2001 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews - Page 7 of 13

2001 Chevrolet Blazer 4.3 vortec from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.3 vortec Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance54500 miles
Previous carChevrolet s10

Summary:

Expensive up keep, bad fuel mileage, all around decent vehicle

Faults:

I have replaced all 4 ball joints.

Tie rod ends.

Replaced passenger side wheel bearing (TWICE)

Leaks Anti-freeze.

Replaced headlights 3 times.

Had to change battery.

Check Engine light comes on (on occasion)

Driver side window pops and cracks when its rolling up.

I just replaced both front shocks.

Passenger side a-arm came loose WHILE I WAS DRIVING.

General Comments:

Looks great and handles very well of road. But the entire vehicle squeaks very badly when off road. Great interior, great seats and wonderful BOSE stereo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st October, 2007

2001 Chevrolet Blazer from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

It stinks!!!

Faults:

75000 miles, 3 weeks after purchased, 2nd, 3rd and reverse went out.

Also had to have both front door hinges fixed, which now at 96000 they need it again.

Seat belt in rear is stuck and won't go back in and front seat belts also stick.

Factory speakers are all blown, and it was an older person who was the only previous owner.

Now at 96000 miles and 9 months of ownership, I'm having to replace wheel bearings on hopefully only 1 side, not sure yet. I'm ready to drive this stupid thing off a cliff, and will NEVER own another one. My husband is still driving my jeep however, and I'm about to take it back, as I ran it on a mail route for 2 years, with no major problems and it's STILL kicking!!!

Oh yeah and the fact that the front seats don't have adjustable headrests SUX.

General Comments:

I DON'T LIKE IT ANYMORE, actually I quit liking it after I had it for a month!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th September, 2007

2001 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3L vortec from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.3L vortec Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Overall it is a sweet ride with decent power and easily converted to an eye-catcher

Faults:

Intake leak due to faulty installation by previous owner. Two loose caused a rupture in the nearly new gasket. Fixed myself $65.00.

Oil cooler hose assembly 125,00

$40.00.

General Comments:

Great car. I really hate to hear anyone put down a GM vehicle. Chevy is just another car manufacturer though. A car is only as good as it gets treated. This goes for ALL cars. Every S-10 or Blazer I've had (second gen. #3 in total) have great reliability, all have lived long lives, 200,000+ miles. I have owned other brand cars, but chevy has the most suitable dash and seating arangement for my taste. The engine parts are mostly interchangable for several different year models and engine sizes. Alternator life has been great in all of my S-series vehicles. Typical Teen with my Stereo, Laptop, Audio System, Video Screen, etc.. Never once in my 800,000 miles or so have I ever had to replace any of that in any of my cars. Generation 2 chevy s-series are the way to go. My personal favorite so far are the 2000 to 2003 two door Chevy Blazers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2007

29th Nov 2007, 14:31

Here here! 2001 ZR2 and I love it more every day!

People with Blazer Hate just don't have a lot of experience with vehicles, IMO.

2001 Chevrolet Blazer LT 4.3L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.3L Automatic
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cheyenne

Summary:

Terrible, I wouldn't sell it to my worst enemy

Faults:

A/C compressor went out at 35,000 miles.

Temp/compass gauge going haywire at 37,000 miles.

Drivers power window went out at 40,000 miles.

Left front wheel bearing went out at 44,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is tiny on the inside and makes you feel cramped on long drives.

Cannot use child restraint in rear middle position, and not very stable on rear outboard position.

For the size of this vehicle, the gas mileage should be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th May, 2007

2001 Chevrolet Blazer LT 4 Door 4X4 4.3L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.3L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired31008 miles
Most recent distance54700 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Its time to go, I just don't get a warm and fuzzy feeling anymore.

Faults:

-Wheel Bearings left and right front plus Upper and Lower Ball joints at 42000 miles

-Oil cooler lines blew out at 38000 miles

-battery died at 40000 miles

-Stock tires were flat spotted when I first bought car and replaced under warranty, but new ones have flat spotted also (Recently)

-Evaporative emission canister Solenoid switch died set off engine code at 50200 miles

-Oil pan gasket failed, Intake manifold gasket seeping and replaced, rear pinion seal leak and replacement at 54700 miles

-Pinging under load and not under load going back to dealer today

-Shocks have just about rusted off the vehicle (Dealer wants $620 to replace. HA!!)

-Brake dust shields rusted off replaced at 49800

-Need a new fuel filter again Corroded too much dealer afraid it won't come off if I wait

-Parking brake assembly replaced at 36287

-front rotors replaced at 32000

-Rear wiper motor gave out not sure when

-new serpentine belt and coolant flush at 50000 miles at my request.

General Comments:

Not at all a reliable car when you come down to it. I have just been lucky nothing major has caused a break down yet. Vehicle includes a tow package.

Bought this as a certified used car from Chevy dealer. Had to send them nasty notes to get them to replace all fluids at 32000 miles because it was obvious the vehicle was used to tow with. Tow ball was on back bumper so only was a class 2.

Thank God I bought an extended warranty for 3 years and 30000 miles (GM Major Guard $0 deductible) for $1200 when I bought car.

Warranty is up in July and this vehicle needs fluid transplants, plus shocks, plus brakes have felt wrong since new. Not a pulse from rotors, but I think a contaminated pad or rotor. Every time I bring it in they tell me it is fine. It has been in 3-4 times for this problem and not a darn thing has been done yet. Driver door spring creaks like crazy (Yes spring). Ice builds up in front door latch areas and door freezes shut all the time in winter.

I get exactly 10mpg in winter and 11 in summer in city, but 20-21.5mpg on highway (Maybe that will change with new intake manifold on there).

I also think the rear leaf springs are shot, but will know more after the shock change. Car wallows excessively all the time, but seems like it doesn't tip as easy. Also it wanders a lot on the highway from wind and is excessively noisy at highway speeds in cabin. Almost too difficult to hear someone on speaker phone or hands free.

May trade in before warranty runs out just don't trust it enough not to have more major problems. Plus all the fixes and fluid changes coming up will cost between $500-$800.

I have been on web sites where people crashed at 40 mph and air bags don't deploy and car is totaled. This concerns me greatly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2007

29th Apr 2007, 18:12

Your excessive noise at hwy speeds is probaly your front wheel bearings I just replased mine today and it rides nice and smooth and is very quiet inside now. mine is a 2000 4x4 with about 79000 miles on it

5th Sep 2010, 09:49

The pinging you're talking about is the universal joints; the grease has dried up in them!

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 37 reviews