1989 Chevrolet Beretta Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1989 Chevrolet Beretta 2.8 V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired125658 miles
Most recent distance150055 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Excellent vehicle

Faults:

My heater core went out at about 145,000 miles.

My alternator went out at 149,000 miles.

The headliner is beginning to fall down.

The door panels are warping.

Most of this is general maintenance in my eyes. I really don't have any major complaints.

General Comments:

This car handles and drives VERY well.

It's not all too bad on gas mileage.

This is a very quick little car and I would not trade it for any other car in the world.

The motor and transmission are very strong, and have not given any signs of trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2001

1989 Chevrolet Beretta GT 2.8 MFI from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 MFI Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance218000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

A lot of torque, reliable, and fun car to learn on and drive

Faults:

When I first got the car the center spark plug in the rear bank was cross-threaded and blew out, Ouch.

The drivers seat is broken in two ways making drives over 2.5 hours. challenging on the back.

The ignition was "sticky" one winter but replacing it and when the warmer weather came around all was well.

After 200K miles the driver's door decided to become well stubborn.

General Comments:

The clutch is a challenge which I love being practically the only one who can drive it. Also the clutch grabs hard and quick so racing requires little effort, not that it is raced often.

The lower gears provide the torque needed to start and the 2.8L finishes the story.

Everyone whom I tell about loving a Beretta with over 200 thousand stands in disbelief but it out lasted my last two Toyotas so I am complimenting it all the way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th June, 2001

1989 Chevrolet Beretta MFI Coupe 2.8 L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance234500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

This was the best purchase that I have ever made and would absolutely buy another one!

Faults:

Replaced the catalytic converter at 27,000 miles.

Replaced a water pump at 100,000 miles.

Replaced a heater core at 150,000 miles.

Replaced a torque converter at 125,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has been very reliable for 12 years.

Other than four problems that were spaced out quite far, all other problems have been from my own stupidity.

The headliner came down and the door panels are warped, but getting 235,000 miles from a car with little mechanical maintenance is a little more important.

There have been absolutely no problems with the engine or transmission up to this point.

Other than basic maintenance, I have gotten more than my money's worth from the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

1989 Chevrolet Beretta GT from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired144598 miles
Most recent distance144756 miles

Summary:

A medium performance bargain

Faults:

The interior is falling apart. The doors seem like they are about to come apart. The rear shocks have rusted so bad that the rod covers are rotted out. They have to be replaced.

General Comments:

Great pickup. Nice factory stereo system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2000

29th Nov 2000, 11:10

I am a proud Chevrolet Beretta owner, she's a 1989, and has 151,000 miles as of today. These cars are truly remarkable but MUST BE WELL MAINTAINED for extended life and performance.

I just can't get over the fact that Chevy actually had the nerve to cancel the car. I mean let's think about it, it's the baby brother of the Corvette and Camaro. So it's not only the Corvette v/s Mustang or Camaro v/s Mustang, but I've seen the Beretta not only step up and rise to the occasion, but prove its worth to earn that bowtie on it.

The main problems I see are the door panels, they seem to plague almost every Beretta owner alive. That's really it.

They're great on gas.

I have the 2.0 4 cyl. and I'm gonna get the 2.8 V6. My only problem is that she looks good but doesn't have the muscle to go with it.

Honestly, though, I would strongly recommend the Beretta to anyone who is willing to take care of it. If you are looking for a car to neglect; well I can't help you.

I would love to see this car return to Chevy's line up. However, when the Malibu made its long awaited return; many were disappointed; now I'm no Malibu fan, but I agree with them 100%. For those who don't know the Malibu was a muscle car in the 70's and returned as family cars with no connection to the past whatsoever. That's what makes a Beretta's return kinda frightening.

1989 Chevrolet Beretta MFI 2.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles

Faults:

Other that normal wear and tear, nothing major has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

I like my Beretta. I bought it at an auto auction with about 120000 miles on it and drove it for 3 years. I changed the brakes, alternator, battery, tires and the oil within the 3 years. I'm still using the car without any major problems. The 3+ years that I have had this car have been fortunate enough to be spared the agony of visiting auto shops. I have my Beretta to thank for that!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2000

1989 Chevrolet Beretta GT V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Faults:

Since it is an 11 year old car we've had to replace the fuel pump, starter and the a/c is broken.

We have never been able to figure out this one - if you are driving on the highway at a high speed for a long period of time and then need to stop (for a toll for example) the car shuts off. It turns right back on but we were never able to find the cause.

General Comments:

This car has been very reliable. I love the pick up, it's great getting on to a parkway. My biggest complaint is the way the paint has chipped and the interior seems to be falling apart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th April, 2000

29th Nov 2000, 11:21

I am writing in response to the owner who says something about after driving at highway speeds the car will just shut off then start back up. Well there is no need to really worry because it could be (usually) one of two things, the computer is faulty or (for some odd reason) the idle isn't really what it should be. Like I said, no need to worry.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 22 reviews