

6th Dec 2010, 22:11

$600?? I had the water pump replaced on my 92 Sedan Deville; $50 for the part and $150 for labor. $200 altogether. I have looked up other parts, such as brakes, suspension and others, and have found very good deals.

1993 Cadillac Deville 4.9L V8 from North America

Summary:

I would definitely buy another one.

Faults:

My water pump went out recently, and has already been replaced by the previous owner. $370.00.

Auto trunk pull-down, climate control module, and Anti-lock brakes were inoperable when I purchased the car.

Paint is cracking and peeling abnormally, $700.00 repair, at very best.

General Comments:

Aside from these irritating problems, I absolutely love this car.

Engine/Transmission are impeccably smooth, quiet, and responsive.

Comfort and roominess are wonderful, it could use a set of shocks, though, estimated at an economical $220.00.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2004

1993 Cadillac Deville 4.9 V8 from North America

Summary:

An expensive boat

Faults:

The reliability of my Cadillac has been in decline this year.

The water pump failed at 155,000 miles.

The plugs fouled a few weeks later.

The oxygen sensor went bad a month after that.

While embarking on a weekend camping trip, the battery failed at a gas station.

The trunk lid will not go all the way down now. It looks silly (I've seen other models like this with the trunk half closed like mine).

The "Sport Saftey Suspension" has been disconected due to leaks, so the cars sits towards the rear. Sounds like an expensive fix.

My mechanic also says my car needs a new catalytic converter and new motor mounts.

General Comments:

The car rides smoothly, but dosen't handle well, and gets poor fuel economy (16.0 mpg total).

My wife is sick of this car, so we are saving money to get another one, probably a used Maxima.

I must praise the reliable engine and transmission in this car, however.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th September, 2004

1993 Cadillac Deville 4.9 from North America

Summary:

Very comfortable to drive, great on highway trips

Faults:

Water pump has been replaced 4 times at various mileages.

Speed sensitive suspension inoperative due to high replacement cost of rear struts-$700 each - installed.

Lock-up torque converter has intermittent problem at low speed-feels like engine is misfiring on one cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th April, 2004

15th Jun 2005, 16:04

June 15/05.

This car now has 228,700 KM on it and it is still running good. It developed a crack in the left front fender, starting at the top and has worked down about 5 inches so far. Eventually it will have to be replaced. Burns about 1 qt. of oil between changes, mileage in town 19.8 mpg.

21st Dec 2005, 16:26

I love my 93 deville she's taking me from Colorado to Louisiana twice with no problems and that's doing 75-80 mph. I think it's the operator and not the cars, cause mine has over 130,000 miles and she runs with the best of them. The only thing that I had to replace on it is new tires and that's it.

1993 Cadillac Deville Sedan 4.9 from North America

Summary:

93, a bad year?

Faults:

At 25,000 miles, transmission needed an overhaul.

New Front Struts at 30,000 miles.

Water pump at 50,000 miles.

Rear tires ruined with 15,000 miles due to alignment problem.

Heater inoperative at present.

Trunk pull down inoperative.

Right rocker panel peeling paint like a strip of duct tape.

Left rocker panel cracked. (fiberglass)

General Comments:

I bought this car as a Cadillac Certified Car when it was 2 years old. A beautiful car, aside from the numerous nicks and dings, which were not noticed until I bought it.

I have put 37,000 gently driven miles on this car since I got it. I will say that the car performs wonderfully, but I feel that the too numerous to mention repairs and flaws have detracted from the pride of ownership.

All in all, I feel that my car was poorly taken care of by its former owner, and the selling dealer made me feel that Cadillac Certified really means nothing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th March, 2004

4th Jun 2005, 10:34

Addendum to my survey:

Since my survey I have had the water pump replaced for the second time and the rear struts replaced. ABS has malfunctioned, I just pulled the fuse disabling it. Paint is peeling, I just sprayed paint from a touch up can (fortunately, cotillion white blends nice), and the service AC light has been going on once in a while.

Call me stupid, but I just traded it on a 2002 Deville, Certified, of course, from a different dealer. Will give full survey when appropriate.

I hope that the old adage is not true, " A fool and his money are soon parted."

DPC.

9th Oct 2007, 08:17

I bought the same one about 7 years ago from a car dealer & it was a trade in from an older couple. I basically didn't drive the car much the first 4 years, but in the last 3 years I have replaced: water pump, ac, brake solenoid switch 4 times, transmission pan, spark plugs, and soon the gas shocks. But the car is a 1993 so all of that is expected. This car drives like a dream, like a cloud, awesome power to pass and take on anyone, I love it, can't do without it. I looked at new cars which I hate and I just can't give up my Cadillac. I've been in Mercedes, Jaguars, BMW, nothing like a Caddy.