2000 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews - Page 37 of 41

2000 Chevrolet Blazer LT 4.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired42 miles
Most recent distance59600 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

May want to consider extended warranty for this car

Faults:

Both front hub bearings on the 2000 Blazer were replaced at 59,000 miles. Cost for replacement was about $1100 as the mechanic could not find aftermarket bearings for 2 wheel drive model.

Leather seats are wearing, even with application of leather lotion on a regular basis.

General Comments:

My 1994 Blazer was a great car and I had no major problems until around 130,000 miles. I'm concerned that the 2000 Blazer is having problems so soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th October, 2003

2000 Chevrolet Blazer LS Zr2 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired38235 miles
Most recent distance53150 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

A dependable bargain for the low price

Faults:

The battery failed within 1,500 miles of purchasing the Blazer.

The alternator failed at about 52,000 miles.

The factory installed sunroof/moonroof leaks occasionally.

General Comments:

It is a great vehicle for the $14,900 that I paid for it.

Great suspension.

Love the Autotrac 4x4 transmission!

The Blazer would have more power if it had an electric cooling fan instead of the belt driven clutch fan.

Poor rearveiw sight out back window, but I have installed a drop kit to lower the spare tire to get a couple of extra inches of sight.

Very pleasing to the eye.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2003

2000 Chevrolet Blazer LS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance54300 miles
Previous carToyota Corona

Summary:

Questioning whether I made a mistake buying this

Faults:

Recently purchased.

Car battery dead in morning or after shut off.

Able to jump start, though.

General Comments:

Since I have read so many problems with these Blazers (many very costly to repair), shouldn't we look into the Lemon Laws??? Enough is enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th October, 2003

2000 Chevrolet Blazer LX 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Faults:

Both wheel bearing assemblies went bad at the same time.

General Comments:

This was a mistake. Really thought it was a nice vehicle. Bought it "slightly" used and am now spending what I consider to be too much for front bearing assemblies. After reading the other comments, I have decided it is time to trade in and cut my loses. Although I really do love a Chevy, I think it's time for a change. I really feel bad for the future of the great Chevrolet and hope they realize what they are doing to an American way of life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th September, 2003

21st Sep 2003, 12:15

GM still makes good full-size trucks, but it is widely known that the later-model Blazer/Jimmy had serious design flaws. Every car maker has had a "problem child" model and I wouldn't hold it against Chevy. You should have read these reviews before purchase, or maybe leased the vehicle instead to see how it would hold up.

2000 Chevrolet Blazer LT 4.3 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired56341 miles
Most recent distance93012 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Chevy can do much better then this poorly designed SUV

Faults:

At 60,000 miles my gas gauge stopped working. I found this out by running out of gas in the middle of no where. The reason being the Fuel pump has a bad sensor and needs to be replaced. $900 Later it works.

At 66,000 miles the turning signal relay always "ticks". The lights don't turn on outside, or in the dash, but it continuously ticks. Very annoying!

At 90,000 miles the transmission started to "slip". It's an automatic, but when you push the pedal in to pass or go up hill the engine speed rises and your speed goes down. Transmission rebuilt and 3000 miles later it's doing it again. I think I'm just going to take it in to trade it before I start loosing parts on the road while I'm driving.

General Comments:

This truck has a lot of nice functions inside. Everything from heated seats to automatic dimming Mirrors. I love the way the truck drives on the road. I also love Chevrolet vehicles. My hats off to Chevrolet for discontinuing their poor model of a truck/SUV. I look forward to purchasing other models of Chevrolet in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2003

11th Mar 2004, 23:27

I have over 135,000 miles. Back when it had 74,000 on it the 4x4 switch went out, got it replaced and it went out again shortly after. The transmission went out at 80,000 & is about to go again. I like the interior features, but the engine and drive-train are weak along with the electrical problems it has had since day one.

9th Aug 2004, 11:08

I am very unhappy with this vehicle right now. Last summer I had to replace a solenoid and harness in the transmission. Thursday afternoon 8/5/04 the SUV would not go into reverse. I had it towed to the dealer and they told me I need to replace the whole transmission. I only have less than 41,000 miles on the vehicle. I do not have the extended warranty, so therefore it is all out of pocket. Perhaps I should consider a Toyota in the future.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 146 reviews