1996 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 5 of 16

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance232000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

What could be wrong? Motor locking up after fuel injector changed

Faults:

My car was running really sluggish. I took it to Auto Zone and hooked it to the computer, it read cylinder 3 was misfiring. So I changed the plugs and wires... no change. I then changed the fuel injector and now it won't start... motor is now locked up. Hope I don't have to replace the motor, but if I do, I will because it's been an excellent vehicle.

General Comments:

I love my car and haven't had any major problems with it until now. I've owned it 11 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2009

5th Jan 2009, 21:53

Given the high mileage you posted, I'll say it gave you good service. Time to let it go. Can you really complain after 232000 miles on a Cavalier?

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier Base model 2.2L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles

Summary:

I love my car!

Faults:

Instrument cluster lights don't work anymore.

Failed emissions test at 15mph NO (PPM) 1743 (!)

General Comments:

I love my Cavalier. We first got it in 1995 and I still own it. Now it has over 250,000 miles on it and the engine still runs great!

The biggest repairs I've had to make on it is a new clutch, radiator, catalytic converter and whatever I need to replace so it can pass smog. I would DEFINITELY BUY ANOTHER ONE!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2008

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier LS 2.2 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great service

Faults:

Normal wear and tear changes, small head leak, hub bearings.

General Comments:

This car is great, I have put it through hell and changed the oil every 3,000. It has 168,000 on it; yes the motor pings or (claps), but that is normal, these are low compression motors, great service, normal repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2008

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier 4 door 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance208000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

GM, thank you for a dependable, affordable, automobile

Faults:

I love my 96 Cavalier! I bought it for the commute, 120 miles per day.

I have replaced worn parts, brakes, bearings, light bulbs. I bought the Chilton manual. Everything has been quite simple to keep this reliable, affordable car on the road.

With gas reaching the five dollar mark here in Alaska, I'm glad my full size truck gets to relax.

This car has been great, it is a cheap A to B car, but that's the deal. So cheap I have made my money back already. And it still runs great.

For the others out there, that hate it. Go buy a horse, then ride it to work and back, then make a comment. How's that disposable, affordable,car with windows and heat, now?

General Comments:

When I turn the key it always starts and drives. Is it magic? NO It's a CHEVY!!! Haaa haaa.

jrfaninak@yahoo.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2008

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier Convertible 2.2L multi-point fuel injection from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2L multi-point fuel injection Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance210000 kilometres

Summary:

I love my ride and I'm proud of driving it around

Faults:

Fuel injectors all leaked and had to be replaced (since they were re-designed) and new seals didn't work.

Transmission gasket leaked.

Thermostats all broken (but the car ran without overheating!)

General Comments:

Very nice to drive and goes fast (until you come to a hill).

I replaced the whole stereo system with after market head unit, sub-woofers, and amp. Everything was easy to install.

All my thermostats were broken and my anti-freeze was old, but somehow the car never overheated in the 4 months I drove it around like that.

Generally everything is easy to get at and replace (if you're a do-it-yourselfer, and don't want a mechanic to touch your car).

Handles excellent, especially on the highway, and is so cheap to run (if you don't have money).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2008

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Buyers beware of the Chevy Cavalier!

Faults:

Replaced alternator.

Front and back brakes.

Replaced the battery.

Had to replace trunk latch.

Car won't start sometimes.

The car makes a loud knocking noise in the engine.

Door squeaks.

General Comments:

I have a 1996 Chevy Cavalier and have had multiple problems with it. When I first bought it, it had 68,000 miles, and now it has 93,000.

Since I've owned the car, I've had to replace the alternator, and front and back brakes. I also replaced the battery, because I was having problems starting the car. However, that did not fix the problem.

My main problem with the car is that sometimes it won't start. It will turn over, but not start. The first time I started having this problem it would take at least an hour to get it started, but now it has to sit for at least a day before it will start again. The car runs fine when it does start. However, it will shut itself off while it's parked and idling... can anyone tell me what this problem might be, so I can get it fixed!... could it be the computer, and how much will that cost?!.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2008

1st Mar 2008, 14:25

Most likely the fuel pump. I have a 1998 and 2002 Cavalier; both of them have needed fuel pumps. Easy fix if you know how to do it.

10th Mar 2008, 18:40

Hey, I just recently rebuilt my engine in my 97. Mine did the same not wanting to start crap. Replaced every thing from fuel pump to filter. Turns out it was the engine coolant temperature sensor (ECT). It was telling the computer that the engine was to cold or to hot at times, and either not feeding enough gas or flooding it all together. Worth a shot for about 7 bucks I think.

15th Aug 2012, 23:13

Your problem is more than likely the coil pack, which is attached to the back of the engine, and is a pain in the ass to replace, but cheap at the junk yard. Once replaced, it will more than likely run perfect and surprise you. It's one of two things that go wrong from simply placing the part in the path of much heat; put a piece of insulation in between it and the engine, and it will solve that problem. Also the head gaskets go out from heat, but wrapping the pipes with header wrap will solve that problem.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 71 reviews