1991 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 3.1L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired171528 miles
Most recent distance202385 miles
Previous carGMC Suburban

Summary:

High performance V6-runs great after 200k

Faults:

The only things I replaced were wires, plugs, cap, rotor, and front brake pads.

General Comments:

I loved this car from the day I bought it until the day I wrecked it when I hit a deer.

For a V6, this car had incredible power, even past 200k miles! Get a 3.1 V6 and you'll be amazed.

The automatic overdrive transmission never slipped and the engine started without a problem every time.

Used 1/4 quart of oil between changes.

I can't complain about anything with this car except for the fact that I should have had comprehensive when I hit that deer. :- (

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2002

10th Jul 2009, 18:35

Hmm... Make the deer pay for a new one! They broke it by vandalizing while loitering at night... sue it for all it's got... LOL.

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 5.0L TBI from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0L TBI Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Absolutely unbelievably reliable

Faults:

Radiator at 100,000 miles.

New water pump around 90,000 miles.

Still has same drums/discs when bought in Jan. 1997.

Transmission mount replaced around 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

Car runs like an absolute champ!

Not exactly the fastest thing in the world, but has good usable passing power, even with the automatic transmission.

Does not smoke or use a drop of oil.

Gas mileage is average. Getting around 20 miles per gallon on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2002

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance102120 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

All the girls like it... I can't complain!!!

Faults:

The only major problem I've had with the car is the alternator going out. But this is expected after 100,000 miles. One minor problem I'm having is a leak in the oil pan. I've got a lowering kit on my Camaro so damage to the oil pan is somewhat difficult to avoid.

General Comments:

I am very satisfied with the power of this vehicle and my RS only has a 3.1L V-6. It's obviously not racing material, but it's definitely an awesome cruiser. One complaint I have is the lack of storage space in the hatchback compartment. Yet I still managed to fit a box back there which holds 2 10" Kenwood Tornado subs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2002

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS V6 3.1L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles

Summary:

Very nice looking, and great performance

Faults:

Well I haven't had the car for long, but there is nothing wrong with it so far. I think the only problem I had, was that the air pump things for the hood, aren't working no more, but they are only like $30 each so its no problem.

General Comments:

This car has a lot of pep to it, it runs very nice.. I couldn't ask for more. I'm only 16 and I spent 4 grand on it. Brand new paint job, looks brand new. I have to say I got lucky!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 305 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 305 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Ripped beast

Faults:

Heater core was cracked at the time of purchase.

Rides like an old Camaro (creaks and groans a lot).

Interior needs work.

General Comments:

This car is just a lot of fun. It is reliable even after so many miles, and has great acceleration. This car growls and strains against the brakes, lots of power under the hood! Throttle body injection has not caused any problems at all. I love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2001

1991 Chevrolet Camaro from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles

Summary:

Excellent car! I love it!

Faults:

Central computer had to be replaced at 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

Get lots of looks! Great performance, and I love this car. Nothing can compare to my beautiful car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Like a rock

Faults:

Alternator, several times before going with an after market upgrade.

Radiator, @ 110,000 miles.

2 water pumps.

Front disc brakes 3 times.

Rear drums once @ 160,000 miles.

General Comments:

Most dependable car I have owned. Had it for 7 years and it has 175,000 miles on it, and the engine is still strong, rides and looks good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

4th Mar 2003, 07:40

1991 Camaro R/S 5.0L Automatic. Purchased 1997 with 98,000 miles. Now has 240,000 miles. Replaced rear shocks,4 alternators, 1 starter, 1 water pump, one exhaust pipes and muffler. Regular service of fluids, filters and lubes. I drive it 137 miles round trip commute to work since Jan. 1999 except from the summer of 2002 when I purchased a Corvette for summer use. The Camaro is still my winter car and needs only minor repair this summer. The steering box is getting a bit loose and the clutch packs seem to be approaching the end of their service life. The engine is still strong with good and even compression on all cylinders. The handling characteristics are only slightly less than my Vette. I do most of my own repair and service, so I am sure of what has been done. Who would have thought that such a sharp looking car could be such a work horse.

10th Dec 2003, 11:50

My daughter's 1991 Camaro RS has been parked at my house since 1998. The car has only 63,000 miles and still looks good--white exterior, red interior. Initially, there was a problem with the car that the dealership apparently could or did not fix. While she was driving the car, it would shut off and had to be towed to the dealership. She loved the car so I kept it for her. My brother-in-law would like to get the car running again. He can do most of the mechanical work, but we would like some information from someone who has worked on a 1991 Camaro. It appears that the security system shuts the fuel pump off and he would like some information. Thanks!

10th Feb 2004, 20:51

I have a '91 Chevy Camero V6 3.1L and it runs excellent. I've only had to repair it a few times in the past 6 years. It's had about 3 major tune ups in the 6 years, and starters going out. It has 160,000 miles and still purrs like how I got it. I ran into a problem with it though a couple years ago where a chip went out. Some kind of sensor chip. A year later my brothers chip on his camero went out as well. It can cause your car to turn off out of the blue with little or no warning. Overall I would purchase another Camero any day. It kicks butt and keeps running. Does anyone know how camero's handle in snow? I'd like to know.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 45 reviews