2001 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews - Page 8 of 13

2001 Chevrolet Blazer LS ZR2 4.3 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance73500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Vanagon

Summary:

The good looking ones always have issues

Faults:

Blazer Rear Spring Sag (c)

Oil filter relocation line leak

Power sunroof won't retract

Water collected in taillight, blowing bulb

General Comments:

As a previous owner of a 1989 Blazer, I knew what this truck was and what I wanted. Drooling over the ZR2 model ever since it's debut in 1994, I knew that I was destined to get one.

Having owned it for a few months, here is what I have seen:

The dash and gauges don't seem as well thought out or as well made as the previous generation.

Reliability is high, and it cranks up and runs out better than many other cars I've had. Must have gotten a good one.

Some problems are minor, and I would rather deal with a sticky power window, or even some hub/joint repair than deal with what those guys on the Pathfinder list go through. Japanese cars are tight, the SUV's are not so much. Four-Runners and Pathfinders are great for about 5 years, then get totalled out for rusted frames and such. How many old boxy Pathfinders do you see as opposed to Blazers?

The doors shut solid, the vehicle rides solid, and off-road it is (so far) as good as my old Scout... with tunes, even.

The problems these people are having with annoying issues... or squeaky interiors, isn't from building lemons, or even bad engineering...it's Canada. Seriously. After the previous generation, these parts (some assembled and some not) are built in Canada. The final vehicle might be completed here, but many of the sub-par parts complaints are the parts that were from Canada. Check it out.

It costs more to run any real 4x4. If you don't want the maintenance, get a CRV. Just be sure to offroad with others. Anyone who takes a ZR2 off road knows why they bought it and seems totally pleased with it... the Blazers here with the problems seem to be the ones that don't get used...

4.3 V6 has been in production for 20+ years and has most kinks worked out (GM needs to do something about the air-emissions thing...c'mon). Pre '02 trannys were based on the 700r4, also an old-timer. JUV's are redesigned every year, it seems...and most aren't based on TRUCKS.

Just my 2 cents.

-R

(building collector equity in my ZR2)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2007

10th Aug 2007, 09:08

You have change coming!

Canadian auto plants typically have a very high build quality, due in large part to a larger pool of higher skilled labourers. Why do you think we have the Honda plant (which is expanding to build engines) and Toyota is building right now?

17th Jun 2008, 11:12

I recently fell in love with a 2001 ZR2 LS Blazer. I had it for 15 days before it broke down. I was driving down the road when the vehicle died & wouldn't restart. Several people have suggested bad fuel pump, which is very expensive, & it has 92,0000 actual miles. It didn't overheat & was running excellent before the day it died. Anyone have any ideas? Please e-mail me with same experiences or helpful suggestions. Thanks! willow.moon@yahoo.com.

8th Aug 2008, 21:43

I bought my 2001 LT 4x4 a little over a year ago, with 93,000 miles. I drive a lot so it now has 118,000. Its been a good car until a month ago. Up to that point I only replaced small items like:

-A/C and Heater Dial

-Door Pins

-Serpentine Belt

-Thermostat

-I found out I don't have anti-lock breaks and that it will cost around $1300 to fix. Since I'm still stopping I'm not worried about that repair. The oil line that goes to the oil cooling unit also leaks sometimes. Not very often so I just keep an eye on my oil.

Now for the recent. I was coming out of DFW airport and it was driving fine until I tried to accelerate to get on the highway. It would not pick up speed, only bog down. I had it towed. I was uncertain but the repair man swore the torque coverter started falling apart in my transmission. I was 9 months pregnant and needed my car so I had it rebuilt. I had the same problem 4 days ago leaving DFW. I don't know what's wrong with it? Any ideas? It only does this after sitting at red lights in 100+ degree weather. And the motor is not over heating.

Today I had it towed because it won't start. The Chevy house said it is the sensor on my theft system and ignition switch.

I don't know whether I should keep my Blazer or sell it before I put more into it. In the last month I've spent almost $2,400. If someone has a comment please email me: lilgsmom03@yahoo.com.

22nd Mar 2009, 21:39

"How many old boxy Pathfinders do you see as opposed to Blazers?"

Lots and lots in SC.

2001 Chevrolet Blazer LS ZR2 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Money Pit

Faults:

All 4 Ball Joints.

Full Brake Jobs - front and rear.

A/C went out - haven't had it fixed. Estimate is $1,000.

Oil Pan leak.

Coolant Leak.

Rear Differential Leak.

4 New Tires.

New Battery.

New Headlight Assembly.

Factory Stereo sent the Err message when playing Mp3. So I upgraded.

General Comments:

Rides like the truck in Sanford and Son. Everything squeaks, creaks, moans, squeals.

The Back of the truck sits lower than the front - a trait I've noticed on this brand of vehicle.

It sucks gas like mad.

I've put $4,000 into it in the last 1 1/2 years that I've owned it.

I like the sporty 2 door styling, the interior is nice-more luxurious than my Mustang, I love my aftermarket stereo system. Would NEVER buy another Chev. Blazer, Trailblazer, whatever. IN fact, I think I'll stay away from Chevy trucks of all sorts after this one is gone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th March, 2007

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 37 reviews