1999 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 6 of 11

1999 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 kilometres
Most recent distance118000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Good Bang For Your Buck!!

Faults:

Upper bearing plate rattles sounds like the front end is falling apart not bad only 180.00 to fix.

High beam headlights do not work at all apparently it's a possible recall issue I'm dealing with the dealership to fix this safety issue.

Seatbelt squeek very little cheap home remedy fixed that.

Oh ya and the dash piece in the front had split right up the center apparently due to heat. I hear this is common.

General Comments:

This car is a little rocket with 150 ponies, It's a big bang for your buck.

It's not the most comfortable car with the sport suspension, but you can't have it all.

All in all it's faster than a civic it really gets the ladies attention when cleaned up, and for under $7000 who can complain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2004

20th Jan 2006, 09:07

Ya because nobody gets Honda Civics and sups those up (if you never noticed there's a hint of sarcasm here), your just angry the Cavalier can take your puny Honda.

1999 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles

Summary:

A real high performer

Faults:

Currently, I am in the process of getting a new water pump, brakes, and thermostat. Although it sounds like a lot, I have had this car, going on, five years and this is one of the first major purchases I have had to dish out. On the other hand, I wish I would have acquired an additional warranty.

One thing I will say is that the dashboard being made of plastic has already cracked right smack in the middle. I can also notice this is happening on the right door (inside) from wear and tear.

General Comments:

I have been very pleased with my Cavalier. I have over 40000 miles on it and I have only replaced one strut and, of course, tires. I am really impressed with the mileage it gets. I only have to fill the tank twice a month. I have been told the front seats also fit your back really well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2004

15th Jan 2005, 12:59

I think Chevrolet should be responsible for our dash boards cracking. It happened to me this past summer on my 2000, to my ex husband on his 97 sport and to my friend last night on her sport 2003!!!

22nd Dec 2006, 16:01

I agree with the dash boards. I only had my cavalier for less than a year and the dash cracked in the middle. I notice other cars similar to mine as I walk through a parking lot with the same problem. They need to think of something more durable that can take the Texas heat. I do use a windshield visor and still, the outcome is a huge crack.

1999 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 Twin Cam from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Twin Cam Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A fast car for cheap money

Faults:

I have not had many problems at all with my car. The ABS makes a funny noise at times, like a springing noise.

My power window on the driver side sometimes will not go up, but always will go down. I took the door panel off and looked at it and could not find anything wrong with it.

The transmission sometimes is slow to response, but not bad at all. When I accelerate, it changes a lot slower than it does when normal driving take off.

I don't like the fact that they made the z24 sign the same color as the car. They should have made it more noticeable.

General Comments:

I would recommend this car to anybody who likes performance. It is fast for stock, very sporty looking, and reliable. I would rather have this car than any other domestic compact. I've beaten other import cars like celica, civic, and diamante.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2003

2nd Feb 2005, 10:08

Regarding the power window problem. I had the same problem with my 4dr z24. It was actually just the swith.

5th Mar 2007, 20:20

I have a 99 californian special so it has the 2.4 in it and its really fast. but now the transmission slips when turning left even on to an on-ramp.

I can keep the amount of slippage down if I keep the fluid level full.

Great first car. everything works.

5th Mar 2007, 22:00

It doesn't matter if the whole world can see your Z24 sign. It's a Cavalier and no one is impressed. Also don't put a fart pipe on it or anything like that, the noise sounds terrible and only makes people laugh.

5th Mar 2007, 22:16

Can someone please explain to me what's what? the engine in the Z24 vs. the standard cavalier, and the 2.4 in my california car (not sold anywhere else)?

Mine doesn't have any markings on it, but it has a 2.4 does the Z24 have a 2.2 or 2.4?

15th May 2007, 01:17

5th Mar 2007, 22:16.

Z24 Cavaliers came with the 2.4l engine, some base models were also equipped with this engine.

11th Sep 2008, 08:09

I have a twin cam Z24 2.4l, and I have had some minor problems with the parking brake light.

I have found the car to have VERY fast acceleration, but it tops out at 165km/h :(

It's a good reliable car.

6th Feb 2011, 00:42

I just purchased one, it's a nice inexpensive little car, it's got some guts! A nice change from all those dead beat cars, and there are many!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 38 reviews