1992 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 5 of 9

1992 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 kilometres
Most recent distance269000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

The cavalier could take a good beating

Faults:

130,000 the car is in it's first accident. The front end looks badly damaged, but it is repaired within 12 hours. The hood and rad is replaced. The bumper is pulled back to the original position.

At 189,000 the car has a tune up.

The brakes are changed.

The crank sensor went at around 189,000 kilometers.

At around 200,000 kilometers, the car has it's first oil change in three years.

The doors and rocket panels are the worst spots on the car for rust.

The brakes are changed.

At 220,000 the car has it's second serious accident were it flew off a cliff into some tree that help stop the car. The car is repaired within 12 hours, needing only one new tire, one rim, the bumper welded and antifreeze added to the rad.

The fuel pump went at 230,000 kilometers.

The modulator went at 240,000 kilometers.

The battery is replaced.

The starter is having trouble. It now takes a few tries before it starts.

Now it's parked at 269,000 kilometers since there's a new problem that as not yet been diagnosed.

General Comments:

The overall time I have spent driving this car I loved every minute of it.

I have now bought a new car since my cavalier is not as reliable due to it's history, but still I will not sell it. I will keep it so that someday I will replace all the weak part of the car so that it could take an other beating.

It's the strongest car I have ever driven!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2003

1992 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance90000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

An econo-rocket

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this tough little rocketship!!

General Comments:

The power to weight ratio of this car puts it in good standing with anything ever produced! It is a very quick little car with tons of personality!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2003

1992 Chevrolet Cavalier Base 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance91837 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

A dependable car for the money

Faults:

At 35,000 I had to replace the Alternator and the Serpentine Belt.

At 42,000 I had to replace the Radiator and the top Radiator Hose.

At 52,000 I had to replace the front Brakes and all four Tires.

At 75,000 I had to replace the rear Motor Mount.

General Comments:

This car is a very dependable vehicle for the money.

It handles very well at high speeds and has nice working ABS brakes.

Although for the size of the car in general, it's much smaller than it appears.

It has the pick-up of an 18 wheeler under full load, and the gas mileage is not too great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2003

1992 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 3.1L Mulit Port Injected from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1L Mulit Port Injected Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

A Z24...The Chevy that Zigs!

Faults:

Heater Core-Pain in the ***

Radiator Hoses.

Torn Seat.

Horn.

General Comments:

This is a great reliable, very fun car to own. I previously owned a Camaro, which can set high standards for a cavalier. Other than a power difference, the Z24 handled a lot better then my previous boat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2003

1992 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 2.2L I-4 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L I-4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

Hard-working little bugger!

Faults:

Replaced the alternator at 60,000 miles.

Radiator leaked and had to be replaced around 130,000 miles.

The brakes usually need a considerable amount of work every 12-15,000 miles.

A small short in some wiring killed a battery or two.

The brake light switch became worn and sticky, and needed replacement. (Brakes lights would be ON when I came out of the house in the morning!! This killed ANOTHER battery after a few days.)

There are no leaks in the window seals, yet my carpeting is WET most of the time! (Frozen in the winter :) ) The occasional puddle forms on the floor in the back seat after a heavy rain storm. If anybody has any insight on this, please comment here, or e-mail dstroyer@dstroyerradio.com.

Spark plugs have to be replaced once a year, otherwise the car is extremely difficult to start in damp/wet weather.

The cigarette lighter was dead when I bought the car.

The passenger-side taillight lens fell off (The adhesive between the lens and the housing went bad). I replaced it 3 years ago, and now the new one is loose, also. A piece of electrical tape seems to be holding it on okay now :)

General Comments:

This is one TIGHT car! Not a rattle to be heard, and cornering is a charm.

0-60 acceleration is loud, but solid.

Besides the wet carpeting, the car looks brand new on the inside.

Some rust starting to form on the lower parts of the doors, and inside the edge of the trunk lid, otherwise the car looks excellent on the outside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2003

18th Mar 2003, 02:02

The problem with the car leaking is probably due to a hairline crack in the fire wall. The water will leak and drain to the back floor board. Out side of the windshield there is the area that I believe is called the cow or cowl area, water will drain to the outside of the fire wall, but if a seal or weld is broken the water will flow inside the car. If you can't locate the exact problem try spraying under coating in that area it should stop it or at least slow it down. If you locate the exact area then try applying some jb weld. I have no know problems with my cavalier leaking, but I did have a beretta with this problem.

4th Oct 2003, 08:17

The previous poster hits the nail on the head.

Peel back the carpet and firewall pad and follow the body seam sealer from the door to the console area. when you see a rusty spot, there will likely be a crack or worse yet a hole.

Seal with new body seam sealer.

Try filling bigger holes as the previous poster suggests.

18th Jun 2004, 13:23

All the GM J-Bodies seem to have this problem, no matter what the year. I had an 1985 Buick Skyhawk that had this problem really bad. I was convinced the floor had a hole in it, and I spent forever trying to find a hole in the floor that wasn't there! It was only a couple of years after I got rid of the car that I found out what it was. However, I was luckier than my friends 1992 Pontiac Sunbird - he had this same leak, and it shorted out his wiring system, and his car caught fire and burned up right outside his house just after he got out of it from a drive!

17th Sep 2010, 11:08

I have a problem with my 1992 RS Convertible Chevrolet Cavalier; when it gets hot, it's started to fail... I've changed 4 fuel pumps and cleaned all deposits, and it still continues. What can I do??? Many thanks.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 32 reviews