1986 Chevrolet Celebrity Reviews

1986 Chevrolet Celebrity Base 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1 kilometres
Most recent distance168000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

It's a piece of junk, never American cars again, worst experience ever!

Faults:

Intake gasket leaks, fuel injection problems, rusted our brake lines, AC weak, exhaust manifold leaks, JUNK JUNK JUNK.

General Comments:

I had so much problems owning this car, I went back to Toyota. Bought a 1993 Camry LE, still runs now with 450,000kms. The Celebrity died at 168,000kms... JUNK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd July, 2009

3rd Jul 2009, 13:00

What do you expect from a 23 year old car, to have no problems?

3rd Jul 2009, 16:46

Thanks for the review - I was thinking of buying a 20+ yr old American made car.

4th Jul 2009, 06:13

Yeah most people have good luck with old Celebrities, but keep in mind they're so old now you'd need to find a very unusually well preserved one. Most are long since gone to the crusher or the junkyard, just like '86 Toyotas or any other make.

But I'd also like to point out that a used '86 Camry would cost several times as much as a used '86 Celebrity - the same is true of your '93 Camry. A '93 Lumina would be much cheaper. So you do pay a lot more for your perceived Toyota reliability.

4th Aug 2012, 22:20

How is almost 3x as many miles "perceived"?

7th Aug 2012, 17:19

Actually, late 80's Camrys (if you could find one) would sell for about the same in our area as a Ford, Chevy or Dodge, if not for less. I see older Toyotas and Hondas advertised here for less than their domestic counterparts all the time. They are ugly and have zero value as classics. I see a lot of late 70's and early to mid 80's GM and Ford cars here. There are several Chevettes and Pintos, and tons of the big Olds, Buicks and Cadillacs. I haven't seen any 80's Camrys here. I don't think even the bodies last that long on them.

1986 Chevrolet Celebrity CL Station Wagon 2.5L I-4 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5L I-4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance80350 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Fairly good, all things considered

Faults:

Steering acts up like mentioned in several other comments. Seems to lose power assist in low speed turning acts (like turning corners on city streets).

The seats (cloth benches) are very comfortable, almost too comfortable for someone like me that is so used to bucket seats.

Radiator developed a leak a while back. Some of that radiator "stop leak" additive slowed leak to a drip from bottom of radiator when system is under pressure. I think I can live with that.

I did have the cooling system boil over one time this past summer. Of course it was on a 97 degree day when I had the A/C running full blast.

The wiring to the center stop lamp in the rear window was disabled a while back (on purpose, I believe). and I have not yet figured out how to get it operating properly (thought I'd like to one of these days).

General Comments:

This car has actually been in the family since day 1!

It only has 80,350 ORIGINAL miles. I have most all of the service records as the previous family member who owned the car kept good records.

The other vehicles in our family are newer, more fuel efficient 4-cylinder cars, so the fuel mileage on the Celebrity is lacking for obvious reasons.

If anyone has any suggestions as how to increase the fuel mileage, if only slightly, I would appreciate the info.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th September, 2007

1986 Chevrolet Celebrity 2.5 F.I. from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 F.I. Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A good, strong, dependable car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the Celebrity so far.

General Comments:

Initially, I was turned off by the fact that this particular car did not have a tape deck. But other than that, and some rust spots here and there, I can't complain.

I had actually wanted to own an older car since 2005, after I'd had the 1995 Taurus for about a year.

This car is 20 years old, and does not have all the bells and whistles that some of the newer cars have. But what it lacks regarding bells and whistles is certainly made up for by the durability. My Celebrity was built to last, and it has certainly done that so far.

I've owned two cars manufactured in 1995, and the air conditioning did not work in either one when I first took possession of it. Interestingly enough, though I don't know the maintenance history, the air conditioning in the 1986 Chevrolet Celebrity still works, though as I say; it may have been repaired or replaced by the previous owner.

This is a good, solid car; and I am extremely happy with it. I might have a new car stereo and some new speakers put in, and I would also have the floors cleaned, and the rust spots taken care of. Performance wise however, this car is dependable. Chevrolet/GM did an outstanding job building high quality into this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2006

12th Jun 2009, 17:16

I have a base 2.5 Celebrity. It sat for years. It runs like new. I put a water-pump in it and it was a hassle, but all sideways engines are. Headliner fell, they all do. Gas tank rusted from sitting. That's it. I love it!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 18 reviews