2000 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3L from North America


I like the truck, it is peppy and very useful.


My fuel gauge too started messing up and not going to empty when low on fuel. I just fill up at 300 miles for every full tank. I average 21 mpg. The fuel pump and sending unit are one unit and the rheostat is built into the side of the assenbly. I found one on ebay for $139 and is much cheaper than the dealer. 4 door pumps cost a little bit more for some reason. Planning on installing it before next fill up. White 2000 blazer 2 door 2wd. 76000 miles. Might trade for a new Mustang!

General Comments:

The ride is O.K.

Paint is fine.

Interior is comfortable.

I like the SCV (speed controlled volume) on the radio.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2006

2000 Chevrolet Blazer LS 2 door 4.3 litre from North America


Replaced ball joints three times. Replaced rear diff at 65,000 miles. Fuel pump at 103,000. Oil cooler lines at 104,000. I also had a problem with my engine light. Secondary air injection system malfunction. It turns out that I needed to replace two check valves that had stopped working.

General Comments:

I have had the car for four years and it has been pretty good, judging that I regularly service it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th March, 2006

20th Mar 2006, 13:48

That doesn't sound normal to me.

2000 Chevrolet Blazer ZR-2 V6 from North America


I'll never buy Chevrolet again, going back to Jeep


I am meticulous about maintenance:

Mobil 1 Synthetic every 3K

All fluids flushed every spring&winter

In additional to routine maintenance.

*While under 100K extended warranty

Fuel Pump?Somewhere between 50K-75K?

(1st time I would ever say an extended warranty paid off)

*Items Not Covered Under Warranty

Both front seat recliners 2X (common issue-I agree with "who hasn't had this problem") and rear spare mount issues.

At 115K (out of warranty-$2,700 Later)

Upper/Lower ball joints (common issue)

Oil Coolant lines (common issue)

Transfer Case Seal

Power Steering Seal

Cracked Radiator (uncommon/plastic)

General Comments:

My biggest complaints:

Fuel Economy did not match sticker

Average 14.5 MPG (I do a lot of hwy driving)

Snow Handling (due to large tires)

Why did I buy it? $30K tax, title, licence, down the road with 0% interest 60 months.

Would I buy it again? NO, I wished I'd spent the extra $5K on a Jeep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st February, 2006

23rd Feb 2006, 14:16

I agree - I have a 2003 zr2 Blazer -- since owning it, I've had it in the shop 32 times -- this doesn't include oil changes. The truck is horrible. The electrical, ball joints, power mirrors, trim, power sunroof have all gone on the blink... the stereo has had to be replaced twice, the battery once. This truck is garbage... if you're thinking about buying one, don't. By a Honda or Nissan -- something that will actually work well. I can't wait until my lease comes due... I will then buy Honda/Nissan truck that I am confident will last more than five years. I have no confidence in any GM product after this.

13th May 2010, 11:33

Heh going back to Jeep... If you read Consumer Reports, you sure would not be saying that...

14th May 2010, 23:06

In this case, we have somebody jumping out of the fire and into the frying pan. I know, I said that wrong, I meant to. They're both junk, but I'd take ANY Jeep over ANY GM product.

2000 Chevrolet Blazer from North America


Great new, but falls apart quickly with age


Truck was great until warranty expired.

5 month after warranty expired, at 60000 Miles Ball Joints went out, this was a. few hundred dollars to replace.

6 Months after warranty Expired, at 61000 miles Front Wheel Bearings went out. $600 a side to replace.

7 Months after warranty expired at 62500 miles rear end blew up, had to replace $2200 to replace the rear end.

10 months after warranty expired, fuel pump blew up, I had been waiting for this as around 60000 miles fuel sending unit quit working I had no gas gauge $300 to fix. Waited till it went out as I was going broke repairing it.

Other things wrong I cannot afford to fix at the moment and I am current at 60000 miles. Oil Coolant lines leaking, Drivers Door sags, leaking around transfer case, rear wiper does not work. Well today the alternator quit working. Also there is a smell of antifreeze coming out like the heater core has gone bad. I am extremely frustrated with this vehicle.

General Comments:

I really loved this car when I bought it brand new from the lot, it was my first ever brand new car. It was comfortable, which I find most cars these days uncomfortable. It rode good, it was quiet and I was very pleased. In fact my plan was since this was my first new car ever that I could pay this car off and drive it for maybe 10 years. After the warranty went out on the car I have had nothing, but problems. I bought the extended warranty for 5 years 1000000 miles well I never got close to the 100k mile mark, but hit the 5 year mark. Now I think I am paying more for repairs than I ever paid for car payments. I am very disappointed I have been considering buying an H3 however it is made by GM and I am not sure I trust it after my experience with the Blazer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2006