1989 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 15 of 15

1989 Chevrolet Cavalier 2 door coupe 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance173000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro Z28

Summary:

Good, dependable, reliable cars!

Faults:

I replaced the dead cassette player with a new CD player.

Replaced the factory speakers... they never were any good, even in the new cars...

General Comments:

Seats were torn a little on the driver's side, but that's why they make seat covers.

The suspension is still in good shape and the motor and tranny still run great considering the mileage!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2001

1989 Chevrolet Cavalier Sport 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru GL 4x4

Summary:

Since the engine mods the performance has greatly improved

Faults:

Head gasket went twice, the second time the engine was totally rebuilt with as many high performance parts I could get my hands on. Keeping in mind that the high performance parts for the 2.0 I4 are very hard to come by and it took me a long time to find them all.

But it has been a very good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th January, 2001

9th Sep 2001, 22:09

Performance parts, please tell me about these.

1989 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.8 V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 2.8 V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles

Summary:

I loved this car!! Highly recommend the Z24 to anyone!

Faults:

Traded it in because of the major radiator problem. Anti-freeze leaked out of it causing overheating in traffic.

Replaced the alternator (minor).

General Comments:

I LOVED THIS CAR!!!!! It was my baby. She was very sexy looking, dependable, great in the snow and never gave me any problems. I recommend the Z24 line to anyone compared to any other compact car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

1989 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 2.0 Liter L-4 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter L-4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

An economic masterpiece

Faults:

99% of the problems we had with the car were accident induced. When the car had about 100,000 miles we got in a near head on collision and we opted to keep the original motor because of money shortages. We regreted that because we never could get it back to perfect operating condition.

General Comments:

Great car. We went everywhere in it and it survived my driving so obviously it's almost invincible.

Could carry five people, handled well, looked cool, accelerated decently (faster than every other economy car) and lasted a very long time. If you're short on money and want an awesome car, get a Cavalier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2000

13th May 2001, 17:22

I think most of these Cavalier reviews are a little suspect. How does the car actually handle?

26th Jun 2001, 00:26

I own a Z24, and it handles like a dream. I have wrecked it twice, and I am having engine problems from over-revving (a blown lifter). I have beat HELL out of this car and it still refuses to quit. This guy is right, these cars are nearly invincible.

1989 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 2.0L
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10

Faults:

Spun bearings at around 150,000 miles. Junk yard replacement still working fine after another 40,000+ miles.

One of the tubes on the heater core broke due to being made of plastic.

Paint flaking off the hood.

Blown head gasket on original engine.

Leak that would not go away after changing thermostat.

Radiator fan dead.

General Comments:

Excellent engine, cooling fan died long ago but engine has never seized due to overheat, even in summer, though it will start to run badly if hot enough.

Cheapest heater core I've ever seen, cheap aluminum core with plastic tubes and end cap.

Thermostat change is a nightmare since it is next to impossible to get tools in the general area AND hold on to them. Then I couldn't figure out how to get the housing to stop leaking for weeks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 1999

26th Jun 2001, 00:29

What are you talking about, man? You must have a 4-cylinder, because on my 2.8L Z24 the thermostat is in a very easy-to-access location. The only way the housing could leak is if the thermostat is installed correctly, since it has a rubber O-ring to seal it with no sealant required.

The heater core in MY car is all aluminum, I have never seen a heater core with plastic parts.

11th Jun 2002, 08:41

Yes the 2.0L engines in Cavaliers have 4 cylinders. I have noticed that these older Cavaliers do have poor cooling systems. Although they are good all around cars. And the thermostat is located in a different location on the 2.0L than the 2.8L, But still is not THAT hard to change.

23rd Apr 2003, 14:58

You might want to replace your computer. That could be the problem with your cooling fan. It happened to my Z as well. My heater core also blew a the plastic return pipe, I think Chev was trying to save some money on this hidden part!

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 54 reviews