1992 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1992 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 4-door 2.2 liter MPFI from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter MPFI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired66378 miles
Most recent distance74320 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Strong built J-Body, great value

Faults:

Broken windshield washer holder.

Anti-lock brakes are too sensitive.

Rack and pinion is noisy in the cold.

My A/C blower isn't that powerful.

I don't like how the doors lock automatically when you shift to drive.

Some paint came off the wheel covers when I brought it to a car wash.

Rough idle in cold weather.

Paint on the wipers is faded away.

General Comments:

Car has fairly good acceleration.

Easy to change the oil.

I like how the interior light goes on when either front door handle is pulled.

Has original exhaust, battery, water pump, alternator, starter, plug wires.

Spare tire, ashtray and lighter were never used.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2001

8th Jul 2001, 19:43

Windshield washer fluid container broken?? That's a first. Yes the automatic door locks are nice.. Glad your Cavalier is running great. My 92 Cavalier has 118k, motor and transmission still running great.

23rd Sep 2001, 00:29

Didn't know if you knew so or not, but by means of yanking a fuse you can make the door stop locking upon shifting into drive.

18th Sep 2002, 16:54

I have a 92 cavalier and I love it. I painted flames on. The factory stereo sounded great for the year of it, but I up graded it. It's really slow, but it wasn't built for racing. The cavalier has a great looking body style to it. The only main problems I had with it was the altenator, and the brakes.

1992 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.1 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.1 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

I love my Cavalier and would get another

Faults:

The biggest problem that I am having is with the alternator.

General Comments:

I would recommend anyone to buy a Chevrolet Cavalier. It is a good first time car for a young driver. For being a 4 cylinder, that motor still sounds nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2001

14th Nov 2005, 09:37

As for getting another, I really did! My first red 1993 convertible needed the top replaced after a hailstorm (it was very old and not exactly maintained to my standards when I bought it used. I think I got ripped of, but for my first car ever I loved it until I got my new one). The guy did a horrible job, then fell off the face of the earth. Tired of driving in a wet smelly car (thunderstorms are frequent in Florida- I couldn't keep up), I bought a blue 92 convertible with a white vinyl interior instead of cloth. I have had to replace the alternator on both cars. My grandad suggested that if the radio or AC is left on, that could keep a charge in the system which zaps the alternator. Whether its true or not, I now make sure everything is turned off before that car shuts off.

1992 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance86000 kilometres

Faults:

Rack and pinion assembly mount on the firewall rusted out, GM will not cover the repair - $835 to $880.

Would like to know if anyone has has experienced this problem, contact me... bllib@yahoo.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th February, 2001

29th Nov 2002, 20:38

I would like to reply to the '92 Cavalier question regarding rack and pinion steering rusting away from the firewall. My '86 Cavalier had this problem, but the mechanic repaired it reasonably - if he charged for the repair at all.

My '86 Cavalier was sold this week at 146,000 Km. It was the most economical car I've ever owned. I've had luxury cars, but this was a little winner for reliability.

1992 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles

Summary:

Inexpensive to buy and maintain, and performs very well for its class

Faults:

Stock speakers started scratching, but that's my fault. =]

General Comments:

This car has great acceleration and turning capabilities.

It can be a little cramped for the back seat passengers, but they don't seem to complain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2001

27th Apr 2001, 06:58

I have one comment to make about the statement of your cavalier on the running cost. There is no way that it is a 10. It costs me roughly 20$ to fill the tank from a 1/4 tank to a full tank, and mine eats gas like no other. I drive for maybe an hour and I have to fill it again.

26th May 2001, 02:12

Whoever says their eats gas is probably using the wrong gas. Use 89, it won't detonate and pull your timing like 87 does. Better gas mileage, and more power, it's well worth the extra $.10/g in mileage gains alone. Try checking your O2 sensor, too. If it's bad, it'll go into 'limp home' mode and dump gas into the engine to keep it from running lean. Try fixing the car instead of knocking it.

10th Sep 2001, 21:27

They do eat gas though, that's probably cause it's got a small tank of gas, and it's got plenty of power.

5th Sep 2002, 14:20

I have a 92' and it costs less than $20 to fill it and I can drive it for a full week or longer on that one tank. I agree, fix the car instead of knocking it.

6th Sep 2002, 20:35

To the person whose Cavalier uses too much gas: I just wanted to let you know that running the a/c burns fuel. Don't know if you thought of that or not. ;)

3rd Jan 2003, 10:15

It have a leaking return line (usually on top of the tank where you can't see). If your going through a tank in 1 hour it is not likely the engine that is consuming it all. Check your fuel lines. If leaking, yes it will give poor economy, but its also a safety hazard. Note: if you have a check engine light maybe one or more injectors are stuck open.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 32 reviews