1989 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 7 of 15

1989 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles

Summary:

Very dependable car!

Faults:

The only things that have gone wrong with this car were probably due to poor maintenance with the previous owner and due to the fact that the car IS getting old.

The car rolls over several times before starting because the fuel injectors get clogged and need cleaned by hand every few months.

Also, some of the fuel sensors have gone bad and needed replacing.

The brake shoes needed replacing.

General Comments:

Other than that it is honestly a good car! It gets good gas mileage, it has never broken down or overheated and it is overall a very dependable little car! This was my first car and It served it's purpose well! The car still runs well, but I am looking for a nicer looking car for college- since I was so happy with my 1989 Cavalier I decided to go with a 2000 Cavalier-which I am also very pleased with!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2004

14th Oct 2005, 14:40

I bought my Cavalier for a whopping $300! The headliner was falling down, but the overall interior was in good condition. It hadn't been driven for a long time. OK, it hadn't been driven in years! With only 50,000 miles on this 15 year old car it was a good deal. There were a few minor glitches. The torch converter was gummed up causing the car to shut off after driving it 20 miles or so. I did a total tune-up and it did not fix the problem. I had to unplug the relay switch to the torch converter. Eventually we plugged it back in and it has worked every since! Despite that the only other problem was the fan! I just found another and rigged a relay switch and that fixed that too! It does overheat every once in a while, but over all it was a great investment!

17th Oct 2005, 16:58

It is a wonderful car and hasn't failed me yet. It has never left me stranded either. This is not the only Cavalier I have. I also have an 88' Chevy cavalier station wagon 2.0L. My wagon is what led me to search for another to give to my husband, as it is a smooth ride. I have, however experienced many of the same problems with my wagon as I have with the car. They are all minor problems and inexpensive to fix. The interiors are pretty plain and standard, but I am a simple person too. We are over all very pleased with these cars and would recommend this car to anyone. I meant torque converter in the above entry. Sorry for the typo and for misleading you to think it was junk.

7th Dec 2005, 19:51

This is a wonderful running car. I bought it with 167k on it, and it runs beautifully. It starts without hesitance in the winter, and rides quietly in the summer. Other than a couple minor repairs which had nothing to do with the drive train (windshield seal, headlights, speedometer pulley and interior lighting) the car is almost brand new. Air conditioning still works surprisingly. It is the perfect used car.

7th Mar 2009, 15:50

Own 2 1989's, a sedan and a mint condition summer only z24. Excellent Chevys!!!

1989 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.8FI from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8FI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles

Summary:

If you have the money to repair things and/or up grade, it absolutely has potential!

Faults:

Everything!

Heater core.

Ignition control module.

Ignition sensor.

Ignition coils.

Oxygen sensor.

2 fuel injectors.

Fuel pump.

Front struts.

Front right wheel bearing.

Power window switches.

General Comments:

All of the above had to be replaced and since I don't have the expertise to work on cars it was NOT cheap! I quit fixing things and have since bought a different car. It is still sitting in my front yard because I feel it as brought nothing, but trouble and an empty wallet. I refuse to even think about repairing anything else on it!

When I first got this car is was great!

Great acceleration, left almost anyone sucking dust, handled well even in the snow. I think I may have got a LEMON, I saw it in an add in the paper and bought it from a guy who I didn't know. I think he just made it barely run and then sold it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd March, 2004

3rd Mar 2004, 17:55

I feel sorry for you. I once bought a Mazda from a guy I didn't know and said he was a mechanic and looked after it well, but as it turned out the car was the worst lemon I have ever heard of and seen. No other car has had as much problems as I had so I finally was able to sell it. I love GM's and I'm sorry to hear about your mishaps with it.

5th Jul 2004, 23:16

Hey if you still have it sitting i'd be more than happy to take it off of your hands. the z24 is the one thing GM ever made right in the 80's. when mine met her early demise I was on the verge of throwing myself into traffic, and since haven't found one that was nearly in original condition.

3rd Feb 2009, 19:16

"Great acceleration, left almost anyone sucking dust"

I think if you tried to leave almost anyone sucking dust in any car it will have problems. You probably ran it too hard too often.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 54 reviews