2000 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews - Page 34 of 41

2000 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

A nightmare!!

Faults:

Car was picked up with 8 miles. in Dec 1999, noticed two small dents visible when light hit after pick up.

Transmission fluid leak less than 100 miles in Jan 2000.

Within a few months, drivers side door doesn't seal properly, rain and snow get in.

During the first year, both seat adjustment levers broke off (two door).

Repaired a tire and replaced serpentine belt in June 2000 (22771 miles).

Paint has started to peel and rust from the luggage rack and spare tire arm.

Aug 2003 replaced pads, rotors etc. at 24401 miles. Mechanic advised wheel bearing was bad.

Aug 2003 24554mi-dealer replaced left front wheel bearing at no charge 'one time only'. Warranty had expired in Dec 2003. Replaced stop lamps/hazard lamps at this time per recall.

Squeal in left front tire has been present since brake work and bearing work, nobody can find the problem.

Alternator was replaced in Apr 04 28842 miles.

Blazer shakes at speed above 55 mph. Mechanic replaced pitman arm and idler arm in May 04...it still shakes.

One of the tires developed a bulge and mechanic surmised that because it was on the front it made the shake worse and rotated tires... it still shakes.

Today, 06jul04, the driver's side window is stuck in the closed position. Another $500 job at 31000 miles, what's next???

General Comments:

I didn't expect to have this many problems with a new car.

I was driving an 88 celebrity until 1999 and I'm starting to experience the same problems I was then, and this one isn't even paid for yet.

I have been a loyal chevy owner, after this one I'm not so sure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th July, 2004

2000 Chevrolet Blazer LS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Faults:

Gas hand is broke (fuel light is on after I leave the gas station putting in $20.

Always noise from parking brake.

Can only open door with key on driver side.

Handle broke off sit to move your back up and down.

Lever to open hood broke.

When I turn the corner @ even 5 miles an hour it sounds like I just burned rubber around the corner.

General Comments:

If I knew Then what I know Now! GMC needs to that Blazer Off the Market!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2004

2000 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A great buy for a small sport utility vehicle

Faults:

I have had nothing go wrong on the car since I bought it. The only thing I have had to do is Oil Changes.

General Comments:

I love the ZR2 package.

The car handles very well off road.

The seats are very comfortable.

Rides very nice and also very quiet.

Transmission works very well with throttle response.

I love the Auto 4x4 button.

Four wheel drive in snow works very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2004

2000 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Blazer - a reliability nightmare!

Faults:

Too many to mention.

Trans axle at 25K

Brake lines at 30K

Many trips to dealer on extended warranty

Heater core at 70K.

General Comments:

I've had it with Chevy's, no more. I bought a Venture Van and a Blazer, both new in 2000. Both are junk. Many problems with both, but the heater core diagnosis on the Blazer has set me over the edge. We have a Toyota Sienna van on order, and I will dump the Blazer as soon as it get fixed, again.

Chevrolet should go bankrupt!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th April, 2004

21st Nov 2004, 17:23

Vehicle is well cared for and maintained. 54,000 miles and blocked heater core, new water pump and pivot arm (3 days in the shop with no transportation) may be the "final straw". I'm just waiting for the radiator or something else to go, since we don't know where the rust which clogged the heater core is from. Upper and lower ball joints (30,000 miles), due to be replaced again soon. Blazer used to ride so since, but now?? Chevy warranty: a joke. 3 years, 36,000 miles. Most people can't pay off their vehicles by then, and to add all the repairs to their monthly payment... time to go somewhere else. The only thing I like about Chevy anymore is the smooth ride when it's new.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 146 reviews