1999 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 from North America


Fun while it lasts


- Motor (a new one was 5,000, a rebuilt one 2,000)

- Brakes (emergency and ALB)

- Cams (which are like a grand to fix)

- My dashed cracked when I turned on the defrost. (cause they are extremely cheap)

General Comments:

I have had my Cavalier for a few years now.

Frequent oil changes; I take very good care of this car, I LOVE IT! But it is at 98k miles and already needs a new motor! And the emergency break has gone out.

The engine is always making some annoying sound that costs lots of money to fix.

I've had problems with the cams, the brakes, just about everything. Don't get me wrong, I LOOOOVE this car and I wish I could fix it, but it's just not worth it.

It runs great... while it runs, I'm telling you!!! Don't bother!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th January, 2009

1999 Chevrolet Cavalier 2-door 2.2L 4 cylinder from North America


Great quality for a low price, great fuel economy and great looks!


Daytime running lights did not work due to a broken wire.

Steering rack needed to be replaced.

Windshield washer did not work (cost me nothing but the price of the steering rack to get it fixed because I am a mechanic)

General Comments:

This is a sharp, sporty looking car. Base model 2-door, it's teal and the paint shines like new.

I bought it with 139000 and continued to drive it. Now it has 148000, but I'm not planning on getting rid of it anytime soon.

The steering is very tight and responsive.

It is a bit of a pain for me to have a two-door with a kid still living at home (gets in the back), but this car has been very very dependable and I only bought it for $1500!

It has no power options or cruise control, but it has rear defrost and AM/FM stereo/cassette, and antilock brakes.

I highly recommend this car to anybody who needs a reliable ride!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2008

1999 Chevrolet Cavalier Rally Sport 2.2 from North America




Head Gasket blew at 90,000 miles.

Little to no heat.. and no one knows whats going on with it.

General Comments:

Just Plain Crap.

I'll never buy this kind of car again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th November, 2008

1999 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2L from North America




I bought this car because my previous car, a Chevrolet Cavalier, was very good until I hit a fire hydrant. I bought the car for $600. I did some work due to body damage already on the car.

I changed the thermostat because it was overheating all the time.

Then on a trip, the head gasket blew because the car overheated in the middle of a Canadian winter.

I repaired the head gasket, and now it has a rough idle and the antifreeze is always going low. (I add about 4 litres every 5 weeks.)

The cap for the radiator will fall apart if I take it off wrong. I now put it on every time using white grease, because the o-rings on the cap will stick and I end up breaking the rad cap every time.

I have three codes that come up on the car due to the rough idle. I am currently looking into that. I just bought o-rings for the injectors, because when I start the car, it has a heavy fuel smell.

I would buy another Chevrolet, but with lower kilometers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2008

18th Oct 2010, 05:14


I don't know how long this post is. However, my car (Chevy cavalier 2003) is currently going through the exact same symptoms (rough idle and coolant loss after head gasket has been replaced). I was wondering if you were able to find a solution after all. I would really appreciate your help.

Thanks a lot.

18th Oct 2010, 16:32

"25th Oct 2008, 17:30"

That is how old the post is. They list it at the top of the page for every review.

1999 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 2.2L from North America


Almost indestructible


Tires worn out at about 65000 miles.

Upper radiator hose recall 1st year owned.

Check engine light due to faulty electrical connector on trans axle at 10,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car was GREAT.. one of the best and reliable I have ever owned..

Finally lost the car to repossession in 2003. However the rampage it went through in the final month I owned it solidified my belief in these little tanks. I literally tried to destroy the thing prior to the repossession, and it just kept coming back for more. You will be amazed how far these things will fly through the air and still move under their own power.

When I dropped the car off at the bank, I had busted the oil pan so it had no oil in it for at least a good 10 miles, and the car did dog track fairly badly from jumping the thing on a snowmobile trail outside of town. However it did make it to the bank under its own power. The windshield cracked on the first jump.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2008