1987 Chevrolet Caprice Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1987 Chevrolet Caprice Classic Brougham LS 305 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 305 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

I wish Chevy had left it alone

Faults:

This is a terrific car for the money. I replaced the front shocks, water pump, alternator and brakes, but they were all original.

The only problem with the car is the fuel delivery/emissions.

There is always something wrong with the carburetion.

Replaced the choke stove, fast idle, O2 sensor, etc and adjusted the timing, replacing the distributor and plugs/wires.

The car still not right.

Otherwise, it is rust free, perfect paint.

Everything works, all the bells and whistles in a high end Caprice.

I like it better than my Lincoln Continental.

General Comments:

I drive it a lot. It is incredibly comfortable and stable. The faster I go, the more planted it becomes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2002

1987 Chevrolet Caprice 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 kilometres
Most recent distance220357 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Road Runner

Summary:

It is the best car I have seen built in the 80's

Faults:

The rear mail seal on the engine has bitten the dust at 150,000k, mainly from age.

The fenders have accumulated rust on the inside.

The body had serious rust, so it was repainted, and the gas tank was replaced.

General Comments:

It is an ex cop car, so it has a pre-suit package on it, new headers, transmission, and rear end.

The TRUE 5.0L Oldsmobile engine pounds out a whopping 250 HP, and 300 ftlbs of torque. Quarter mile in 16.912 seconds at 122.5 km/h.

This car can take abuse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2001

7th Aug 2002, 13:41

The olds mobile engine never made 250hp or even 300.lbs of tq. 150hp and 260.lbs is more realistic.

1987 Chevrolet Caprice 5.0 litre Oldsmobile 307 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 litre Oldsmobile 307 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carDodge Diplomat

Summary:

A lot of cruise for the dollar

Faults:

Replaced all of the belts.

New thermostat and hoses.

Power steering pressure line.

Fuel filter.

Cap, rotor, coil, control module, plugs, and plug wires.

General Comments:

For 350 dollars my Caprice Wagon is probably one of the best of the last "big cars".

No rust, power everything (and works too).

The Oldsmobile 307 and 200 4r transmission are probably the weak point in the car. It's severely under powered and reflects this in 7-10 miles per gallon fuel consumption.

Although not a Dodge Diplomat, I'll say that this car provides Cadillac comfort and reliability that you can only get in a Chevrolet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2001

8th Dec 2003, 00:55

Dodge Diplomat? What?? I can't remember the last time I seen one of those driving around, but I still see Caprices everywhere.. tells you something I think :P.

9th Sep 2006, 20:17

Wasn't the Caprice more of a car than the Diplomat when it was new as well? It's certainly bigger and roomier.

1987 Chevrolet Caprice Brougham Classic 5.0L V8 from Sweden

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired37100 miles
Most recent distance38700 miles
Previous carChevrolet G20

Summary:

Once you've gone Caprice, you don't turn back!

Faults:

Hard to get power down to the starter when below 32F (to get the engine to crank).

General Comments:

Runs great!!! Wouldn't trade or sell it!

No rust on the body or frame, no damage to the interior or the vinyl top.

Reasonable mileage per gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2001

13th Feb 2001, 22:32

Let me say that the '87 Caprice is the best car in history.

11th Jul 2001, 16:30

It is the best car I ever owned! Runs smoother than many Cadillacs of today. Not strong, but for a V-8 307, still reasonable on gas mileage. My mom gave it to me when my father died in '97.

Always starts in very cold weather from where I live and has more than 190,000 miles on it, and in summers it pulls my 2 sea-doo wherever I want.

1987 Chevrolet Caprice Classic Brougham 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance325000 miles

Summary:

I'll let you know when we have travelled a million!!

Faults:

Transmission failed at 212,000.

General Comments:

This car is nothing short of amazing! Even at 365,000 miles it doesn't even use oil. It gets serviced every 3000 miles and asks for no more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2001

14th Jun 2003, 12:17

The caprice is indestrutable. My collection of 87's includes one with 200k, not nearly as many miles as your Caprice. the other one had only 20k as of 2001. a former caprice, a 84 caprice had about 400k, but was on its third engine. the body fell apart later because of Minnesota's arctic salt season.

15th Jun 2003, 23:31

I just bought an 81 with 337000 on the clock for 500, runs great.

13th Sep 2005, 11:36

I've got an 87 Police Package that's just starting it's life at 130,000. Keep up with basic maitanance and the car will love you forever.

24th Feb 2008, 01:03

I bought a '87 caprice classic for $180 and it just keeps on going. 200k! I really love the ride and my V8. For such a big car, it can really get up and go! I hit a deer going 65 mph and you couldn't even tell. It works out great in the summer. When I camp, it easily fits all my gear in the trunk. Last winter I put a few sand bags in the trunk and was able to get to work despite the 3 foot snowdrifts. I couldn't see anything, but I made it through.

Spinner 2/22/08.

7th May 2008, 06:24

I own a 1987 Caprice Classic Brougham with 479,000 kms on her had to put a transmission in it at 400,000 and also a 1990 Caprice police package still has original motor and transmission... works like a charm. She now has 559,000kms on her. they both get regular maintenance every 5000 kms. The bodies are rust free because living in Labrador we do not use salt on our roads in the winter time.

1987 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 5.0 V-8 carburated from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 V-8 carburated Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles

Summary:

A reliable piece of American craftsmanship

Faults:

Nothing at all!!!!

Replaced the battery & regular oil changes & tune ups.

General Comments:

This car is a tank!!!! It has hydraulics on it so it gets the crap beat out of it and it still runs like a top!!!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2000

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 24 reviews