1988 Chevrolet Beretta GT 2.8 V6 from North America


After 100,000 miles, stay away!


The Fuel Pump blew at 130,000 miles; it is an electric type, so it is hard to get to and costs more to fix than a mechanical one.

The interior is falling apart; door handles are falling off, and the headliner is coming undone.

My heater core went out at 138,000 miles, and since then my engine has been running a little hot, just a little over the halfway mark.

General Comments:

For a low-rated V6, the pickup is quite nice, and fuel economy isn't very bad either.

The bucket seats are very comfy; they hold your butt in place well at higher speeds, and interior controls are easily accesible.

Although problems are developing, do note that it is a fairly high-mileage car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd June, 2001

1st Jul 2007, 15:12

I have a 1988 beretta GT with 236+ miles on it an it runs fine, yes the interior is falling apart. my head liner is in great shape all I need is a new dash.

1988 Chevrolet Beretta 2.8 liter V-6 from North America


This car kicks ass


The only problem I had with it was that the transmission slipped when I would go around corners. Came to find out, the previous owner hadn't checked the transmission fluid, so we put new fluid in it and now it runs fine.

General Comments:

I like this car, it also looks really cool now that it has been lowered and has had 'ground effects' put on it.

This car has plenty of power, but I would like to put one of those quad-fours in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2001

24th Jul 2001, 20:32

I have an 1989 Beretta GT with a V6 and I'm perfectly happy? Lol why would you want to downgrade to a 4-cyl?

31st Jul 2001, 18:31

Man don't do it! The quad four bomb isn't worth taking out the tank 2.8 or 3.1 for that matter! Grasp your sanity!!! :)

18th Oct 2001, 08:17

Why would you want a quad 4, mine has a 2.8 and it cranks.

30th Nov 2001, 20:20

Quad 4!!! Ya, that's smart... Let the timing belt break in that one, if you want to put about $1800 into it, go for it. I'll stick with my 2.8 V6.

1988 Chevrolet Beretta GT Z26 2.8 from North America


A sad embarrassment to this country


The car ate alternators, batteries, front brakes/rotors.

The A/C failed twice.

The speakers buzzed after 2 years on the "top of the line" Delco EW cassette.

Went through 4 sets of Eagle GT+4 Goodyears in 75,000 miles.

Paint flaked off at 3 years old; got Chevy to repaint it for nothing.

The interior started falling apart after 5 years.

The exhaust rusted out at 50,000 miles (no snow here).

The transmission leaked at 70,000 miles, along with the rack & pinion and engine. Finally died when a main seal blew on the I-10.

General Comments:

The LAST Chevrolet I ever bought. It was my wife's car, and she was not hard on it. Turned out to be a money pit. My father had good luck with several Impala/Caprices, but the Beretta was garbage.

I had better service from my Renault Alliance, which everyone said was a piece of crap. Heartbeat of America? If so I'm goin' to Vancouver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2001

30th Jun 2001, 17:16

Well there is no such car as a gt z26...also my paint came off early too, that sucked, however, my beretta went over 200k miles and I barely put a dime in it.

31st Aug 2001, 05:04

Just curious? What was the cost of the Beretta back in 1988? I owned an '88 for over three years and I paid $2000. for it. It is just a regular 4 cylinder automatic with no options. My email address is moultonsasha@hotmail.com. I would love to know what they were worth in their day!

1988 Chevrolet Beretta Base 2.8 liter(173 ci) mfi from North America


This is a very good first car


The clutch blew up.

The water pump went out.

The alternator locked up.

The clutch was my fault though.

General Comments:

Interior and trunk rattle when I turn on my subs, but this car is pretty damn fast for a wimpy V6 and can beat a 305 powered 1986 K1500 in a drag race.

The interior is roomy for two, but cramped for the back seat if the driver is taller than 5' 3" (I'm 6' 1").

Overall it is a fun car and will go well over 110mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2001

31st Aug 2001, 05:07

I agree with you about the stereo sounding bad when it is on. I had a 15" sub in the trunk and it made the whole car (not just the trunk) rattle. Overall I loved the look of the Beretta and would definitely buy one again any day!

18th Oct 2001, 08:23

My trunk rattles too, but Beretta's are phat and I would buy another one.