1991 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 8 of 10

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 5.0 305 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 305 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Faults:

The t-tops seals started leaking at 85,000 miles.

I had to replace the interior because of wear.

It makes lots of weird sounds.

It over heats because of the fan keeps failing to kick on.

I've had a lot of problems with the car, but its been a good car, and has never left me stranded.

General Comments:

The car handles very well and lots of fun to drive in the summer.

If you take care of them and don't run the piss out of them, they will last for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2003

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired68500 miles
Most recent distance69900 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

For 3000 dollars, I would definitely buy another just like it

Faults:

The hatch motor died on me recently, but I found one on the Internet for sixty dollars.

I replaced the spark plugs and a lot of the wiring.

The paint peeled and a little rust formed on the roof.

Drivers side power window moves really slow compared to the passenger side.

General Comments:

This car is really fast for only having 140 horsepower. It sounds great with the dual exhaust. It does not take me long to get up to 100 and the Camaro handles great at that speed.

The seats are so comfortable, except if you are tall and sitting in the back seats. I recommend this car because after 12 years and sitting in someones driveway for 2 years, it still runs strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2003

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 5.0 305 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 305 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

A fun car, if you have the patience and money to keep it looking and performing like it should.

Faults:

Valve Seals started leaking oil at 80,000 miles.

Overheating problems, thermostat changed twice, has problem getting enough air.

Head gasket blew at 110,000 miles.

Replaced Front Air Deflector under car 5 times (breaks off from bottoming out on EVERYTHING)

T-tops leak!

General Comments:

The Car is definitely a head turner, with a great style that will live on as a classic sports car.

The handling and performance of the Camaro RS are typical of a sports car, with a heightened comfort of security while driving.

However, I recommend a hard-top, as T-tops are nothing but problem after problem. The pain and hassle of them overthrow the fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

1991 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.7L TPI 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7L TPI 350 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance149000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Reliant

Summary:

Black beastly beauty

Faults:

When I got the car it was a heavily beaten drag car, so it took a lot of initial work. I had to replace the fuel injectors, rear end, and other misc. parts right off the bat. but since there have been minimal problems.

General Comments:

This car is pretty fast, it keeps up with almost everything on the road and blows Mustangs away. It handles very well around turns. It is stylish, and pretty dependable. I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2002

1991 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.7 TPI from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7 TPI Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance140650 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

Best bang for the dollar; hands down.

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong since I purchased this car.

The drivers seat could be a little wider.. (I'm not small)

General Comments:

The drivers seat could be a little wider.. (I'm not small)

Seats are in great condition.

Original paint in fabulous condition.

This car makes you feel as if the road belongs to you. Like it's on rails.

The power is neck-breaking.

Pretty much like driving a Corvette, just with a backseat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2002

29th Oct 2002, 00:01

I'm just curious, is the 5.7 liter engine stock, or did someone swap it?

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 3.1L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired51934 miles
Most recent distance53011 miles

Summary:

A very sporty and dependable car.

Faults:

Three out of six fuel injectors overheated and shut down the computer at 52,000.

My fuel, brake, and transmission lines rusted through completely and had to be replaced.

Trunk weatherstrip had to be replaced.

I had to convert my air conditioning coolant from R-12 to R-134a.

General Comments:

The engine run great for only being a 3.1L. It definitely has pep and is very reliable. I've never had problems starting up my car.

It hasn't burned any oil or smoked.

The cars interior and exterior look great for being driven everyday.

It handles great and I'm very pleased with it's performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd September, 2002

10th Nov 2002, 17:56

I also have a 3.1L, and if I was never told otherwise, I would have thought it was a 305. The only problem I have had with my camaro is the passenger t-top flew out on the highway because of a broken latch, and the heater core went out. Other than that, a great wonderful and beautiful car!

2nd Jun 2003, 10:07

You say you would not buy another Chevrolet car, but yet you rate everything good. Why?

14th Dec 2003, 21:27

I think when you took your car to the shop you got ripped, and they told you that you need to replace all of that instead of telling you whats actually wrong with it. Why not buy another one, they are the "perfect car"

1st Jan 2004, 09:37

I never said I buy a never buy a chevy again. I love my camaro and I like chevy cars. My car was driven through the winter. Things rusted and needed to be replaced. The car also sat for a year outside and there was certain stuff that I noticed had to be fixed. I didn't get ripped, I knew what had to be done. I pulled the V6 motor at 56K and replaced it with a 350 and I'm much happier with it. My camaro is great shape and is a definite head turner.

14th Jun 2006, 23:00

I had a 5.7L 91 Camaro... it was a great car.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 45 reviews