1991 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 7 of 10

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired149736 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Great deal

Faults:

Had to replace Fuel line.

Replaced spark plug wires, spark plugs and distributor cap.

General Comments:

I only paid $400 dollars because the seller thought something was wrong with the engine. When I got it home I saw that the fuel line was cracked and when you tried to start it pumped fuel onto the ground. With this fixed it fired right up and has ran great ever since.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2003

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 3.1 MPFI from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 MPFI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance200900 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

High performance, reliable and just plain out fun

Faults:

Alternator, Water Pump, And some normal small mantience.

General Comments:

I just want to say these cars were built great and for that reason I would recommend them to anyone. I have owned both 8 cylinders and six and they both perform well and handle great.

For the comment someone made about the bigger motor you need, well the fastest Trans am ever created was a six cylinder.

Thank you

Chris.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2003

1st Aug 2003, 16:04

Chris, you must be talking about the turbo trans am with the buick engine! What an awesome car, but that is not the fastest one ever, it is the fastest trans am, but the 1992 firehawk is the fastest f-body ever produced!

2nd Feb 2005, 20:10

I want to know can the 1992 Firebird Firehawk outrun a cobra and if not what chevrolet made that can outrun it?

16th Jun 2005, 02:41

Hmmm...no the fastest Trans Am ever made is the 2002 Firehawk follow trough with the 2002 Trans Am WS6 RAM AIR, no other Trans Am had/has more horses (stock) than these.

3rd Feb 2006, 07:14

Car & Driver, June 1989

20th Anniversary Pontiac Trans Am

0-60 4.6 sec, 1/4 miles 13.4@101mph

"This is a car for muscle-car mavens, pure and simple."

All from a V6 Buick. Is the DOHC Cobra that much faster then that old push rod motor?

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 5.0 TBI from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 TBI Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired192000 miles
Most recent distance197000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

A cheap supercar

Faults:

Replaced the battery, clutch, fuel pump,

oil pressure sender switch, radiator fan,

thermostat, spark plugs, distributor cap and rotor, radiator fan switch, and power window motor.

The car had been wrecked when I bought it, so I had to replace the hood, windshield, and front ground effect.

I really wish it was a 350 tuned port.

General Comments:

I love this car.

Everything that had to be replaced was cheap and relatively easy to do.

It handles great.

Uses no oil.

It really is a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2003

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 5.0 V8 305 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 305 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Excellent secondary car

Faults:

My intake manifold gasket started leaking at 110,000 miles.

I changed the thermostat a couple times, had some problems with overheating... nothing major.

I have had to replace a deflector underneath the car several times; it sits really low and scrapes on everything.

The t-tops leak, and seals have begun to crack badly even with normal care taken to protect them.

The seats have faded some, as they are black and the car has a t-top roof, allowing the sun to beat down on the seats.

The valve seals leak, causing blue smoke to be blown out of the tail pipes at start-up.

The usual regular maintenance (i.e. tune-ups, oils & filter changes, cleaning).

General Comments:

The car is a beautifully designed automobile. The style is very good, but it's very distinctive to the age of the car.

The handling of the car is outstanding, and the steering is very tight and secure. Although it turns very widely, I still give it an "A-" for handling.

The interior is very well designed, and if taken care of will not need to be replaced or fixed. However, the dash pad is very fragile and can easily be cracked or damaged.

The speakers are horrible and the front ones are difficult to get to to replace or fix.

The V8 engine has a moderate amount of low end power, but is ideal for passing, and gaining speed quickly.

Overall, I love my car and I wish they still made cars like this one. I will definitely own it forever and will do what it takes to keep it nice. So far it hasn't been much, and I hope it stays that way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2003

23rd May 2009, 10:02

I have a 1990 Camaro RS, and I remember the first time I purchased the car, I felt I had a steal because the paint was beautiful and it ran pretty good. Then I got the guy to reduce the price by $500. After finely driving it home, I liked it but there were a few gadgets that were added from its previous owner that I didn't like. But it all, the guy told me nothing was wrong with it.

About 2 weeks later all types of problems were happening to its small 3.1 V6 motor.. The car would over heat, shut off completely and idle rough. For my gauges none of them work. I took the car to every mechanic possible to correct these problems, but no one knew why it was doing these things, and because it was fuel injected, it was more complexed to work on. So I decided to do an engine swap to a 5.0. With less than 30,000 miles and a brand new 700r tranny and a few extra specs for more horses. Now this baby runs like a champ on the road. I love my car and would never sell it.

10th Jan 2010, 20:08

I'm a proud owner of a 1991 Camaro RS. It took me more than a year to find this car. It took that long because it had to be an arctic white RS with flame red interior, 16" rims, V8, backed up with a 5-speed. (NO T-TOPS)! I found one with an automatic so I bought it. This beautiful car is a gem. All I had to do for her so far is new Goodyear GT skins, brakes all around, replace the water pump, radiator, and valve stem seals. Aftermarket addons I've limited to exhaust and tunes. With an intense scrub buff and polish, (inside and out), she attracts a lot of attention. She's mine, forever! C.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 45 reviews