2010 Chevrolet Aveo Sedan 2LT from North America - Comments

27th May 2010, 12:17

It's not really a Chevy if it has a timing belt, sorry.

28th May 2010, 14:03

I drove both the Cobalt and the Aveo before buying a Ford, and I have to say that in all honesty the Aveo impressed me as smoother, more agile and just as fast as the Cobalt. I think it's basically just a matter of preference. If taken care of, the Aveo is a very solid and reliable car.

29th May 2010, 13:56

As long as you change the timing belt sometime before 40,000 miles (most Aveo's snap them around then) then the Aveo should be a fine car. However, it's ridiculous that you should have to change it that soon.

24th Jun 2010, 19:11

I am the person who wrote this review, and yes I have to admit you got the better deal. I admit that, but I like small cars, and I would never buy an Impala in a million years. That V6 gets horrible fuel economy on the LTZ model, and the V6 on the LS and LT isn't much better either. I do a lot of commuting, and fuel economy is on the top of the list for me.

2nd Aug 2010, 10:17

You people harping on the timing belt issue need to get your facts straight. The timing belt issue was resolved in 2009 with the new 1.6 EcoTec used in the Aveo. This belt has a 100,000 miles service interval just like any other 4 cylinder, and to top it off the water pump has been moved out to the side of the engine and driven by the accessory serpentine belt so should it ever fail, it won't trash the timing belt like most Japanese 4 cylinder engines.

I've serviced cars for years, and in my opinion the 1.6 EcoTec is a smooth, quiet, and durable little engine and is light-years ahead of the older GMDAT motor in the 2008 and older Aveos.

5th Aug 2010, 21:36

My 2005 Toyota Echo, which is a Japanese 4 cylinder, is far superior to anything GMDAT ever produced. I don't believe there is any history of water pump failures.

6th Aug 2010, 23:20

Well I guess my Japanese 4-cylinder engine isn't most Japanese 4-cylinder engines, because my water pump is on the outside of the engine, driven by the accessory belt! My engine isn't even an interference design!

7th Aug 2010, 18:25

No, just stuck accelerators, defective brakes, defective suspension, defective steering and three Federal Grand Jury subpoenas in the last 12 months for building defective cars going back TWO DECADES. It's no wonder Toyota has dropped to 21st place (out of 33 car makers) in J. D. Powers Initial Quality Survey.

21st Aug 2010, 18:24

You are completely misinformed and wrong about the Toyota Echo. I was commenting on my car and the Toyota Echo lineup, not all Toyota models. The Echo has had no stuck accelerator, steering, or any of the other problems you have listed. It's known for reliability, and has had no recalls, or safety issues in its five year run. The Toyota Yaris has had no safety issues either. It's also know for reliability. Consumer Reports specifically states this fact about the Yaris. Furthermore, the Toyota Corolla is the number one selling car of all time. It is seriously doubtful that all Corollas sold dating back twenty years are defective, unsafe, and subject to recall. There would have been more accidents, complaints and lawsuits.

22nd Aug 2010, 12:01

"You are completely misinformed and wrong about the Toyota Echo."

As a general rule, when defective MATERIALS are used in a car (such as the sub-standard steel used in the Toyota steering rods on '91 and later models) they are used in ALL that company's vehicles. This would indicate that in all probability the same substandard steel is used in ALL Toyotas. Why would a manufacturer not use the same steel in ALL its vehicles? I suspect that before all is said and done, these defects will be found to be present in all Toyota lines. After a few more fatal crashes, there will, no doubt, be more investigations involving other Toyota lines.

22nd Aug 2010, 12:23

I agree completely. My Toyota Corolla is 14 years old and has 183,000 miles on it, and it hasn't ANY serious problems. I can't find any kind of recall for it anywhere.

23rd Aug 2010, 22:45

The steering rod issue seems to be ongoing, but it seems that most of the cars affected were trucks. The Echo was not identified as problematic. There is no definitive solid proof that all Toyotas use defective steel in their steering rods. There are also articles that suggest many accidents blamed on Toyota's vehicles were actually caused by driver errors.

24th Aug 2010, 03:04

$17,785 for an Aveo. That's a travesty.

24th Aug 2010, 10:14

I rented a brand-new Aveo 2 weeks ago for 5 days. The car had exactly 5 miles on the odometer when we picked it up. In short, it had to be the worst car I've driven, and perhaps the worst built one as well. I am not kidding when I say that the car was already falling apart within 10 miles. The door reflector fell off in the hotel parking lot 6 miles into the trip. 3 days later, the serpentine belt was squealing like mad whenever the car was started.

But additionally, the engine in this thing is absolutely anemic. It has ZERO acceleration. I've only ever driven small little 4 cylinder cars, and none had as much problem getting up to speed on the freeway. The build quality in my opinion was way below average. I'd give the car maybe 60,000 miles before the thing is junk. At its price you could get a "real" car like a Civic, Focus, or even the upcoming Cruze.

24th Aug 2010, 18:19

"I'd give the car maybe 60,000 miles before the thing is junk."

40,000 miles is when the timing belt breaks on most Aveos...

25th Aug 2010, 11:52

Steering rods breaking is "DRIVER ERROR??"

25th Aug 2010, 17:50

I didn't write that comment clearly enough. I meant to refer to the sudden acceleration issue. I found many articles that claimed it was, in fact, driver error that caused many accidents. People are eager to sue, and lawyers can smell cash settlements like sharks smell blood. Although Toyota seriously dropped the ball on safety recently, I don't believe every accident involving a Toyota is caused by a vehicle defect. I would still keep my Toyota Echo, even if someone offered me a new Aveo.

26th Aug 2010, 19:32

"I found many articles that claimed it was, in fact, driver error that caused many accidents. People are eager to sue, and lawyers can smell cash settlements like sharks smell blood."

This is true. It is also true that billionaire companies like Toyota can hire high-paid "experts" to come up with any conclusion the company wants. Do you honestly think anyone is so lacking in knowledge of driving as to drive for OVER A MILE with the accelerator floored and NOT KNOW IT? Especially when that person is a HIGHWAY PATROLMAN??

26th Aug 2010, 21:19

I'm more than willing to bet most of the "unintended acceleration" issues were driver error. Or just the driver doing it on purpose! Am I the only one who remembers the man who purposely floored his Prius and tied up law enforcement for miles just trying to get money out of Toyota?

28th Aug 2010, 23:33

What I honestly think is exactly what I wrote. I found articles that state many accidents blamed on Toyota defects were caused by driver error. Google the subject and you'll find many articles that support this claim. One of the first articles I found claims the U.S. Department of Transportation came to this conclusion. There's even a line that says, 'someone owes Toyota an apology.'