1999 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 7 of 11

1999 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Good performance for a compact car

Faults:

The engine locked up at 85000 miles.

The passenger side power window was inoperable after 35,000 miles.

The sunroof, turn signal switch no longer functioned after 46,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car had very good power for a 4 cylinder compact car.

The main burden of the car was the lack of smoothness on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2003

16th Nov 2004, 13:36

My '99 Z24's computer completely died, just at 120,000 km. It cost me over $1000 CAD, to replace it. Has anyone else had this problem?

8th Jul 2005, 15:17

Yes I had the same problem, but my computer died at 95000 km.

1999 Chevrolet Cavalier Base 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Cheap transportation

Faults:

The rear hub sensor for the ABS went bad. As usual, the whole rear hub assembly had to be replaced at a cost of $350.

Front ball joint went bad - wearing tires.

Wears brakes like crazy.

Paint pealing off nose.

General Comments:

It gets me where I want to go, but has cost me more than it should. Sensors on the ABS should be replaceable rather than having to replace the whole assembly - or just pull the fuse!

Very basic transportation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th October, 2003

1999 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great perfpr,amce and dependable too!

Faults:

Steering went weird. Had to get an alignment at 80000 km.

Dash makes squeaking noise when accelerating.

When I release the clutch and the car is in neutral it makes a loud tapping noise.

When I drive for about 10 minutes then stop and I release the brakes, they make a really loud clicking noise.

General Comments:

Very dependable car. Cheap to fix, but needs a lot to fix. I love the acceleration. With 150 horses it burns up the streets. Definitrly faster then the Jetta 1.8T as well as a Mazda Miata. I would definitely buy another one, too bad they don't make them like they used too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2003

13th Nov 2005, 13:08

I agree with the comment on how its "too bad they don't make them like they use to" referring to the z24 model. I have a 1991 z24 and a 1999 z24. I love the cars, but my `91 just has so much personality that the `99 just doesn't offer. The side effects diminished, the 6 cylinder 3.1 engine morphed into a 4 cylinder 2.2. It lost a some speed and a lot of character. Not to mention the cool (and working!) hood scoops. Granted, you can go buy a new one to fit your cavalier (as I am doing), but, really now, who can afford to buy a $400 or $500 hood? I know I've been saving for a couple months. But, the new z24's do seem to have less problems. My `91 is rotting near the rear suspension, is broken where the motor mount attaches to the car (yeah, a chunk of the car actually broke off) and a lot of the older ones are having problems with the automatic windows. But, the newer ones are significantly better on gas. But, I'm so hesitant to give up my `91 because it is a 5 speed, and that's RARE as heck in older z24s. Don't know why...

1999 Chevrolet Cavalier Base 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

A boring, dull, cheap waste of money

Faults:

Little things have broken including door latches and my manual window crank.

Rack and Pinion Steering failed, had to get that fixed.

General Comments:

This car is probably one of the least fun cars to drive out on the market today. Runs the quarter mile in probably about 22 seconds. The seats are stiff and not very comfortable to me. Not having a tilt steering wheel is annoying. The lack of a tachometer is not great either. The interior is made out of cheap plastic, feels like it will break in my hands. It got one out of 5 stars in the side crash rating. Just slam the drivers door and listen and you will hear it for yourself. So far the engine hasn't died, but I'll be surprised if it makes it past 100,000 miles without falling apart under my feet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st July, 2003

17th Dec 2004, 20:37

Most of the items mentioned (poor power, uncomfortable seating, etc.) were not problems that came up after purchase. If you found the car slow, dull, and uncomfortable then why did you buy it?

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 38 reviews