2003 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 9 of 14

2003 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 kilometres
Most recent distance75000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Good car for everyone

Faults:

Check Engine Lights on, but fixed by dealer (Warranty).

Power steering system give me the vibration driving feeling, but I think it is because my underground parking space entrance has sharp angle and let air enter the steering system. It is also fixed by dealer (warranty).

Driver side windshield linkage broken.

General Comments:

Very Good Car. I bought one years old and has 37000 Kms on it at that time. Now it has 75000 KMS and fuel consumption is very good.

Powerful engine, smooth auto transmission. I love this car and it weight 1.5 ton and give me perfect high way driving experience.

The engine became louder, But it is time to go to dealer to do the engine tun up and engine performance adjustment.

Thanks GM!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2006

29th Feb 2008, 17:36

Weight 1.5 ton and give me perfect high way driving experience.

-smells like an advertisement to me : (. bs.

2003 Chevrolet Cavalier Base from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired54 kilometres
Most recent distance57000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Disposable car

Faults:

Power Steering pump.

Power steering rack.

Front bearings.

Transmission mount.

Catalytic converter.

Fuel ignition switch.

Oxygen sensor.

General Comments:

This car ran great for the first 3 years... then as if timed, it combusted as the warranty was going off.

Dealerships were great at goodwill warrantying those things that died 13 days after warranty went off.

Car driven nicely, well taken care of, just seemingly self-destructed at exactly 3 years, 56000 km.

Comfy drive, just not reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th June, 2006

2003 Chevrolet Cavalier coupe base model echo tech from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission echo tech Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

Good bang for the buck

Faults:

So far the front defogger and just recently the blower for the heater/ac only comes on if the fan is put to full blast. I replaced the under hood blower fuse seemed to work for 2 seconds or so, might get around to trying a different brand soon, but I currently have a broken foot, so any other ideas on what it might be? trying to avoid hopping around the car to much.

General Comments:

I had to buy this car used from a car lot. I now remember why I don't like car lots. Surprisingly enough this was the only thing they had that I could afford and didn't have high mileage. I had to buy an automatic because of recently breaking my left foot. For a 4 cyl automatic I have to admit it has surprised me with it's power, definitely ample for pulling out in traffic, not that bad on the freeway at 60mph if you have to punch it to pass. Mechanically, other than the defogger issue, have been pleased. Interior could definitely use improvements, so far no dash rattles, but just cheap seats and ergonomics use improvement.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 2006

10th May 2006, 15:45

I believe that the problem with the defogger is a resistor in the fan itself. Try searching around j-body forums for step by step directions.

19th May 2006, 18:31

Just to change the subject a little... I have had a lot of problems since I have owned my 03 Chev Cavalier, but finally after 3 years of ownership the car is running properly now!... but I have to admit I would NEVER recommend this car to anyone unless they are my enemy!!! :)

18th Jul 2006, 09:38

I had my 2003 VL coupe with manual transmission for about 35,000 kms with NO PROBLEMS. Power was good, but fuel economy could have been better. I only traded it in to acquire a pick up truck. Good car!

2003 Chevrolet Cavalier Base 2.2 Ecotec from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Ecotec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance39700 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Overall, a very dependable and economical vehicle which I expect to keep for a long time

Faults:

Dealer recall for stop light failure.

Climate control switch failure.

Rotors turned at 13,000 miles.

Warranty is up and the starter is about to fail.

General Comments:

The body style looks good and handles well.

The engine and automatic transmission work very well together.

The gas mileage was even better than expected, especially around town.

The sun visor bumps the rear view mirror when pushed down into sun blocking position.

Climate controls are too low and impossible to adjust with something in the cup holders under them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2006

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 45 reviews