1999 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews - Page 10 of 22

1999 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 Vortec from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired99544 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carMazda MX3

Summary:

I love my Blazer, it's hot!!!

Faults:

I've only owned the Blazer for about 5 months now, but so far have had no problems (knock on wood). My boyfriend tells me that I will be needing a front ball joint soon though.

My one and only complaint is the squeaky rear window!!! : (I've tried everything to fix it, but have not been successful... anybody have any ideas?)

General Comments:

I like my Blazer because it is a very versatile unit. It's good on the beach in the sand, in the snow, and in the rain. It is very durable and reliable.

It is pretty hard on gas though, so if you want something that you don't have to spend much on gas per week, than a Blazer probably isn't the best choice.

When I was thinking about getting a new car/truck, I really wanted a truck, but decided on the Blazer because it has the same attributes as a truck (4 X 4, tough, bad ass ha ha), but it was also more of a passenger vehicle that I could jam my friends in and go on a road trip if I wanted to. Ha ha.

So I would recommend a Blazer to anyone that wants the power and durability of a truck, but wants the space of a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2006

8th Jan 2008, 12:44

You might want to try replacing the motor.

1999 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 HO from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.3 HO Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired39 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Thank God that thay stopped making it,

Faults:

My front end went out, gas pump went, starter, drivers side seat broke many times, hard starting when it was to cold out, too much to list...

General Comments:

This is one car I'm sorry I ever got it.

It cost more to fix then I paid for it new.

When it ran, yes it was a nice car, fast, that is when it ran.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2006

1999 Chevrolet Blazer lt 4.3 V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

This Chevy is a money pit

Faults:

I own a 1999 Chevy Blazer and have spent over 8,000 dollars fixing all of the faults.

As soon as I received the vehicle, the fuel gauge decided that anything below full was not an option.

Later at about 90,000 miles, the vehicle overheated. it over heated 6 times before the engine gave way and started to knock.

Replaced engine at 93,000 miles.

Replaced transmission at 94,000 miles.

Replaced ball joints, idler arm, pitman arm, tie rod ends. center link.

Replaced differential, including ring and pinion, spider gears, carrier, and axles.

Replaced radiator, transmission cooler blew causing trans fluid to circulate throughout my engine.

Replaced heater core.

Replaced transfer case and vacuum lock.

General Comments:

The interior is luxurious and supple for a small American SUV.

The ride is truck like and easy to maneuver.

Gauges are accurate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2006

1999 Chevrolet Blazer LS V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carToyota Paseo

Summary:

Not so good

Faults:

Where to start? Wheel bearings, new water pump, a/c out, many brake jobs, several alignments, broken gas gauge, CD player stopped working.

I have 133000 miles, changed the oil regularly on my truck and it hasn't left me stranded...yet.

With so many of the same things going out on the truck Chevrolet should have fixed these items or issued a recall.

General Comments:

On the bright side: the interior of the blazer is comfortable and the paint still looks good.

I would have expected a $26000 car to last much longer and have a lot less problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th June, 2006

28th Jun 2006, 10:05

You are complaining even though your car hasn't left you stranded in 130,000 miles?

29th Jun 2006, 12:56

I have a 1999 ls blazer as well, and it has 240,000 miles on it! and it hasn't left me stranded yet, except with flats which will come with every car... I'm just now replacing the wheel bearing and hub assembly for the first time... I don't understand why people are having so many problems...

22nd Sep 2006, 09:20

Consider yourself lucky. I have 113,000 miles on mine and have been stranded numerous times.

1999 Chevrolet Blazer LT 4X4 4.3L Vortec V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.3L Vortec V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles

Summary:

A few problems alll worth while

Faults:

Rear end assembly tore itself apart at about 50k miles.

Fuel injectors went bad shortly after.

Electric 4x4 broke at about 60k miles.

General Comments:

My Blazer was bought used in MINT condition. I bought it late 2004 September I believe with 32k miles, give or take 100.

I drive very often, sometimes 200 miles a day. This is the reason for doubling the miles and then some, and I must say I had my fair share of problems. I must honestly admit I love it regardless.

I mean my alternator broke, then my rear end took a beating, which it was a little pricey to fix a used rear end around here; apparently retails for about 1200, so I had my mechanic save what he could, and order the rest new; cost about 600.

Then my injectors went, which wasn't really a big deal. The car still ran, mileage was crappy, but it ran.

Fixed that, and then my 4x4 went, which was weird. I haven't tossed it in 4 wheel drive in a while, so I decided I should, and then it got stuck in no wheel drive. I had to rock the car to get it to go into gear. Still have yet to fix that, but it still runs 2x4 only, but it still runs great.

I mean aside from these things, the car is great. I mean it runs nice, great driving and handling, very comfy feel about it. If you can handle a few bumps along the road, I'd say go for it, because the fun I have in my Blazer is priceless. I have no problem driving 7 hours straight, it's the best.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2006

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 80 reviews