2003 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 14 of 14

2003 Chevrolet Cavalier 4 Door Base Model 2.2 Ecotech from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Ecotech Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired186 kilometres
Most recent distance3455 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

A cheap reliable car that has to be accepted for what it is

Faults:

Clunking noise in rear struts since new.

Dealership fixed under warranty.

I was told no lubrication from factory?

However problem still exists, although not as bad.

The right hand signal light would not cancel by itself when car was purchased.

Dealership replaced switch under warranty.

General Comments:

The car is overall a very good vehicle for it, s price, even in Canada.

The car tends to have a lot of road noise when driving on certain surfaces.

As with most GM cars it heats up very fast in the cold weather. It can make ice cubes in a minute in the summer.

Handling is adequate/performance good to very good/braking good.

This car gets excellent fuel economy for a car that is not broken in yet, and I expect it will even get better with time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th December, 2003

2003 Chevrolet Cavalier LS Coupe 2.2 Liter ECOTEC from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Liter ECOTEC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance3430 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Great value and styling, not-so-great ride

Faults:

The door on the gas tank wouldn't close because one of my kids was able to bend the hinge.

The automatic driver's side window jammed.

General Comments:

Overall, I really like this car. The CD system is superior and it handles very well. It was a good value and the car has nice styling. I had a Ford Escort before this Chevy and that vehicle was much better on rough terrain than this one. It doesn't take bumps well at all. I'm already hearing squeaky noises in the chassis from the rough city roads I drive on to and from work. The Ford was older than this new car and yet it handled the same roads a lot more smoothly. This car would be terrific if I could count on a smoother ride. Otherwise, I have no complaints and I'm pretty happy with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2003

6th Aug 2004, 16:19

The 2003 Chevy Cavilier has a recal for the drivers side window. The window quits going down. Bad motor.

2003 Chevrolet Cavalier Base 2.2 ecotec from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 ecotec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6800 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Best bang for your buck, at least in an American car

Faults:

Tail light went out after 8 months... no biggie.

General Comments:

Considering after rebates/discounts, I only paid $13,500, there is not much to complain about.

I have had no problems with my car. The only issue with my car is it is an American car and it has a weak resale value compared to an import car, such as the Honda Civic. Honda Civics are known to be good vehicles and start out about the same as a Cavalier. I would consider test driving a Honda Civic first before test driving this car... to save yourself money in the long run when it is time to sell it.

Also, Chevy doesn't have as good as a warranty as rival car companies. But, besides depreciation and the warranty, this has been nothing but perfect, and I have no regrets in buying it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2003

25th Mar 2005, 07:49

I think the Cavalier is (or I should say, was) the best bang for the buck, by any standards. Too bad GM does not make them anymore. The Cobalt is a nicer vehicle, but more expensive. Depreciation is steep on the Chevy's, because perceived quality is less than actual quality, admittedly because of inattention to quality in the 1980's.

Many members of the automotive press too, who are in the camp that have it in for their own country, will stop at nothing to keep that perception alive, even though it is no longer warrented. They are enemies of this country, living right here, who take their freedom for granted.

I have an '03 Cavalier, but figure on driving it to the ground (200K + miles, or whatever), where it would be worth very little regardless of what type of car it is. I would aim do this with any car, but I bought the Cavalier largely because I am (and remain) very confident it will go the distance. Car prices are outrageous, no doubt about it. I think you still get your best bang for the buck out of meticulous maintenance, and sensible driving.

All the best.

5th Dec 2006, 10:06

I have to agree. The best thing to do with any car is to get the maximum life you can get out of it. ANY CAR, regardless of country of origin WILL DEPRICIATE!. While it is true that Japanese models can usualy be sold for more in the used market, you will still lose a fair deal of money to depriciation even on a Civic or Corolla. I have driven a 1996 Corolla and sold it for 3000$, with 250 000Km the average price for a 1998 Cavalier with similar mileage. Best Advice drive your Cavalier to the ground. You will get more out of your investment that way. Cheers and enjoy your ride!

2003 Chevrolet Cavalier VL 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance340 kilometres
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

A great new car for someone on a tight budget

Faults:

The hood seems to be slightly misaligned.

General Comments:

This is a smooth, quiet car. No rattling or excessive road noise.

The handling could be a little better. The turning radius is fairly large, considering the car's small size.

The power and acceleration are good.

I like the interior design. It's simple, but still looks nice, unlike the more boring designs of the Sentra and Protege.

This car was a great bargain. Discounted cash price, plus new graduate discount made it much more affordable than other cars in the same class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2003

24th Mar 2005, 21:44

I am sure I will get my head chewed off by the import loyalists for saying this, but I rented a Sentra a few weeks ago, and my '03 Cavalier runs and drives MUCH better than the sentra. Being a rental car of course, the Sentra had probably been beaten unmercifully, but I still think I got it before it was a total loss. As far as reliability is concerned, my Cavalier has never missed a beat.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 45 reviews