2001 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 from North America


Nice practical SUV


Replaced battery at 17,400 (3 years old).

General Comments:

So far I really like the Blazer. It is sporty, roomy and has plenty of power. The is the 2nd Chevy truck that my family owns (son has a 02 1500) and I am pleased with both of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2004

27th May 2005, 05:17

Just a update... on 5/26/05 had to replace right front wheel bearing at 29,700 miles. I still enjoy the Blazer, but the front wheel bearing assembly is a very POOR design!!

9th Jun 2005, 09:07

Update - Repaired parking brake assembly (it wouldn't engage and stay down). No cost just several hours of my time to remove and reinstall.

12th Dec 2009, 23:50

I own a 2001 Blazer LT and I bought it in 2002 and I had to replace the battery soon after I bought the vehicle. I have had a multitude of problems since then. This is 2009 and I have had common wear and tear repairs... the fuel pump etc...

The check engine light is on more than the headlights... never again will I buy a Blazer!!!

2001 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 Ltr. Vortec from North America


Think twice, about buying a Blazer


Where do I start,

First I had to put new tires on because of front end vibration, but the problem to this day still isn't fixed. I had the ball joints, bearings, CV joints and other front end components checked many times, but still the doors and car shakes at about 70 - 75.

The rear caliper sticks on and off.

It shifts hared and makes a clunking noise!

Also the car rides like a boat.

General Comments:

However the car is reliable and is a safe car to ride in. The gas mileage averages around 20mpg, but I've seen worse. With the rise in gas prices, this is something to think about. Also these cars do not hold their resale value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th July, 2004

28th Feb 2005, 20:49

I have the same problems. Only they've eliminated the front end and moved on to the back. The vehicle shakes at 70-80 mph, but not the Steering wheel - just the rest of it around me. The rear calipers have been checked multiple times for delivering a "shh shh" noise on every tire revolution (specifically when driving parallel to a wall). I wish I could find someone who could tell me what to do to get it fixed. Even the dealership appears to be clueless b/c I've taken it back there 4 times already. They've replaced just about everything, but the truck itself!

2001 Chevrolet Blazer LT vortec V6 4.3 liter from North America


Loved it at first, but no longer have trust in it


Truck began to stall on major highways. When I brought it for service, it would not start at all. Was still under warranty.

Dealer claimed it to be fault of aftermarket alarm melting my coil wire. This has been proven to be false. The brownish area they claimed was burnt on the alarm wire was a type of glue used at installation. Cost was $170.

Then I broke down 10 minutes away from dealer on the way home.

Called Chevy 800 phone number and requested to bring it to a different service center since I had previous problems with the initial one, and they agreed.

Service center 2 again blamed alarm, but claimed it had clogged my catalytic converter and I needed $2300 of non warranty work to get truck to run. I initially agreed until less than 12 hours later I found out that most of work was not necessary. I asked them not to work on it, and they told me too late except for the converter.

Have since found it to be computer controlling my injectors, overloading them with fuel. I have had the alarm manufacturer certify, technically, why it is not their product. So far for unneeded repairs, rental cars, and a new catalytic converter, I am out over $2000. Have not fixed the injector problem yet, cannot afford it.

General Comments:

GM will not claim responsibility. The 800 phone number backs up the dealer. They will not cover under warranty. I still have a truck that has no power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th October, 2003

12th Oct 2004, 19:59

Sounds like most of your problems were with the service technicians, not your vehicle.

9th Mar 2006, 17:01

I wish you would have stated how you found out the injectors were to blame. I think all auto techs have to sometimes guess at what they are doing. These were wrong and you had to pay for it. If you read other sites of other manufactures it's the same. Shame to blame the alarm folks. Helps to Know a good shop, but that means you had trouble and that's how you found them!!