1993 Cadillac DeVille Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1993 Cadillac DeVille from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance99995 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

An outstanding car with a lot of class, style and performance

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I love the car. An extremely smooth ride and a pleasure to drive.

I drive about 500 miles a week and have never had any problems with the car at all.

My family and I took a trip to South Carolina last summer and the kids were comfortable and had plenty of room to sleep and stretch.

I love the car so much that I have parked it for the last year so I could save it for trips and special occasions.

I just hope that letting it sit won't damage anything internally.

Although, I try to start it and let it run for a few minutes every week or so.

My gas mileage was a lot better than the pick up I drove back and forth to work.

If the digital miles per gallon is correct, I averaged about 30 to 32 miles per gallon on the highway.

If I didn't have a kid in college and another one graduating soon, I'd trade this one in for a newer model.

My Dad had a 92 De Ville, and traded up to a 98 De Ville Elegance.

He loves and cherishes it.

As a matter of fact, he and my mom are leaving for Florida tomorrow and he can't wait to get it on the open road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2003

31st Jul 2006, 01:52

I don`t recommend that you let the car sit, because it leaves your tires in serious danger of dry rotting, and later blowing out on the highway. I just had that happen to my 93 Deville, and not only did I have to have all four tires replaced, I also am having to have a section of exterior trim paneling replaced that was torn off by my blown tire. Other than that, you should be fine! I just don`t want you digging a $500 dollar hole in your pocket the way I did!

20th Nov 2010, 11:28

I love my pearl white 1993 Cadillac Deville. The only complaint I have is there is a tapping or knocking sound at times. I wonder if it is timing. I have thought that. And sometimes an oil change with 10-30 high mileage oil seems to help.

Any comments on the above?

1993 Cadillac DeVille from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Like driving in your living room

Faults:

Water pump replaced three times probably from improper installation the first time.

Air conditioner worked on twice (expensive)

General Comments:

Great Cadillac big car ride.

Front wheel drive is a plus for Michigan weather.

Huge trunk.

Love the digital readout for speed, gas, etc.

Plenty of power in 4.9l V8.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2002

26th Oct 2006, 23:08

It`s actually a 4.9-liter eight cylinder, sir/ma`am.

1993 Cadillac DeVille Sedan 4.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.9 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice Classic

Summary:

Sharp looking, powerful and luxurious

General Comments:

Excellent Sunday car and great on long trips. Very comfortable seats and lots of interior space. Speed sensitive suspension allows for a smooth ride, better road handling at highway speeds and provides a floating on air feel at slow speeds.

Doesn't look like a V-8 under the hood, but give it some gas, feel the power and you will attract attention.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2001

17th Apr 2001, 13:10

I have a 1993 Sedan Deville and it has a little vibration in the tires.

I love that car. It has the 4.9 engine. That motor rocks. I have 128524 miles on it. I know a guy who has 206,000 on his and his motor sounds like a brand new car.

Get a car and they are affordable also. I bought mine for $4800.00 which was a blessing to me. It had a 117,000 miles on it when I bought it.

Great Car

Tevis wwayne22@hotmail.com

22nd Sep 2003, 21:01

I have a 93 De ville and I love it, I recently noticed it was using coolant and thought it was a head gasket. When we started to tear it down we noticed that one of the long head bolt studs had snapped in two. It wasn't a problem getting it out and its back together again. I was wondering if anyone else had this problem? Like I said we love it. James.

11th Jul 2004, 20:46

I have a 93 w/4.9, It was starting to get poorer and poorer gas mileage. code said Oxygen sensor was bad. went to auto zone, they said it calls for two oxygen sensors. I looked for an hour, but only found one at the rear on the exhaust manifold. how many is it supposed to have?

5th Jan 2012, 21:20

Hello. It in fact has just one O2 sensor.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 20 reviews