2000 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews - Page 33 of 41

2000 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

This SUV Is poor quality

Faults:

3-2003

I had the transmission repaired.

8-2004

I had the transmission repaired.

Total cost $ 2,000.00.

General Comments:

I will never buy a Blazer or GM again.

They don't stick behind their products

This is a problem with pretty much all blazers, according to the Transmission guy.

I just bought a new 2004 Nissan Xterra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st September, 2004

26th Oct 2004, 12:49

My transmission went out on my 2001 Blazer. I was told it was the sun gear. I had lost 2,4 and reverse gears. I bought a new gear called the "beast" and replaced the defective part with it. All together it cost me less than a $150 and one weekend worth of time. The Blazer is still a good vehicle for me:)

2000 Chevrolet Blazer LS 2WD V6 4.3L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 4.3L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Ready to blaze this Blazer

Faults:

I have had so many problems with this lemon, but the worst have to be replacing an engine and now both front wheel bearings have to be replaced. It has taken almost 5 months to figure out the problem. Now the part, front wheel bearing hub assembly, note: 2WD is almost impossible to find.

While searching the web for the part I found a site with a message board where several Blazer owners complained about the sound from the bearings and how hard it is to locate the part.

Chevy Blazers are definitely a waste of money. I will never buy another Chevy or advise anyone to purchase one, unless they don't mind spending more money than the vehicle is worth.

General Comments:

The money I have spent on this SUV, I could have put a nice down payment on something really great and any problems would still be under warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th August, 2004

13th Aug 2004, 11:15

You got 130,000 miles of service! Seems like you got your money's worth. By the way, wheel bearings for this vehicle are available at at nearly all auto parts stores.

2000 Chevrolet Blazer LS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

I love my car, but don't think it's safe!

Faults:

I have had the seat handles break off 20,000miles.

The radiator replaced 20,000miles.

Now I am having front end problems at 60,000 miles.

I brought the car in to have the front end checked for vibrations and wobbling. The dealership informed me that I needed to have the ball joints replaced and with the ball joints going bad I also needed shocks and a front end allignment. This racked up a bill of $783.00. I then called around to other repair shops and discovered that it is very common in Chevy Blazers to have this problem, but that Chevy hasn't made it a recall.

General Comments:

I love many Chevy vehicles. I am very dissappointed that Chevy isn't recognizing this as a problem with the ball joints.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2004

2000 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic

Faults:

I have a 2000 blazer and many problems.

For starter the power locks don't work. The power windows quit on me also. And my rear hatch doesn't even open. And the wind shield wiper in the rear doesn't even touch the window when you turn it on.

General Comments:

Like a lemon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2004

2000 Chevrolet Blazer ZR2 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles

Summary:

A pile of junk

Faults:

1) Both door hinges

2) Both front hubs

3) Upper and lower ball joints on both sides

4) Fuel sending unit

5) Brakes pads replaced 3 times

6) Front seat recliner knob

7) Power window switch

8) Brake light switch

9) Front differential oil seal

10) Oil cooler line.

General Comments:

This truck has been nothing but a huge headache since I have bought it. It seems that every few thousand miles something else gives out and is several hundred dollars to repair. It is unacceptable that a manufacturer is able to put such a piece of junk on the market. This vehicle has been meticulously maintained and has not been abused! I know for sure that this is the last Chevy I will ever own!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th July, 2004

5th Dec 2005, 21:28

Wow that sucks for you. I have had good luck with mine. 90k at the moment and only have replaced idler arm, and lower ball joints, brakes all arround.. my fuel pump is getting weak, but I'm nearing 100k that's to be expected.

20th Jan 2009, 15:03

My Blazer is a good runner. Not too many problems, beat up on it a lot, so damage and repairs are minor.

Upper and lower ball joints, tie rods, idler arm, but then again I do have 120k on mine. Repairs are expected; nothing lasts forever.

14th Dec 2009, 03:31

I have had an 88 Blazer 3 years and was really looking into getting a ZR2. I have done every bit of maintenance to my vehicle (grew in a family of mechanics). As far as brakes calipers and tires, you can never count that as a flaw to a vehicle. Factory brakes and tire are junk unless it is like a BMW or Mercedes, which is why they are 50000 dollar cars off the lot. But those are things that you would have to replace with any car or truck. I want to know about major problems such as valves, lifters, compression, tranny, transfer case, and rearend. If any one has any thing along those lines, that would be great.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 146 reviews