1996 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 7 of 16

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance204000 miles
Previous carGMC Pulsar

Summary:

Very dependable

Faults:

I replaced the head gasket at 200,000 miles.

Replaced cooling fan twice.

Replaced alternator.

Replaced fuel pump.

General Comments:

The car is very dependable. Keep up the maintenance and it will run forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2007

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 kilometres
Most recent distance83100 kilometres

Summary:

Good

Faults:

I bought my car used a few months ago and just last week it didn't start. I had it towed to the shop and the guy said the fuel pump needed replacing. $900 later, it still didn't start. Now it could be the engine computer. They pulled off the front bumper and noticed that the seal on the computer was broken, and water was leaking in. They simply dried it out with a heat gun and resealed it with some silicon, and the thing works great now.

General Comments:

The car is good, take care of it, IE. change the antifreeze regularly as it will eat the head gasket quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2007

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier 2 door coupe 2.2 liter from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter Automatic
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

No contest to any other cars I've ever owned.

Faults:

The head gasket has been repaired at 100,000 miles. The fuel pump and fuel line has been replaced at 110,000 miles. The heater fan is stuck on high. The A/C does not work and I am not sure why. The water pump has been replaced at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car. It has been extremely dependable. I have made 14 trips to Canada in the last 4 years with each trip being over 600 miles one way. I would definitely buy another Cavalier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2007

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier Base 2.2L 5-speed from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2L 5-speed Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired152000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles
Previous carPanther Mustang

Summary:

Its time for Chevy to hike up their skirt

Faults:

Head Gasket changed a few times, lots of money put into it by previous owner. Electrical problems; headlight had to be re-wired to a manual switch. All 4 wheel bearings were also needed, which is not uncommon for these cars.

General Comments:

I believed in this car when I first bought it. Then when is started to run badly I gave it a chance. When its evil plan unhatched and it wanted more attention I decided it was time for this little guy to go to the junker.

I had a chance to buy another one of these, that one also soon went to the junk yard from its owner. This car handles like a skateboard and dents like a tin can, it's a disgrace to the Chevy line of cars. Before you think of buying one of these cars, read up on it. I think the 2.4l motor is a bit better. Its time for Chevy to hike up their skirt and put in a mans motor that gets just as good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2006

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier LS Convertible 2.4 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Faults:

The car runs and drove great... Then there is this hesitation that started... A mechanic cleared the codes from the OBD2 Sensor as the check engine was on... the engine light is not back on yet... but the car still hesitates and runs rough...20 miles after I left the mechanic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th November, 2006

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Most recent distance212000 kilometres

Summary:

That model year was a piece of junk

Faults:

Let's just start by saying that you should change the brake pads every year and the rotors every other year, but for the price, I just change both every year (they're brakes, they wear out, no point in complaining about them).

And wheel bearings are a common problem in any car. You will probably have to change them at least once in your car's lifetime.

Other problems with my Cavalier have been the tranny (replaced), gas tank (replaced), CV joints (replaced), alternator (replaced once, which is common), corroded head light wires (replaced), fuel and brake lines (replaced), timing chain (replaced), none of the locks work, including the trunk, and the list goes on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th September, 2006

25th Sep 2006, 20:01

With that mileage you should be so happy that it has gone so well. It also depends on your driving style. I am in Canada in the harsh winters... ha ha ha! I have had my 1996 Cavalier go through snowbanks that my moms CRV got stuck in, go figure. I also have 189,000 kilometers on it and it is strong with the Manuel transmission. I am a high school student and I just bought the car and love it. Pretty cool looking to with the red paint and 2 doors. Good low insurance and low fuel and maintenance cost. For a cheap Mexican made car, it is a gem for the price, no regrets here!

28th Nov 2006, 12:08

I bought my "96 cavalier in 2001 and all I've done is replace the water pump (normal),front brakes and rotors (twice), alternator (2x) and am looking at 200,000 miles.

26th Mar 2008, 09:38

I also had problems with my front driver side wheel bearing, I just got it changed because it was way past due for a change. When my boyfriend was changing the bearing he was also changing the front brake pads and he notices the the front passenger rotor was warped. Sometimes when its cold and it rains the car won't start. It has great gas millage and doesn't have too many problems. Not a bad first car.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 71 reviews