1989 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 Sport Coupe 2.8 litre multi-port injection from North America


A fast, reliable, high performance car for under $2500


I had to have new front shocks put on immediately.

I needed the air conditioning recharged immediately.

I had to put in new spark plug wires put in at 123,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the fastest, cheapest sports car you can pick up. 1,700-2,000 dollars will get you a 1989-90 Z24. Mine will top out at about 118-122 MPH, and it's 12 years old.

They also handle like it's not funny.

Make sure it is a five speed, the automatics are notorious for blowing the transmission every 60,000 miles or so.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2001

26th Jun 2001, 00:22

Actually, the transmission in my Z24 lasted for 170000 miles until I hit a ditch doing about 70 and put a hole the size of Kansas in the bell housing. The 2.8L engines, OTOH, are notorious for locking up. My 2.8 locked up at around 130K. That's the reason they started putting the 3.1's in them in 1990.

1989 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.8L Multi-Port V6 from North America


You'll have the fastest, most pimp ride driving down the block!


There has been absolutely no major repairs that have had to be made on my car, other than the usual tune-ups, oil changes, and brakes, nothing else went wrong with it.

Oh yeah, I had to change the alternator at 100,000, I remember now =)

Could use a better stereo though!

That's it!

General Comments:

Fast! If you ever want to drag race with someone, this is the car that you have to do it with, like a rocket! It can run with the big names, Corvette, Viper and the Mustang.

Very comfortable.

Wide tires make great cornering.

Looks beautiful.

I only bought mine for 3,000 which you can probably get an 89 (or '90 those are the best looking and performance years!) for about 1,500. A real bargain!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th April, 2001

5th Apr 2001, 09:18

Helpful info, just bought 89' Z24 Sounds sOooOoO sweet, Nothing Sound like a chevy NOTHING!

7th Jul 2001, 21:03

Not trying to make you mad but a Viper or a Vette would out run this car quickly with no problem. Granted a z24 is not a bad car. My brother owns one and has used your exact words about the pimp ride. But the fact is a 1988 z24 only has 130 horses. Compare that to 345 horses of the Vette and 500 horses of the new Viper, and 130 seems small.

1989 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.0 from North America


A great car for the money


Water pump went, warped the head. Cost of rebuild: $300 Most of that was labor. Planed the warped head and put it back together.

Experienced a stalling problem about a year ago. Difficult to pin-point the exact problem. Replaced about $200 worth of sensors and other things and fixed the problem.

Other than that, no problems in 12 years!

General Comments:

This car is great.

Still runs like new.

Love the gas mileage.

Due to rust evader system, no rust until a year ago.

I added a tow hitch and it tows a snowmobile or 4-wheeler easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2001

9th Mar 2012, 14:34

What fixed your stalling problems? I bought a 1989 z24 2.8L, and it starts every time, and then stalls over and over. It has a new crank sensor, ECM, ignition module, oil pressure switch, fuel pump, idle air control.

EGR is clean and it keeps stalling a few seconds after starting? Can keep it running with starting fluid, and have 41psi of fuel pressure at the rail and power to the injector plugs???

1989 Chevrolet Cavalier Base 2 door Coupe 2.0l I4 from North America


The ultimate crapbox


Cracked the head.

New starter.

ECM & electronics were fried.

Interior was gutted because the door seals leaked.

Paint chipped off.

Tire fell off at 80mph.

General Comments:

This car was extremely slow, that is... when it decided it was going to start for me. There were times when I had to let it warm up for 10-15 minutes before shifting into drive because it would stall out otherwise.

When it did run it drove pretty nice, was comfortable (except when it rained.. yuck! there would be a pool of water in the car), handled VERY well and got extremely good gas mileage.

I personally think this was just a very poor example and not indicative of all Cavaliers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2001

12th Aug 2001, 22:20

This is so true. I have a '89 cavalier and I have almost all of the same problems. My biggest problem with that car is the water problem!!! I had to have my windows reset and my car still leaks. It has to be the most disgusting thing in the world (the smell). My starter went as well!! I just spent loads of money to get the car towed because of my starter!!!