1991 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 4 of 10

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles

Summary:

Awesome car... I wish there was something like it in a 4 door!

Faults:

Slight leak from the rear main seal. The leak doesn't cause any performance problems, just a slightly messy driveway.

General Comments:

This car has been very dependable. It still runs as good today with over 128,000 miles as it did when I bought it 5 years ago with 89,000 miles. I've spent very little time & money on repairs. I'd buy one again if I had the chance!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2005

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 305 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 305 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired212405 miles
Most recent distance213000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Faults:

Not much has gone wrong. There is a slight water leak from the intake manifold, nothing major though. Yes, everything is original too!

General Comments:

I have owned 6 F bodies prior to this one, I love them. Although I am glad to see the Camaro making a possible return, the F body will be sadly missed. They have been called the poor man's Corvette, but the poor man is the Vette owner! These cars are great, all the fun of a high priced sports car with the price of an American daily driver! This car will be in my possession for a long time to come!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2005

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 5.0 V8 FI (TBI) from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 FI (TBI) Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired97200 miles
Most recent distance102700 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

Fun car, lots of potential, head turner

Faults:

Radiator had a hairline crack when purchased. I had the radiator and the thermostat replaced.

Front speakers blown.

General Comments:

Car sticks to the street on hard turns.

Engine has power to spin the wheels, but tires mostly stay hooked to the ground.

T-tops weather-stripping was replaced before purchased - no leaks, no problems.

Factory speakers are wimpy, but after-market 6x9s in rear and custom 6.5s in the doors, and a 12" sub in the trunk sound AMAZING.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2005

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carBMW 318i

Summary:

My dream car- I will never sell it

Faults:

The transmission failed within 30 days of purchase.

Replaced water pump.

Replaced alternator.

Replaced two fuel injectors.

General Comments:

Almost zero rust- good over all condition.

Interior looks almost new- quite comfortable for a two seater...

Although only a V6, and relatively slow (compared to an LS1-equipped model), it sticks like glue and is a blast to drive.

I recently pulled up next to a Jaguar XK8 at a stoplight. The driver looked over at me and said 'nice ride'. His Jag cost 30 times what mine did- I LOVE THIS CAR!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2005

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired136000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

I would by another if I had the chance

Faults:

Nothing really wrong with it I had to replace the fuel injectors

I had the seats replaced

The tires had been replaced.

General Comments:

I was suprised with the 3.1 v6

The car handles nice on corners spun her out once (due to tires)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2004

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired103011 miles
Most recent distance115100 miles

Summary:

Good, cheap, reliable, sports car

Faults:

Exhaust rusted out and had to be replaced.

A couple of minor other things. No big deals. Normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

This car has been amazing to me. I bought the car for 2500 dollars and in the last two years I have had to put not even 1500 dollars into it. I drive the car everyday and really have had no serious problems with it. It has been so good to me and I have no complaints really. The only thing I would have like would have been a bigger engine, but the engine I have is good on gas so that is nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2004

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 305 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 305 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Sold

Faults:

Starter.

General Comments:

Got this car stock with a 305. with a little work I got this car pushing over 230Hp with little money lost. It looks great and runs great.

Very is to upgrade or fix your self...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2004

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 2.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired163000 miles
Most recent distance163010 miles

Summary:

A great first sports car

Faults:

My cylinder head cracked at 163000 miles.

Seats have wires coming out of them.

Electric motor to open the hatch back was shorting out the car.

Oil pan had a tech screw in it to fix a hole that the previous owner made while bottoming out.

Fenders in the front are dented up.

Hood does not have hinges on it, meaning that the hood just rests on the car.

One headlight is out.

Windshield is broken.

General Comments:

This car took a lot of work to get it to where it is now. The car was in horrible shape when I first got it, but after a little fixing and about 1,000 dollars later it feels great to ride around in it.

When you step on the pedal it just responds right off.

The car takes corners at 60 miles per hour like it would take a corner going 30.

The car just glides on air down the road, probably because the suspension is bad.

This is my first car, and I wanted it to be a fixer upper. It was a great car to learn mechanics on, and it was really pretty cheap for all the work that I did. And seeing that it was a Camaro, parts where easy to come by, along with modifications.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2004

23rd May 2007, 13:22

I also have a fixer upper. it's a 1991 camaro rs v6 5 speed.

It needs body work. and runs a little ruff. but I'm going to restore and custom this car. thanks. dale.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 45 reviews